We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great w/e getaway, charming location, excellent food and service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stephens City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great w/e getaway, charming location, excellent food and service”
Reviewed 14 August 2006

My husband and I live in the DC area and really needed a departure from the frantic pace of city work. I reserved a weekend at The Inn... based on another couple's recommendation. We were HIGHLY pleased with the Inn, the Innkeepers and the overall service. The food was exceptional and the service was superb. It's also a short drive to other civil war-era cities and battlefields (an extra plus in my husband's book), antique shopping, and Shenandoah National Park/Skyline Drive/Appalachian Trail (an extra plus in my book). Neil and Barry offer a serene, pleasing and beautiful place to call home for a weekend! It was my husband's first time at a bed and breakfast; now, he's hooked! We can't wait for our next visit there.

  • Liked — the surroundings... very peaceful and serene
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — eat dinner there. we didn't and regret not eating dinner at the inn.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    38
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
37
591
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2006

My wife and I stayed at this B&B about amonth ago and it was outstanding. We wondered whether we were imagining things, so we went back the first chance we got (which was last night). First of all, it was simple to make a reservation. The owners are Barry and his wife, Neal. Barry answered the phone and immediately recalled who I was. They had all of our information in their computer so it was simple as pie to make the reservation. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room (which was in the main house). The room was spacious, well appointed, spotless (as was the bathroom) and the bed was VERY comfortable. After getting settled in, we went downstairs to find homemade iced tea and lemonade with the most wonderful cookies. We grabbed a bunch and retired to the porch, which overlooks a perfectly landscaped yard... all very quiet... except for the chirping of birds. The last time we were there we stayed for the homemade dinner, which Neal prepares with a small crew of helpers. It was so fantastic, we decided to do the same again (to make sure we weren't dreaming on our last visit). Barry and Neal welcome all the guests at their complimentary cocktail hour and then describe the menu. Suffice to say... this 5 course dinner at $48 per person is as good as you will get in some of the finest resturants in Washington, DC. It's also worth mentioning that the staff meets your every need, professionally and quickly. After dinner we took a short walk among the deer, bunny rabbits and birds. After a very restful night, we enjoyed a filling 3 course gourmet breakfast, complete with freshly squeezed orange juice and a Washington Post. We were sad to leave, but we most certainly will be back. The Inn is only 25 minutes from Sky Line Drive... so well worth staying there instead of a shabby hotel or lodge for the same or more money. I promise you won't be disappointed with this place... it's a winner!!!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik_and_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2006

I recently took my entire staff to Vacluse as part of our annual planning retreat and, as usual, found the people, the atmosphere, the food, and the service all extraordinary. The staff has a way of being constantly available and continuously helpful while at the same time seeming invisible. It is really quite unique. The facilities also are well suited for either working or playing. I can't recommend it highly enough!

Howard Ross, President
Cook Ross, Inc.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2006

The Inn at Vaucluse Spring is an enchanting place. The Innkeepers, Barry and Neil, will make your stay a wonderful experience. The accomidations were superb. The meals are excellent. The staff were helpful and attentive to our needs. If relaxing is what you are looking for then the Inn at Vaucluse Spring is the place to go. Walking the grounds takes you back to an era when life was less hectic. Water flowing from the spring pood, birds chirping, and an occasional cow mooing. Within short driving distance there are vineyards, antiquing, museums, hiking, canoeing, and white water rafting. We highly recommend a stay at the Inn.

Helpful?
2 Thank MiraMOnte_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

My husband and I spent a Friday night at the inn. The grounds and buildings were well-kept and pretty. Fridges were stocked with soda and beer for you to take, and beach towels were provided for the peaceful pool. There are only 15 or so rooms, and young children not welcome, so it's very peaceful. There are books and games around, plus plenty to do in the vicinity. The shower and tub were good, remote-controlled fireplace quite nice, and the bed comfy.

Service at meals was friendly, but our one quibble was with the food. Both dinner (flank steak) and breakfast (a potato-onion quiche) were mediocre and underseasoned. Still, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweetpotater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We held our wedding at Vaucluse with our families and some close friends. It was an amazing weekend. We had the opportunity to visit with and play with family and friends while Neil, Barry and their helpful staff took care of everything. The property is well groomed and maintained making our outdoor wedding just beautiful. The staff is courteous, fast, and eager to meet even the pickiest of needs. Neil and Barry helped us find a florist, rentals, and a photographer. The meals were delicious and they were served with such care and attention to detail. The rooms are spacious and handsomely decorated. The propery, the staff and the rooms made for such a beautiful and relaxing weekend that no one wanted to leave. My husband was the third to get married in his family and everyone voted ours the very best wedding. I won't ever marry another man but I would get married again every weekend at Vaucluse if I could.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2006

Our daughter and her intended decided on a small wedding that would include only family members and very close friends. We surveyed numerous Bed & Breakfasts but after visiting with Neil and Barry and touring their property the choice was clear. We rented the entire Inn for two nights. Barry and Neil greeted us and treated us like family. We requested a Friday evening barbeque served on the lawn and the meal was perfect. Saturday breakfast was delicious, a baked egg casserole done to perfection. We had mentioned one guest who did not like baked eggs and she was surprised with scrambled eggs just the way she liked them. The wedding was held at one o’clock on the lawn by the Chumley House under beautiful blue skies. The comforting part of this property is that for a small wedding there are three excellent outdoor areas for the ceremony and in the event of inclement weather there are several indoor areas that could be used. Our formal Saturday evening dinner was perfect. The staff at this property are great! Meals are served with style and grace, the rooms are pristine and the grounds are well maintained. Barry was very helpful recommending florists and photographers and making suggestions for the wedding. The entire affair was very relaxed and comfortable (even for the bride’s mother).

We were very pleased, our guests were very pleased, and most importantly, our daughter had her new husband were very pleased to have held their wedding at this Inn. Neil, Barry, and the entire staff did a great job.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephens City
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
78 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vaucluse Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vaucluse Spring

Property: The Inn at Vaucluse Spring
Address: 231 Vaucluse Spring Ln, Stephens City, VA 22655-5454
Region: United States > Virginia > Stephens City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stephens City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and secluded B&B in the Virginia countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Vaucluse Spring Hotel Stephens City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing