We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked that experience”
Review of Butcher Block Buffet - CLOSED

Butcher Block Buffet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“We liked that experience”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A huge buffet restaurant. For 16.99$ you can eat as much as you want, on Friday evening.
The variety is huge. All possible kinds of chicken, beef and pork, any dish you wish, cooked, baked, smoked, fried, steamed. All the side dishes you can imagine. Endless kinds of fish and seafood, prepared in every possible way, 2 kinds of soup, fresh bans, corn bread. Many kinds of salad and vegetables, cakes, pastries, puddings, fresh fruits, fruit salad, cookies and an ice cream machine with all kinds of toppings.
The restaurant is huge, on the Friday we visited there were hundreds of people inside, but the staff manages to give good, fast, friendly and smiley service.
Not all dishes were good, but when there are so many options to choose from, everybody can find dishes he likes.
The restaurant was clean, so was the rest room. Not an easy mission in such a huge and crowded restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllKnowMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Socastee, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Resturant”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

WE eat here during an overnight stay next door. The food was good and allot to choose from on the buffet. Price was fair.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch - very filling”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stopped at this place around 12:15 pm on a Saturday afternoon and there were only a few cars in the lot. By the time we left an hour later, the lot was full and the restaurant was packed. We had never eaten at this place so did not know what to expect. When entering it was like Ponderosa or Hoss's, but ended up with a much better salad bar and buffet. For lunch, it was a bit pricey, but there was fried chicken, baked chicken, pot roast, ribs, pork roast, clam chowder and vegetable soups, mashed potatoes with gravy, sausage gravy and biscuits, corn, real homemade pork and beans just to name about half of what was offered on the hot buffet. The salad bar was everything you can imagine to put on a salad with regularly offered and specialty salad dressings. The dessert buffet was loaded with pies, cookies, brownies, ice cream and more. At the table the waitress offered dinner rolls and baked potatoes and sweet potatoes in addition to the buffet offerings. I would rate the restaurant 5 stars for the items offered and it was all very delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lsminpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have had better and I have had worse. Nothing really impressive about the buffet, I was expecting more I suppose. May try again to see if we just went at a bad time, it was later at night so maybe the food wasn't as fresh as it is earlier in the evening!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanieJC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Greeted at the door by someone that really shouldn't be 'greeting' customers (needs to be someone cheerful and positive). We ate salad (from salad bar) and hot food from buffet (out of a wholesale container) Hot food was average to below average. Food had been 'setting' for a while and seemed to be overcooked. Fried chicken was okay (better than the rest of the offerings).
Table servers were very good. Courteous and friendly. Best part about the experience.

Probably won't return....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLM59292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Block Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing