We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Travelers Paradise”
Review of Hotel Strasburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Strasburg
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Want to experience the atmosphere of a century ago but with all the conveniences of today? Try the Hotel Strasburg. It was built in 1904 and the owners have faithfully created the ambiance of the time. Yet you will find AC and, if you choose, a jacuzzi hot tub in your room. Staff was friendly and very accommodating of a special request we made. A great base to explore the natural beauty of the Shenandoah National Park and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Strasburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for a night after deciding we'd had our fill of antiseptic hotels that somehow all look the same. The Hotel Strasburg defines "quaint" with its antique-filled lobby and rooms. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Keep in mind that because the hotel is a former hospital (don't be put off by that fact), the rooms are smaller than a typical hotel (at least ours was) and the bathroom was also compact. But, the personality of the hotel outweighs those small drawbacks. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We had dinner in the Depot: the famous chicken pot pie for her and a burger for me. Excellent food and good beer on tap. The only glitch: the hotel wifi was excruciatingly slow. Maybe the router was having a bad day. If we're in the area, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly. Gorgeous atmosphere with decor and furniture to match the Victorian time period. I will stay there again. Great bargain too!

Continental breakfast was great. Loved it! It was a great find. Don't miss out. Stay here. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LuvinTravelingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We wanted a place to watch the USA play Portugal and served food. The hotel we booked in did not serve food. We were told about the Hotel Strasburg and the Depot Lounge.
We arrived June 22nd at half time. The lounge had the game on with several other soccer fans.
Service was a little slow, but in all fairness there was only one bar tender (Pat), dealing with all the customers and the match held our interest. We ordered two Black & Blue Burgers, one with Bleu Cheese and Cole Slaw and one with Bleu Cheese and local chips. We washed the food down with a few glasses of wine and beer.
Pat was very polite and accommodating.
The hotel was rather unique from what we saw and the next time in the area we may give it a try. Talked to two Britt’s that were staying there and they enjoyed their stay thus far.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennessee_Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a great hotel, it seem like you are the only one there, but there are plenty of other guests. I love the 3rd floor with the angled ceilings. The front desk is warm and welcoming. I certainly will stay here again, my only complaint is the breakfast on Sunday is not free. All the other days it was, and it was only $10 but I would have gone around the corner to Hi Neighbor if I would have known.

Strasburg is a great place to stay and Cristina's brought in some great music and it is just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: They will let you see all the rooms before you check in. I love the 3rd floor, but they all looked...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texxxas666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Approximately once a month, to retain my sanity, I make a weekend getaway from the Washington, DC area. This was my first visit to Strasburg, Virginia, a small, scenic and peaceful town about 80 miles from my home in Alexandria, Virginia. I made my initial one night's reservation on Hotels.com and then paid for a second night directly to the hotel. The total cost for two nights for one person (I was travelling alone), including tax, was $146.93 - very reasonable for a very small, yet functional and immaculately clean room (number 201) in the rear of the building on the second floor. The room was large enough for one person, not two, the double bed was comfortable, the air conditioning functioned properly, the adequately equipped bathroom and shower were fine (very good water pressure in the shower - always a plus). The small television had a large assortment of cable TV channels. It would be useful to have a small table or desk in the room and the lighting could be a bit better but the room, overall, was to my satisfaction. I do not concur with the recent reviews as I had no problems with my reservation and found EVERYONE on the hotel staff to be cordial, welcoming and efficient. The pub/cafe adjacent to the hotel front desk was good - I had two good meals there - home-style cooking at a very reasonable price. I did not use the more formal dining room on this trip. Service was good in the pub/cafe and once again, everyone was friendly. The hotel has a nice porch to watch the world go by and is located in a quiet residential area but still only a block or two from "downtown." Parking is readily available. Overall, I found my stay to be extremely enjoyable and will most definitely return - Strasburg is not Rio De Janeiro during carnival season and the town closes up early - even on weekends, but if you are looking to relax and take it easy for a day or two - this is a good stop and also well situated to make day trips to other parts of the region. If you are a member of the American Legion, the very friendly Post 77 is a few blocks from the Hotel Strasburg and has drinks and snack-bar style food.

Room Tip: If you are alone, room 201 is a good choice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanceman1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

While the setting, the restaurant, and the quaintness of the hotel (interior and exterior) are strengths, we were not very satisfied with several features of this hotel: The hotel does not use a computer, so our hotel reservations (hotel.com) had not been received, and we had to complete the registration again on paper; we were chided by a very unfriendly front-desk clerk about not bringing a paper copy of our reservation----this, in 2014. In our room we had no soap, the towel rack was falling off the wall, and the sheets did not stay on the bed (not fitted), revealing a bare mattress (no mattress pad---eeuuww). Also, we had traveled eleven hours to get to Strasburg, and when inquiring about eating dinner, were told by the snippy clerk that she would give us 30 minutes to eat!! Thanks. Also, we had requested a room on a lower floor, but since the hotel has no computer, they were not able to receive that request (and we were placed on the third floor). No elevator or assistance with luggage for two elderly ladies. Beds=one hard, one OK. Closet----blocked by a very heavy chair. You could do better than stay at this hotel, unless they do some work, especially on customer service! On a positive note, the food in the restaurant was delicious, the waitress was very personable (unlike the front-desk clerk), and we were allowed to stay an hour over our measly 30 minutes! Also, parking lot provided.

Room Tip: BYOS---bring your own soap and a fitted sheet!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyrose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
1.2 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
592 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.1 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strasburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strasburg

Address: 213 S Holliday St, Strasburg, VA 22657-2213
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range: £59 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasburg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Strasburg was originally built as a private hospital in 1902 run by Dr. M.R. Bruin. Later in the 1900's the Hotel became a well-known place of lodging and dining in the Shenandoah Valley. Restored to Victorian Age elegance in 1978, its guest register in the lobby reflects a truly cosmopolitan parade of visitors from across the nation and around the world. The property is located about 70 miles from Northern VA and Washington DC in the historic district of downtown Strasburg, VA. It features a fine dinning restaurant and a quaint Pub and friendly staff. Provides Weddings and Wedding receptions as well as Banquete; Catering Services, and customized special occasion events. For outdoor adventure, trek into the wilds of the Shenandoah National Forest, the Massanutten Mountains, and the breathtaking Skyline Drive. Enjoy the many hiking, canoeing, or horseback riding opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Strasburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing