We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun for kids!”

Heritage Farm Museum
Ranked #6 of 21 things to do in Sterling
Attraction details
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Fun for kids!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We've been here several times with our grandkids. It's a fun place for ages 2 to 8 or so, with lots of interactive activities for children. The play store is especially popular, as are the toy ride-on tractors and the full sized plastic cow you can "milk." About a third of the museum is the kids area, and the rest of the large room is the actual museum, with exhibits of farm machinery and a cut-out farm "kitchen" you can go in. If you are just visiting with adults or teens, you might find the displays a little too basic, but young families will like it. There is a lot to do in the park as well, especially if you walk over to the Claude Moore Park Visitor Center to see the pond and walk on the trails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
1 review
“Love it!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great for kids, Matthew ( 17 months ) loved the store and the tractors. Kids can interact with the history!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandram465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Kids activities”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We stopped by when in the area for something else, there are some nice interactive aspects. Cow for milking, chicken eggs to collect, general store with merchandise for playing, (all of the above pretend). Tractors to ride on, some dress up clothes. Probably priced a little higher than I thought it should be.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsy_0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great little price of history”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Enjoyed the pedal tractors, milking the cow and riding the pretend horses. The other exhibits where "too old" for a 5 and 3 year old, but we enjoyed our visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Urban_Photog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cLove2Travel, Manager at Heritage Farm Museum, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thanks for visiting! The Museum strives to combine traditional Museum exhibits with hands-on interactive exhibits to provide something for everyone in the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terri007
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A nice place for a field trip.”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I went with my son and his third grade class to the Heritage Farm Museum on November 10, 2012. We were the only group there that day so it made for a lot of hands on attention for the kids. The classes were split up into three groups and each group went to three different stations. The kids were working on simple machines such as levers, pulleys, etc. so a pig part of one of the stations dealt with simple machines. The kids also visited a "country store" where they had to have a shopping list and buy enough food for the week for only $1. They seemed to enjoy this the best of all the stations. They next went to the gift shop where $1 of their money for the trip went for them to purchase something that was in the $1 section. They had quite a nice selection for the students to choose from and they all had a good time. The third one was a comparison between the items they choose in the country store and a clip-board of prices today. They weren't that interested in that exercise.
We will return with our other child in the Spring as I think our other child will enjoy it as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank terri007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Farm Museum also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Farm Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing