We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever..dont stay here”
Review of Motel 6 Suffolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Suffolk
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever..dont stay here”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We love Quality Inn's so we chose to stay here..It started out great with the manager giving a contractors rate of 50.00..plus 25 for each dog..So we stayed for a Week as we travel 20 days plus a month with business..then we got our room..small, smelled kinda like burnt hair..but we opened the door aired it out..they had a pool but it was closed, good breakfast and then we woke up on day 2 and it went down hill..No towels in the room.We were told to call the desk and request it daily so the next day we did and we were told that at a weekly rate they didnt clean or furnish clean towels...with trash and dirty towels by day 5 we heard an explosion and saw sparks and black smoke.The air/furnace blew up..we called the desk..after 3 hrs we asked for a new room and were told housekeeping would have to see it first..I told them it was not healthy for us or our animals to be around the smoke beside us not wanting our belongings ruined as it was spraying out freon..they put is in the room next door..we could still smell the burning smell..the very next day they had rented the room to someone else..we heard it making the same noises it did before it caught on fire and told the guest nextdoor to be careful..they complained checked out when they were told they couldnt move..We then got a call to our room warning us not to speak to other guests or we could leave. We left early also..when we tried to get our deposit back we were told that they were keeping it because "WE" were responsible for the heating/air unit first room..And.by the way even with thick black smoke from plastic being on fire the alarm nor the sprinklers never went off..The room was only re-sheeted and vaccuumed..they were in the room fixing it for 15min. Rm 149 is a death trap..Im calling the fire dept. next..Dont be decieved by the outward apperance..

Room Tip: Dont stay here sprinklers and smoke alarms dont work when airconditioner caught on fire..dont use ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carmellacorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your worst review.but we wish all these things you said were the truth and if they were then why did you stayed for 7 days? And then you requested to extend your stay and we could not extend it because you had two dogs and trashed the room which you waere staying from the past 7 days with your dogs. when you were checked inn you said that you have one dog and you will keep the dog in your truck. you also said that you will take it with you to work. we found out that you had two dogs and you lock them in the room all day long. when checking into the hotel you were supose to let the front desk know that you had two dog and you were going to keep them in the room. And after hidding the second dog you came to the front and used the F word when you were told that the price of the room for one night was different then the weekly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    9
    12
    23
See reviews for
25
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Recent stay, Feb 2012. Finished business in Norfolk, seemed good idea to get a little away from the city for morning drive west. I must admit, front desk personnel were very polite and efficient. My first assigned room had the stopper from the sink sitting on the counter, should have been a sign. Brushed my teeth and all kinds of glob came up out of the drain, disgusting, water would not go down. Second room seemed ok, but as I showered I noticed an old soap bar in the tub with hairs etc. Sad but true, Quality Inn's and all these older properties with outside access are falling way behind time. Spend a little more and go to a Holiday Inn Exp or Comfort inn, never ever again at a Quality Property, don't care if it is free.

Room Tip: Not the backside building, seems to have been forgotten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a very average place to stay and in many respects does an ok job i.e. cleanish, staff friendly and at the price point (which is the point) represents value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights after driving through the area from Canada on our way to the Outer Banks, NC. There are several hotels in the area however many of them appeared to be rather run down and did not seem to be in the best area. We did not make prior arrangements for accomodations so after trying to secure a room at the Hilton only to find they were fully booked we were recommended by their front desk staff to stay here as it was the next best choice. Upon pulling up we discovered that this was in fact the same hotel we had stayed at 5 years earlier only then it was the Holiday Inn. The rates were reasonable and they even gave us a reduced rate from their standard walk-up rate. The rooms were spacious and included the mini-fridge and microwave which is great when travelling with little ones. The furnishings were modern and the hotel was pretty well-maintained. The room was clean however it could have used a good overall scrubbing as the walls and doors were a bit dirty and I didn't feel the bathtub was clean enough for me to want to bath my children in so we opted to shower them instead. The continental breakfast provided lots of good options including a scrambled eggs and sausages and the dining room was spacious and inviting. The pool was great and there was lots of seating with tables and umbrellas. There was lots of parking which was good as we were pulling a utility trailer. The hotel was in a good area which felt safe as it was on the outskirts of the main city centre. Overall we had a really good stay and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truely appreciate each and every guest that chooses to leave their comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future. You and your family were truely a pleasure to work with and we enjoyed having you with us. Again, thank you for your time you took to leave this review and hope you take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

This is the best hotel that i have ever stayed at in suffolk the staff has made every visit there very special the rooms are clean and theyhave always made sure that all my needs were met i would like to say thank you to Sara Mrks and the rest of the staff for making evey visit a great one.

A.DERRY

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mememe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you very much for your review. It is guests like you that every hotel strives for. We appreciate every guest who comes and goes from this property and give a special thanks to those of you who we would call "regulars". Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Do not let their website mislead you. This is not your usual Quality Inn or Choice Hotels. There are several rooms rented by employees that work with my husband and the rooms are nasty. the furniture is dirty and stained. The ceilings appear to have water damage as there are very noticable patched areas. Our mini-fridge and microwave are very stained. I bleached them before we used them.The hotel offered us a reasonable weekly rate. However, management eventually informed us, extended stay guests have different rules than other guests. We were told we can only get towels/washcloths, etc., every other day. However, once we explained to them, we are paying guests and we do take daily showers, management gave in to our request for linens. Although, this is not a smoke free facility, we are not allowed to smoke at the pool..Our room directly faces the pool and smoking is allowed. We have no choice but to stay for the next few days, as we paid in advance and cannot get a refund. We will not return to this hotel if at all possible. I've traveled alot with my husband over the years and never had any problems with hotels/motels like this. The pool is the best attraction offered here. The staff is nice but, seem to watch the guests too closely for comfort. You feel as though you are being followed. very uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tlc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
We keep all of our guest's best interests in mind. Yes, the property has a few smoking rooms, but we keep in mind that some/most guests have small children, allergies or just don't like to be around smoke. So yes, the swimming pool area is a non-smoking area and we are not ashamed to enforce this rule. Also, as an exterior property, we take our guest's security very seriously. So yes, we are not ashamed to say that we watch our property closely. Why this guest says the rooms are bad, we do not know. They have stated to us a couple times now that they loved our property like their own house. They have been staying here for many months, left for a different job, and then came right back. This review has been posted directly after asking them to leave the pool area while they were smoking and drinking. So, our only guess is that they were upset at that time about our rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Yes, the location of this hotel is PERFECT, right on RT 460 East( no turns or detours)
However, the clealiness of the hotel was OK ( just)
No ice machines near the rooms
Moldy spots on the walls in the bed areas and bathrooms.
The staff- spooky!
I had to be/get aggresive with the staff( Not my way of life)
Because, I had eldery travelers with me to attend a funeral and the family needed to leave earlier than planned and we did NOT have time to get my eldely father out of the car and into the hotel through the reception area and into the dining area to eat breakfast so my dad could take his medicine.
The staff had a fit! Because I needed to take breakfast and GO...
Handicapp room only had bars in the shower.

Room Tip: Go to Rt 58A where other options are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedikatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
10.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
12.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#31 of 42 in Chesapeake
74 reviews
12.8 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Suffolk

Property: Motel 6 Suffolk
Address: 2864 Pruden Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23434-7231 (Formerly Quality Inn Suffolk)
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Suffolk 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing