We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how about some TLC?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Inn is a nice place, but our room was unfortunately stink-bug invested when we visited. They were all over the room, and we woke up at night, with stink-bugs all over our pillows. The Inn Keeper was very apologetic about it, but honestly, the worst could have been avoided if they had checked the room before our arrival. Stink bugs are slow and easy to catch.

The room was nice but this experience kind of spoiled it all. And honestly our room and the building we were in was a bit dated. Time to update!

The 3 course dinner was good but besides dessert not very filling. And breakfast was a bit pretentious. A lot of courses and yet we did not even get some juice and had to ask for a coffee refill.

The place seems to be popular, so I don't want to spoil it, but we were disappointed and left after one night. That was us though!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VaucluseSpring, Owner at The Inn at Vaucluse Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

These good folks visited us on one of those unseasonably warm sunny October days when the stink bugs seem to come out of nowhere. For anyone who does not know, the stink bugs at issue are an invasive species accidentally introduced from China into Pennsylvania. They do not bite, but they do give off an odor when squashed. For guests who are travelling from outside the “stinkbug belt”, which apparently includes New York City, their first encounter can be a bit unnerving. Regrettably, control is not as easy as just checking the rooms before guests arrive. Our housekeeping staff checks all rooms on the day of arrival to ensure that everything is ready, including removing stink bugs. But as anyone knows who lives in an area where they are a nuisance, when stink bugs are active, they can materialize quickly and relentlessly. Our apologies once again… we do still remember our own first encounter with these pests and certainly sympathize… but aside from diligently removing them one at a time, which we continue to do, there is not much else that can be done. The good news is that after these Indian Summer days are past, so will the worst of these pesky stink bugs.

We were dismayed to hear that the four-course dinner was not filling. We try to walk the fine line of portion size in a multi-course meal between too much and too little and sincerely regret our guests’ feeling we were on the “too little” side. We strive for “just right”, but human beings being what we are, our ideas of “just right” don’t always coincide.

The lapses in service at breakfast as far as failure to offer juice or a coffee refill were certainly an error on our part, and for that we do apologize. We have impressed on our servers the need to be more attentive and appreciate very much your letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

I began searching for a B&B for our 40th wedding anniversary a bit late and was dismayed to learn (or to remember!) that October is the new June and the majority of properties we considered were booked for weddings. We selected the Inn at Vaucluse Springs based almost exclusively on the fact that they had availability and boy - were we pleasantly surprised!! The property is absolutely stunning, Barry and Neil could not have been more welcoming and the food was incredible! Chef even made us a special little dessert for our anniversary! I am already planning when to return...when it's hot and we can go for a swim and then sit on the porch with a class of lemonade or when it's cold and we can come in from playing in the snow to sit in front of one of the 16 working fireplaces and read a good book?! I think we'll do both!

Room Tip: We stayed in Strother and thought it the best room in the manor house! If we take our whole family...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theonlysallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The rooms are comfortable, the gourmet breakfasts are delicious and the Saturday night 6 course dinner was very special. With no televisions to distract this was truly a peaceful and quiet place to spend romantic evenings with my husband.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victorialynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Don't miss the dinner at this place, what a treat! We stayed in the Cabin, very private, clean, comfortable. All attention from Neil, Barry, chef Adam was great. The 5-course dinners (we stayed 2 nights) were excellent, beautifully presented, and appealed to many tastes. No need to go elsewhere to eat if you are staying here! Breakfast - 3 courses- also great. The location was convenient to Washington DC area for a 1-1/2 hour drive for a getaway from northern VA. The property is secluded and private in a nice country setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2vets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Having toured around Virginia for 10 days, we were looking for somewhere to spend a couple of peaceful days before our flight back to Scotland. This gem in the quiet countryside fitted the bill perfectly. Surroundings, facilities ,food - everthing was perfect. But the Inn's crowning glory is its two hosts, Neil and Barry, who treat everyone as best friends in their home, even the Scots.
If it wasn't so far away, we would be there every month, just to taste the 11yr old malt.
A public thank you to two nice people for the many happy memories.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jskthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Two years ago, my husband and I (and 6 of our good friends) met up at the Inn at Vaucluse Spring for a wonderful weekend to celebrate his 40th birthday. Last weekend it was my turn to celebrate my big day. The weekend was SO MUCH FUN. Neil and Barry are so welcoming and nice - and fun! The food was FABULOUS! It's a beautiful Inn that feels comfortable and inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTSinLeesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Thank you for such a wonderful experience. This was our first bed and breakfast and it made a lasting impression with memories we'll forever cherish! We also enjoyed the close by drive in theater, downtown Winchester and the Orchard. The breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere was beautiful.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Chumley House!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauren e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Stephens City
29 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Region: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range: £104 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing