We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I arrived very late in the night....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence
Lithonia, United States
1 review
“I arrived very late in the night....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I arrived late and there was no one at the desk ... my first thoughts were "oh boy here we go...". Within 5 min. I was in my room with a smile on my face! Everything was great during my 2 night stay. The best sleep away from home that I have experienced in some time ... I think it was the feathered pillows!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Good Evening Lisa M,

Thank you for your review. When I first began reading your review, I was worried! The last thing we would ever want is to not deliver great service to our guest. I can appreciate your thoughts about the bed as this is something most guests enjoy during their visits with us. I apologize for you having to wait while the agent returned to the desk. This is not customary for our location. Again, I am excited that the interaction was above and beyond your expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    168
    68
    23
    15
See reviews for
168
112
75
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ciudad Real, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and we will definitively go back again. This hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was GREAT! friendly and very professional!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MTCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear MT Campbell,

Thank you for recognizing our great service provided during your stay. We have a wonderful team ready and willing to help you at any time. I am glad you enjoyed the bed. They are our crown of glory. We thank you for review.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The water pressure in the shower was terrible and added at least 10 minutes every morning for my shower just to get soap out of my hair. We originally had another reservation for 3 extra nights under my husbands name because he flew in Thursday. I cancelled the whole reservation because of the water pressure and we moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I sincerely regret, Vi M, our inability to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We are proud of our levels of services and amenities; however, we failed to represent our best to you. Our shower heads are low-flow without sacrificing a great shower experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Feedback is critical in order to achieve the greatest satisfaction possible of our guests. We hope that we have another opportunity to show you our very best.

Yours in Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ta101
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in a suite, which was quite large and nicely appointed. The room is modern in design and was clean. However, the water pressure left a lot to be desired. It was a dribble at best, and that alone would deter me from staying at this property. If water pressure is not a concern, the hotel is worth staying at, with a convenient location to Dulles airport.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ta101,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit with us. It's always great to hear how or service impacts our guests. I apologize for the lack of water pressure in the shower. I agree the suite is well appointed. We are trying out a new shower head to improve water efficiency and I a was not aware that it was causing dissatisfaction for our guests. I will look into anothe option for our rooms. Your feedback is appreciated and I look forward to an opportunity to serve you in the future.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Doubletree is a fine hotel. When I needed an accomodation adjustment, Gabby handled it like an old pro. She pointed out the amenities and highly endorsed the breakfast. She was very congenial and ha a 24 carat smile. If you ever need someone to diffuse a disgruntled guest, I would recommend her. In addition I cannot say nough good things about the entire staff and facility. You are 5 star to me.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Good Day Damron B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you received great service during your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with Gabriella. She will be happy to hear your thoughts. As always, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for your continued loyalty.

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I just checked in to this hotel tonight and did not receive a cookie, but that was the least of the issues. I reserved this room via Priceline for my girlfriend and I to get away for the weekend. She could not sleep on the bed due to her having a bad back. The mattress was just a bit too firm. When I went to the front desk to ask for a roll away for her, I was told that there wasn't any. Had we known this, we would have cancelled and found a different hotel for us to stay at. While this is a beautiful hotel, I was expecting better considering it carries the Hilton name. This is a perfect hotel to stay at if you're here for business, but definitely NOT a hotel to stay at if you want a romantic weekend away. Next time we plan a getaway, we will be finding another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I am so very sorry, David M, that we failed to meet your expectations. Cookies are our #1 way of saying welcome! Our beds are one of the reasons that guests keep coming back to our hotel; however, I can understand that their firmness can provide discomfort to someone with back conditions. The dimensions of the rooms and the size of the bed do not allow for a rollaway bed, unfortunately. Thank you for commenting on the beauty of the hotel; however, I am disappointed that we could not provide you with a great getaway. Both guests on business and pleasure enjoy the hotel. My hope is that my staff can make up the difference in the 24 hours remaining in your stay!

Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife and I arrived recently at the Double Tree Hilton in Sterling, VA, after a very long flight from Europe. We had arranged to park our car there but had not planned to stay. Upon arrival, however, we were exhausted and in no shape to face the rush hour DC traffic to get home to Baltimore. Mr Ahsan was at the front desk and understood our plight immediately. He made very reasonable arrangements for us to rest until late in the evening when we were able to resume our journey. Because of his great kindness the end of our journey - a potential disaster - was made as pleasant as the rest of our trip. Thank you, Mr. Ahsan. We will certainly consider staying at a Hilton again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
What a wonderful review, Charles K! Ahsan will be thrilled! I am so very glad to hear that he took such stellar care of you. Travel is already tough these days. Add to it a few other factors and it can be even more trying. I am so pleased that Ahsan recognized your needs. Thoguh there is only one Ahsan, there are Hiltons all over the world that will take great care of you.

Yours in Hospitality -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dulles-Cascades
2.8 mi away
HYATT house Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington-Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Sterling/Dulles Airport-North
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dulles North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport
Address: 21611 Atlantic Blvd, Sterling, VA 20166-6852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport. Located 10 minutes from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), our hotel near Dulles airport offers a 24-hour, complimentary airport shuttle service. Enjoy a convenient location near Dulles Town Center shopping mall, Dulles Sportsplex and Dulles Golf Center. Set on the Dulles Technology Corridor, our hotel is within minutes of leading corporations including Orbital, Raytheon, Verizon, Rockwell Collins and Harris Corporation. Students will enjoy our proximity to the Virginia campus of George Washington University. Enjoy a warm welcome at this Sterling hotel with our freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Retreat to one of our 171 guest rooms boasting complimentary wired or wireless internet access. Our IAD hotel offers a relaxing base for exploring or working in Virginia. Unwind with drinks and dine on hearty cuisine at the restaurant and bar. Stay active at the fitness center and indoor pool or whirlpool spa. Connect with the office using our complimentary 24-hour business center. Take advantage of this hotel's location near the airport and 5, 000 sq. ft. of event space for business meetings, functions and weddings. Our hotel event space features an elegant ballroom, outdoor patio and the latest in A/V equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sterling - Dulles Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing