We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like the smell of Marijuana then this is the place for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If I could give this hotel a 0 it would have it. First off when you walk into the lobby all you can smell is cigarette smoke. Then after a long day of driving I come back to my room having to use the restroom desperately only to be greeted by the smell of Marijuana. After complaining to the front desk, they say, we will send someone up. To do what I wonder? I am not smoking the damn stuff! So my husband goes down to the desk, they offer to give me another room, a smoking room.....I asked for a refund which the manager approved THANK GOD! I would never stay here again. I didn't feel safe and thank GOD my kids were not with me!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jake N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We have stayed at this hotel often while visiting family in the area. The price is always reasonable and while the hotel is showing its age, we have always found our room to be clean and comfortable. We have always found the staff to be pleasant to deal with. This hotel is a good value for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnj36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a fair value. You get exactly what your paying for. The reservation process was easy and the owner was nice to speak with. We were in a unique situation because we needed a pet friendly hotel for one night. Super 8 allowed our small dog for a $5 charge. The downside was it required us to stay in a smoking room. As non smokers this was a bit unpleasant but worth it for the convenience of keeping our dog along. Typically, we stay at four or five star hotels but couldn't locate any close enough to our desired location. The only one we found had a $100 pet fee which we felt was a bit much to pay.

The sheets and bed were clean and comfortable. The room definitely needed a makeover and a deep clean but it was clean where it counted - bed and bathroom. However, tub did not drain well after a shower.

The security wasn't really up to our standards. The backdoor didn't always lock without an extra tug and no one was visable at the front desk after 11:00pm (although there was a sign to ring bell for service so I know someone was on staff). The lobby was well kept and cereal was served for breakfast. We met with family at IHOP a few minutes down the road so I didn't see breakfast set up to comment.

Overall, sufficient for one night but the Hilton Garden Inn was calling my name from directly across the street for twice the price and no pets allowed. If I was staying for another night I would have been tempted to leave husband with the doggie and head over there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank WorldwideTee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
12.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
13.5 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater

Address: 633 N Main St, Suffolk, VA 23434-4450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing