We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than our last visist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butcher Block Buffet - CLOSED

Butcher Block Buffet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Better than our last visist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was less than impressed by the Butcher Block on our last visit, but found it much improved this time. Better service, good selection of meats, good and varied salad bar. Great value for the dollar, particularly if you use the 10% discount we received for staying at the Comfort Inn across the parking lot.

Will try it again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    10
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than last time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I reviewed this restaurant a year ago and left middling praise. We tried it again in late February, 2014 and were more impressed with the food and the service offerings. Little things, like being offered a hot baked sweet potato not on the buffet, better selection of meats and above all the still limited range of hot veggies was much better. Salad bar items were varied and fresh, with the exception of the canned fruits.

We will go back. Maybe our previous visit was an off night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nice buffet, good food at reasonable price.
Excellent variety, staff very help full and dedicated.
Clean dinning room and big.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank C Qui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Food was great!!! Service was great. Empty plates were cleared immediately! Drinks never got empty! Staff was wonderful we will absofreakinlutly be BACK!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chappellluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayette City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why are people raving about this place?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Everything on my plate was cold. The waitress asked if I would like a baked or sweet potato brought to the table and I said a sweet potato would be nice. And of course it was only lukewarm at best. The lasagna was like a paste, the noodles were way overcooked. We just left there a couple hours ago and it's Saturday so they had a prime rib and shrimp night. The prime rib was dry and overcooked, like eating shoe leather, and of course, it was cold. I complained to the waitress and the manager came over to the table. He went out to the meat tables and check the temps and sure enough, came back to say that everything was not up to par and they were bringing out new meats. He offered to bring me another piece and I said OK and that piece was terrible too. Just don't waste your money. $13.99 for cold, nasty food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katydid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Block Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing