We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza”

Emilio's Brick Oven Gourmet
Ranked #40 of 243 Restaurants in Sterling
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We first dined here when shopping for furniture in the plaza. The restaurant can be a little hard to find, but there is signage to help guide you to the location. We recently dined here again, using a Groupon. They are not open on Sundays. They advertise delivery, but with a minimum $25 order.

This is pretty much a self-service restaurant. We've seated ourselves and you place your order at the counter. The lady who rang up our order, possibly the owner, was very nice and willing to explain things to the other members of our party who had not dined here previously. Servers do bring your order to your table. The pizzas come in two sizes.

The pizzas have thin crusts and are cooked in a brick oven. We didn't realize that the pizza we ordered didn't have any sauce on it, so we thought it was a little dry. Next time we'll "build our own" to ensure we have sauce. They do have other offerings, such as salad, stromboli, an calzones.

There were quite a few tables covered with dirty dishes, so it made it a little challenge to find a large enough table for the five of us. Soft drinks/iced tea are self-serve. One complaint I had was that the majority of the glasses were stuck to the trays. Had to go through quite a few to find some that weren't sticky on the rim.

We'll be back, but will make sure we get a pizza that has tomato sauce on it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Did not have good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were not greeted when we arrived. The owner was talking with a friend and paid no attention to us for a full 3 minutes. Then she told one of the servers to seat us. After placing our order at the counter we took a seat. The owner was barking at the staff and there was quite a bit of arguing going on the entire time we were there. They forgot my husbands pizza and then quickly through it together, charred on the outside chewy in the middle. Gordon Ramsey needs to visit this place!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the area...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Excellent pizza. Thin crispy crust does not get soggy. Sauce using marinated tomatoes is very good. Toppings are good without being overwhelming.
It is a tad expensive, but I believe it's worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We love Emilio's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place has great gourmet pizza and salads. Food is always great here.

Helpful?
Thank KVM0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

WOW!! Thats all I can say.
The dough is crispy and tender, the sauce is homemade and delicious, and unlike the reviewer before me, the cheese was plentiful AND it certainly was mozzarella!!
We have also been to the one in Landsdowne, and it's just as fantastic.
It's hard for me to rate pizza, but Emilio's cooked in the brick oven is the BEST around!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OhYew812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emilio's Brick Oven Gourmet also viewed

Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 
Sterling, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Emilio's Brick Oven Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing