We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A. C. Stickley Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Strasburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My honey Lauren and I spent a romantic weekend at the A. C. Stickley bed and breakfast. It was wonderful. Nestled in the Shenadoah valley, this b&b is perfect. Upon arrival, Donna greeted us with a delicious cheese and fruit plate, and a choice of wine, and we sat out on the front porch and enjoyed the sunset and the mountains before us. Donna's breakfasts are amazing and catered to dietary restrictions. In fact, I would stay there for the meals alone. The house is big and roomy and very clean. It is also located near civil war battlefields and some of Virginia's finest vineyards. Donna knows the area and if you arrive without an agenda, she will gladly suggest restaurants, vineyards, galleries or antique shops.

Room Tip: Ignore the pool rating, there isn't one, I inadvertently touched it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

My fiance and I decided to get out of the city for a night on Valentines, and I couldn't be happier about choosing A.C. Stickley. We really lucked out with this find. During the days leading up to our visit, Donna was exceptionally helpful via email, providing winery and dining suggestions in the area and even offering to book our reservations on my behalf. Once there, everything was just as pictured on the website or better, in fact, the room and bathroom were both much larger and more ornate than anticipated. The entire house has a very cozy, old-fashioned feel to it, which was just what I was looking for. I can't say for certain whether the added details (rose petals by the bathtub, chocolates on the bed) were a special treat because it was Valentines or a standard feature, but they certainly made the stay extra special. And last but certainly not least - the breakfast was absolutely worth the price of admission. It was a three course feast with homemade cinnamon roles, caramelized pears with greek yogurt, and then a delicious souffle and a giant steak. Quite a breakfast indeed. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thank you Donna and John for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DukeDeac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely night in this most lovely inn. The hospitality, generous, comfortable accommodations were perfect for us. We sat on the porch drinking wine and relaxed in this nice small town. We literally could not have asked for anything more and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spacious, comfortable, clean room with an incredible bathroom, perfect mattress and every other amenity one could imagine including WiFi. Donna has thought of everything! Our stay was delightful, from the wine and cheese on arrival through the unhurried unique, delicious breakfast. The quiet location is ideal for exploring Strasburg on foot, or just rocking on the porch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

First time travelers to this area and chose this B & B due to the excellent reviews and pictures. We were not disappointed. A very comfortable, clean and feel at home atmosphere was evident immediately as the owner Donna greeted us at the door. We stayed in the large king bed room and it was fabulous. Beautifully appointed throughout, great hospitality, a wonderful room (with a killer bathroom) made this a restful stay. We relaxed on the front porch, enjoyed the complimentary snacks and wine and took in the views. The breakfast cooked by Donna is outstanding. She graciusly accomodated a dietary restriction for us without missing a beat.There is a nice short hike that starts nearby and runs along the river. If you are going during the week, be aware that there is a high school very nearby and the other town schools down the road so there will be some traffic; but it did not disrupt our stay at all. Go and enjoy all that this B & B has to offer; we highly recommend it and will likely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NC-World-Traveler-Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Donna's B & B lived up to the many positive reviews we read about it. We spent several relaxing days there with short trips to vineyards for wine tastings, travels on the Skyline Drive, a visit with family and walks along the Shenandoah. Our days started with wonderful breakfasts which kept us going until dinner. Donna's suggestions for restaurants directed us to some fine cuisine for evening meals. There are a lot of things to do and see in Strasburg, but just sitting on Donna's front porch is worth the trip! Doreen and Caird

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had a great experience. Our room was large and well appointed. Bathroom was terrific. Donna took great care of us and made an excellent breakfast. She really thought of many little things to make the stay excellent. I would give this my highest recommendation. The bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strasburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#4 of 5 in Strasburg
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
1.4 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Budget Inn Strasburg
Budget Inn Strasburg
#5 of 5 in Strasburg
8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holliday House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A. C. Stickley Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A. C. Stickley Bed and Breakfast

Address: 384 S Holliday St, Strasburg, VA 22657-2218
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A. C. Stickley House Bed and Breakfast offers a warm, tranquil and inviting environment. Located in Strasburg, Virginia, the uppermost town in Shenandoah County, the house is situated on a large landscaped, shaded lot in the town's historic district. The A. C. Stickley house has been tastefully renovated and updated so as to retain its charm and quaintness. The home's furnishings and decor hearken back to the era in which it was built and reflect the status, and standing in the community, of the original owner. The swing and rockers on the wraparound porch are perfect for relaxing and enjoying the lovely mountain view. Our guests can also relax in our parlor where they can engage in quiet conversation, read, or play a variety of board games. Our guest amenities include off street parking, complimentary high speed wireless throughout the house and porch, cable TV, central air conditioning and individually controlled heat in each of the three guest rooms. All rooms have whirlpool tubs; two also have walk-in showers as well as tubs. Each room at the A. C. Stickley house has antique furnishings, fine linens, iHome clock radio, hair dryer, luxurious robes, flat screen TV, DVD player with a selection of movies, and wireless internet access. Complimentary wine, beverages and refreshments are provided in mid-afternoon. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and snacks at all hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing