We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service, Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Service, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Showed up with a Hotwire booking two days into a week long motorcycle trip. We arrived in a bit of a rain storm and were warmly greeted by a young man named Chris who got us checked in quickly, then realized we had a king bed room instead of a double and quickly sorted that out.

Chris was happy to have us park our bikes under the awning out of the rain, and when the rain lifted told us where to find some beer and snacks close by.

We slept well, and were up early to a good breakfast including biscuits and gravy which actually held us over until we reached our next destination for the night! Can't really beat the location if you're travelling along Interstate 81 or heading to the Skyline Trail as we were.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickB488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make every guest feel welcomed . We do hope to see you in your future travels through Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    58
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
56
62
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We weren't expecting a whole lot for a hotel in Stephens City. This Holiday Inn was very nice. The staff was pleasant. Room was clean. We didn't expect such a good variety for a continental breakfast. We chose this hotel and stayed a little out of our way, so our son could experience the drive-in theater nearby. Also, if you like true southern cooking go to the Butcher Block Buffet next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for choosing us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The drive in theater is one of our most popular local attractions as we offer a special rate and coupons for free popcorn. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I am a IHG member. My husband and I stayed at this hotel and it was a horrible experience. If there was a way for me to give negative stars, it would get a -3 stars. First, check-in was smooth with the exception of the staff not wearing name tags. It was unclear of the employee hierarchy. Next, the room; walking in the bed looked like someone slept in it. The pillows and bed was creased up. As we turned the bed down, we found a hair in the bed. The bathroom door handle was falling apart, the curtains had holes as if they were melted in a fire. The bathtub whirl pool had pink oozing stuff seeping out of them. My husband and I had to do a thorough cleaning of it before using and while we were cleaning it, I ran the jets to clean them and the water was brown coming out of it. Breakfast was a disaster! The breakfast staff was rude and obnoxious. When you asked her for an item, she would not apologize for the shortcoming and attempt to get the items but would complain about being the only staff on duty and could not keep up with the flow. The trash can in the breakfast area was overflowing to the point other guest was kicking it aside to avoid stepping on it. The breakfast area was clearly too small to accommodate the the amount of guest that morning. On a positive note, the front desk and housekeeping staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Yolanda P,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards member. I am pleased that you found our front desk and housekeeping staff friendly and accommodating. On the other hand, I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to the room and bathroom condition. Also, the unsatisfactory experience you had during your breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these may have caused you. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Again, thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This property is consistent with Holiday Inn standards. The room and bed were clean. We had a great night's sleep. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Jacqueline on the front desk. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chacharea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and compliment to Jaclyn. We work hard at making every guest feel welcomed and appreciated. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal,
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

You must have a coupon. They are about in every rest area. You can now enjoy a nice hotel with some amenities at a good price.
We paid $65 on a Saturday night for a 2 double beds room with free breakfast and wi-fi close to the 81.
The room is clean. A bit of work to be done in the bathroom.
The hotel was almost full so the noise is a bit more but not annoying.
The breakfast room is small but we had a table for two. The food is fresh and the choice is equal to other Holiday Inn express.
So in conclusion, this place is ok as long as you have a coupon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank do b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I'm currently staying at the Holiday Inn Express, in Stephens City, Va and its been an awesome experience i travel throughout the east coast and so happy i choose this hotel out of many in the area. The staff is amazing they payed extreme attention to their guest very kind and courteous, the general manager came out to chat with me concerned about how comfortable i was, and the rest of his front desk staff, Mia , Chris, Carroll , treat you just like family and always welcome you with warm smiles. Every morning for breakfast as soon as the elevator door opens you think you couldn't ignore the smell coming from the dinning area everything fresh and clean good job !!!! an there's so much i can say about the hard working cleaning staff Debbie, Shannon, kelly, Becky and Amarie all deserve a raise i got your back ladies !!!! your doing a wonderful job keep up the good work and i apologize if i left anyone out thank you sincerely for your kindness Mr.Lee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you Mr.Lee for your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We try our best to make everyone's stay pleasant and comfortable. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Near I-81 with nearby food resto. Room was Very clean and good accommodations. Breakfast ok and if you expect a gourmet meal go to the Ritz... Staff very nice and helpful. Internet a bit slow but good TV. Very good stay

Room Tip: Get coupons from the Travel info center for good discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C Qui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing