We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Motel I've Ever Stayed At”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I'm writing this review almost a year after staying at this place and had to look back back at my credit card receipt in order to find the exact motel so I could write this review. My wife and I were returning from a two week trip down south and needed a cheap place to sleep in this area, because we planned to take the Chesapeake Bay Bridge the next morning. Even a year later, we still cringe when thinking about it.

All of our complaints include, but are not limited to, rude staff, sketchy locals loitering outside panhandling guests for money, moldy and smelly rooms, dirty sheets, cigarette burns in the bed spread, a bathroom door that didn't lock, a window with a ripped screen on the first floor, thin walls, stains all over the place, a barely functioning television, and a general fear for our safety and health. We got the impression the owners had not done any maintenance on this place in 20 years.

We travel all over the country and routinely "rough it" in places that don't offer much, but still pass the cleanliness test. We are not super picky people, but this place easily takes the cake as the filthiest, most disgusting lodging I have ever stayed at. If you have a choice between staying here or sleeping in your car, please sleep in your car. This place should be condemned.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor -- some windows have no screens and the locals are scary.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank breezy5string
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Ruthann R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very dirty and smell like moldy attic.... The hotel has no rules so everybody smoke in the hallway.... The hotel is smell so bad that we have to leave the hotel at 530am to get fresh air because we cannot sleep because of the smell... Dirty bed with stain all over... If you have breathing problem, please do not risk your life because might have asthma attack........

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winner b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were sleeping and woke up to use the restroom, all of a sudden we seen a flash from the ceiling. There was a camera in the room. I don't know if they were watching us or not. I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel. The people at the desk were suspicious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Zee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The front desk people (owners) were very rude. We arrived and there were 4 people sitting in the front desk area. The lady barely grunted at us. I gave her our name and she shoved a card and pen at me, didn't even bother asking me to fill it out or to speak to me. She shoved a key at me, while the three other people behind the desk glared at us, and said XXX room number. They spoke a language other than English and continued to speak that language the whole time we were at the desk, completely ignoring us. Breakfast was a joke. I went down at 9:00 am. There were 2 individually wrapped cinnamon rolls from a box, like a Little Debbie snack cake. There was a warm pitcher of milk for cereal. The cereal was in a big plastic container that had been sitting out since the day before. There was an empty pitcher of what looked like orange juice. There was warm coffee, no fresh coffee. It was disgusting. My husband refused to eat there. I would not recommend this hotel at all. It smelled so bad in the hallway it was nauseating. The room smelled nearly as bad but it seemed like they had at least put an air freshener in the room. We will never go back. I don't like paying money to people who treat me like I am beneath them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The room was generally clean, except if you looked closely, for example the clothing rack hadn't been dusted in quite a while. We did not get a wakeup call on our last morning which was an issue since we were registered to be on a birdwatching hike at 7 am. The most disappointing was the breakfast - they had cereal, coffee (no tea) and a toaster - nothing to put in it, just a toaster. We went out to a grocery store and bought bread and peanut butter so we could have breakfast. It was cheap, though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
11.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
270 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
13.5 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater

Address: 633 N Main St, Suffolk, VA 23434-4450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range: £41 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Suffolk Tidewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing