We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious mismatch between building outside appearance and room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Suffolk
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Riverview, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Serious mismatch between building outside appearance and room quality”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The ONLY reason we stayed was because our water pump went out and we needed to be able to take showers to go to work...within 5 minutes of being there my husband was approached by another guest asking if he wanted to by drugs...the towels while clean were stained with what looked like greasy foot prints/mud stains...the extra pillow was found in a draw that had stick stuff inside of it...the counter top in the sink area had a filmy and streaky appearance to it as it had been cleaned with a dirty rag...the toilet ran every 3-5 minutes all night...the pillows were horrible and both my husband I woke up with massive migraines. The front staff writes down you entire card number, expirations date and security code...yeah I cancelled that card and requested a new one after the charge posted...at check out the front staff wasn't there so I called the number on the "If you need front staff call..." I had to call it twice to get someone to answer and then when they did they asked what hotel I was staying at...Seriously???? I'm truly surprised that Days Inn would allow this hotel to operate as a Days Inn. I honestly don't know if I'd ever stay at a Days Inn ever again because of this one.

Room Tip: A tip to help choose a good room? My tip would be don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    11
    19
    63
See reviews for
44
20
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have never in my life been treated with so much disrespect and absolutely terrible customer service. The Suffolk Days Inn is a horrible representation of the Days Inn name and they should be ashamed to have this place and people represent them. I booked a room over the phone at approximately 9:06am on 7/4/2014 using my credit card. I talked to a foreign male who is apparently "boss man". Everything was fine and the total cost came to $91.00. I told him I'd be arriving around noon and he said that's fine. On the way to this location I was informed of a family emergency and immediately had to turn around and head back home. At approximately 10:14am I called this Days Inn back and a younger sounding man answered the phone. I told him my situation and informed him I had to cancel my reservation. He asked did I book online or verbally through the phone. I informed him verbally through the phone. He then began talking to someone else in the background and said "this guy may a reservation verbally with boss man and needs to cancel". A foreign woman then picked up the phone and began speaking broken English. She rudely asked "what's the problem"? I told her I need to cancel and before I could finish talking she cut me off and her exact words were.. "It doesn't matter, we are charging your card and you've already been explained this bye" and hung up on me. I immediately called right back at 10:16am and asked her why she hung up on me? She stated that she has customers at the counter and told me to call back around 1 and ask the boss man if I can cancel the reservation and get a refund. This particular Days Inn cancellation policy on THEIR website states that if you cancel before 4:00pm on the date of your reservation you will be refunded your money in full. This place is absolutely ridiculous. I will be calling and emailing Days Inn corporate and demand an explanation to the behavior of this establishment which represents their brand. I also will be disputing the charge and possibly seeking legal representation for the simple fact that their words and their policy which is clearly stated on their website contradict each other. My advice is to stay as far away from this place as you can and due to the behavior of this place I will never in my life even attempt to stay at another Days Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koatom00723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room was old but seemed clean,however there was a dead cockroach in the bathroom. If it wasn't so late and we were so tired we would have left. As it was i did not sleep well. Also morning coffee was cold. We will not be staying at a days Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We travel extensively, and we have never been treated with such utter disrespect as we had when we stayed at Days Inn, Suffolk, VA! Upon arriving, I presented the owner a copy of my reservation, for three nights, which I had made via Wyndham at a discounted rate. She informed me that she charged $20 more a night, and immediately doubled the tax on the reservation. She seemed determined to find any additional fees to add to our bill, including our children, which "stay for free" at Days Inns! She presented me with an "information" card, in which she proceeded to write my credit card and security numbers on. At this point, I was beyond furious, but went to our room. I returned shortly and informed her that I wanted the difference returned. She, begrudgingly, refunded the difference. She, apparently, lives on the premises, because she is the only one that comes to the desk, several, if not, numerous minutes after you ring the bell. Each, and every time, she greets you with a reprehensible demeanor, often in monosyllables! We had to return home after the second night, and informed her at noon, that we were going to have to leave the following morning and needed to cancel our reservation for the last night. Any hotel that we have ever stayed at, has always reimbursed us when we have cancelled prior to 4:00 pm. She refused, because "she was already giving us a discount on the room". Please, please, please, reconsider staying here! There is a very nice Econolodge across the road, along with several others, 2 miles in town. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The treatment alone, completely ruined our visit to VA.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank 997SusanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If you like room decor when nothing matches except for the cigarette burns, in a no smoking room, then this is the place for you. The extra $15 pet fee was not mention on the site so I paid over a 100 dollars for this junk. I should have stayed at LaQuinta.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
258 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
14.9 mi away
Country Host Inn
Country Host Inn
#2 of 4 in Franklin
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Suffolk

Property: Knights Inn Suffolk
Address: 1526 Holland Rd, Suffolk, VA 23434-6517 (Formerly Days Inn Suffolk)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Suffolk 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing