We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight across the board”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Certificate of Excellence
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A delight across the board”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived here after a very long day of travel and were very pleased with the quality of this property. The room was very clean, spacious and came with a refridgerator. Our king-sized bed was "just right" for firmness. The shower was wonderful and breakfast was both diverse and delicious with several different sources of protein including two types of sausage and too types of "real" eggs, plus the chain's signature cinnamon rolls. They even had an automated pancake making machine that produced surprisingly tasty pancakes. All in all a great place to stay. It will be on our list for return trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the property away from I-81 if you want to minimize noise from I-8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cogit8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    59
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
57
62
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I thought I reserved a room directly with the hotel for 8/23/14, but when I arrived they did not have my reservation. Chris, at the front desk, was able to find my reservation at another property and found that it had been made through an outside service. He was able to cancel that reservation, and offered me one of the last rooms they had available in Stephens City, Va. It took him some time to assist me in getting a refund from the service, since they had incorrectly booked me at the wrong hotel. He was very good at multi-tasking, assisting other guests at the same time while he was helping me. As for the room, it was the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in! Linens top of the line and a large screen TV. Breakfast was great and all for a reasonable price!! I will definitely stop on my travels in the area again, and I highly recommend this hotel to others traveling north or south on Interstate 81.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were traveling through and stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable. Breakfast was included which is nice when you are on a schedule. No frills stay for a reasonable price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TAB_23_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a super clean hotel, great amenities, pool right off the lobby, great breakfast and excellent rooms. It's nicely modern, service was super friendly, special thanks to the chamber maids who were cleaning our room when we arrived and we had a great chat with them! If all HI Express properties were like thiamine I'd never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the hallway...it's farther from the front and away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent last night (8/9/14) in this property in Stephens City,VA. This is the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate. The motel itself was clean as a pin. The linens on the beds were top shelf and the duvet was wonderful. A big screen LG television, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, etc. Personnel are professional and aim to please. Hot breakfast was more than adequate. Will certainly stay there again. We were impressed. Town of Winchester is just up the road with lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked the room through hotwire when I wanted to visit family in Front Royal, which is about a 15 minute drive from the hotel. I was very pleased with my stay here. It was nothing over-the-top, just a nice, simple hotel with a decent price for the room. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was friendly. My friend and I also enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast they had every morning. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the area for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As an IHG Rewards ( Priority Club) member I stay in a lot of HI properties.

1. The good -Friendly check-in. Clean. Reasonably quiet. Internet good. TV channels good. Bathroom roomy ( the only thing that is! (LOL). A/C good. Beds of average comfort. Breakfast is fine. Convenient location for me. Micro and fridge in room. No blaring spotlight shining in window ( thanks).

2. Not totally smoke-free. Key word here is SMALL. Small room, small breakfast area, small pool, small workout room, etc...No easy chair in room.

If you just need a place to sleep along I-81, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatawbaCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winchester South, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all feedback as we aim to strive for better. We hope to see you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
24 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
814 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
78 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winchester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winchester South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Winchester South
Address: 165 Town Run Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winchester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South. Located off interstate 81 in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, the hotel is nestled next to the scenic town of Stephens City, VA. Check out our upgraded guest rooms offering new mattresses, bedding, interior design package, 32 inch flat screen tvs with HD content, upgraded wireless high speed internet, microwaves, and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Express, Winchester, VA South satisfies the lodging needs for both the business and leisure travelers. Located minutes from Stowe Woodward, Thermo Fisher Scientific, DuPont, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, and Dominion Front Royal Power Plant, the Holiday Inn Express is the hotel for the traveling business professional in need of quick and easy access to Interstate 81 as well as US Route 11 and Route 522. Need to take a break? Settled in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains near the entrance of Skyline Drive, start off your morning with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast and visit Cedar Creek battlefield and enjoy the Civil War heritage of the Shenandoah Valley. Not into history? Take a dip in our outdoor swimming pool or take advantage of one of the five golf courses only minutes from the property. With over 100 attractions near the hotel the Holiday Inn Express Winchester, VA South can become your vacation headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winchester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Hotel Stephens City
Holiday Inn Stephens City
Stephens City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing