We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Stephens City Holiday Inn Express from 4/16-4/21/2013 and have nothing but extremely positive comments regarding all aspects of the experience. We had a hndcp. Individual, thus special accommodations were needed but they made everything from the reservations to the stay so easy. The room was larger than most rooms, extremely clean, had every hndcp. Accommodation needed and the maid service daily was outstanding. They served a morning breakfast which had a wide variety of foods to choose from and was kept very neat and fresh. The manager, Robert, made it a point to see that things went well and clients were happy and pleased with the service. The entire staff had the same attitude as the manager and seemed pleases to be there. The rooms were quiet and the atmosphere peaceful. I highly recommend staying here when in Stephens City or Winchester area. I'll stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy100wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have stayed at this property six times over the last six months. We are routinely greeted by name when we arrive. The rooms have always been clean and fresh smelling. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The rooms have the usual TV, fridge, and coffee maker. For those on business the wireless internet seems to be a good as my home service provider. Breakfast is the usual HIE fare in a dining area overseen by a very friendly and helpful staff. My only suggestion for those that sleep late in the morning is to hang the Do Not Disturb plackard on the door handle. This property fills up routinely and the housekeeping staff hustles to get it ready for the next night. Late sleepers will have their morning interrupted by a visit from a very cheerful housekeeping staff member without the the plackard on their door.

Room Tip: not next to mechanical rooms, elevator, and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Ken S, Very nice comments thank you. I have past your comments on to the staff and we will work on not knocking on doors so early. I hope you can stay 6 more times in the next six months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed here for business; the property was an excellent value. The front desk staff was friendly, efficient, and courteous. They had already identified a duplicate registration for our group and resolved it prior to us even arriving at the hotel.

The room was clean and bright. There were no issues with the shower (plenty of hot water and water pressure). The free WiFi wasn't overloaded and I was able to work pretty effectively.

The breakfast was pretty typical Holiday Inn Express fare, but they did have a pancake maker in lieu of the standard waffle iron. That was a nice change. Everything was fresh and rotated out by the staff. Even the lobby coffee was good later at night. Given how over-rated the "free breakfast" has become, this hotel was actually a pretty nice surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We travel often from Pennsylvania to South Carolina and only recently started stopping on the way down in the Winchester Virginia area to break up our trip. Most recently we stayed at this Holiday Inn Express and were very satisfied. The place was built in 1995 but if you did not know that you would think it was just constructed last year. Everything appears super new and clean and the staff was friendly.

The breakfast area of the lobby is a little small and if a large group that is staying there together all decide to come down together to eat (as happened to me), you will not find a seat. Other than that, it was convenient on/off I-81 but not close enough that you would hear the traffic. When checking about places for dinner in the area, the front desk gave me a few suggestions and the one I chose that was closest to the hotel was excellent.

Being winter, the pool area was closed but did look nice and will plan on utilizing it when we stay again during the summer months.

Base on my experience there, I would recommend anyone staying at his property looking for a convenient, clean, and restful place to spend an evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our group of 52 people stayed here during the inauguration. The preparation was excellent and even our rooms and keys were ready when we arrived (a first for us, usually only a few rooms are ready)! The staff was great! Heather, Robert and Veronica were always available during the planning stages and were very helpful, friendly and excited about us staying there. The rooms were clean (in fact, the whole hotel was well kept) and the complimentary breakfast was good and the dining attendant was always helpful in making sure we had everything needed for a good breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area. There were plenty of restaurants in the area and the buffet next door was great with plenty of home cooked foods. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we will surely be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear blurple,
First of all, thank you for taking the time to write a review and second, thanks for choosing us for your stay during the Inauguration. I have shared your comments to all the staff especially Dianne who was on duty for breakfast during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thanks Again,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this great hotel. We had the honeymoon suite. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling by. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the whirlpool was awesome.
We will stop again on our next trip to La.
Thank you.

Room Tip: whirlpool suite is worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Karen,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I have shared your comments with all of our staff and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to LA.
Thank You,
The team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have stayed at this modest, clean, well run hotel 8-10 times over the past 5 years. The price is good and they accept discount coupons. The neighborhood is safe and there are restaurants nearby that you can walk to. The complementary breakfast is good and the staff is helpful. The hotel was renovated last year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msontheroad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear msontheroad3,
It is nice of you to write a review. Thank You! It looks like you stay with us several times a year and we appreciate that. Next time you are in please say hello so we can meet. Thanks for the review and we hope to see you soon!
Thank You,
The Team at the Holiday Inn Express Winchester-S, Stephens City, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
34 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
6.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 25 in Winchester
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing