We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Ever”
Review of Motel 6 Suffolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Suffolk
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Troy, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Ever”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is by far the worst Quality Inn I have ever stayed in. The room was dirty, I didn't dare sleep with the bedspread on the bed. The pillows smelled like loads of sweaty heads had used them. Needless to say I slept in my clothes with no pillow. The room had bed bugs. I wanted to take a shower and took one look at the tub and decided I could stand one more day without one. I did learn a lesson from this, that I WILL NEVER stay in a Hotel as bad as this one again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    9
    12
    22
See reviews for
24
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was delivering a boat in the area and needed a hotel with large vehicle parking, this hotel has a large gravel lot adjacent. This is an older property, former Holiday Inn, it appears they have been remodeling. My room seemed clean and had a small refrigerator, and for a one night stay, it served the purpose. There is a Truckstop with a restaurant and convenience store next door. They do have a complimentary hot breakfast, I thought it was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enduroride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here about 2 months ago and wasn't very pleased but I had to come back to the area and the Quality Inn was all that I could afford so I figured I would just deal with it again.

I arrived at the hotel, I could see they have put some effort into their landscaping. I checked in, the front desk staff was very friendly. I went to my room and opened the door. WOW! I was blown away! The room had been painted, the carpet was clean, there was a brand new mattress, flat screen TV, Microwave, fridge and a cushioned chair. I was very surprised! I very much enjoyed my stay this time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ashymillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSnyderVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to leave a review with such positive feedback.

Our staff members have been working hard over the last few weeks to make all the improvements that you mentioned.

We look foward to having stay at our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I come here each year to spend a week visiting my family in Suffolk. I always stay at this hotel. This year when I entered my room I was totally suprised! They have done so much remodeling. New mattresses, new chairs, new flatscreen televisions and fresh paint. They still offered me the same great rate. I will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback!

We are glad that you returned to our property and were able to experience the improvements that our staff has diligently been working these past few weeks. We are going to continue working on upgrading our property.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I came back to this hotel because of the great price and location. When we arrived the front desk lady Kimberly was very nice and recommended a fantastic place for dinner. When we went to our room we ran into the housekeeper who was also very nice. The room was clean when we got in it. It had just been repainted the carpets had been cleaned. There was also brand new beds! They were so comfortable. There was a new shower head in the shower which was nice too. It was such an improvement since last time we were here. Keep it up Quality Inn. We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank You Mrs Snyder for the words of encouragement. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the new beds. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stopped here bc we were tired of driving for the day and thought cheap is good since we just needed a few hours sleep...big mistake picking here! We were assigned a rm on the first floor even after I asked about the first floor being musty bc I have real bad allergies and were told no, it was not musty at all. It was sooo musty that sitting on the bed actually made my butt damp! It stunk and was dirty with cracks in the walls and sagging beds.
Now being exhausted, we thought maybe we could just switch to an upstairs rm but when we walked in that one, it was just as bad (not as musty but smelly and falling apart) and the air conditioner was broken!
Took me almost an hour of dealing with the girl to get a receipt stating we were not staying so that my credit card would be repaid...and they had the audacity to make us wait for someone to check the rm to make sure WE didn't damage it in the whole 5 minutes we were there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbir5347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are sorry that your stay here was not enjoyable. We wanted to let you know that since the last time you stayed, we have started remodeling our rooms by tearing the walls out and replacing the sheet rock. We have also treated any mold that we found that was causing the musty smell. We have also deep cleaned the carpets in each room.

We hope that next time you are in the area, you will come back and visit us and experience the changes that we have made.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The mold infested room sent my daughter & wife to the emergency room. After 2 nights of sleeping in the room we discovered it over the bed, in the shower, and in the fridge. After discovering the problem and realizing that the shortness of breathe we were experiencing was due to the mold exposure, we checked out and demanded a refund. This Quality Inn is by far the worst one of I've ever stayed in. Complete dump with poor management.

Location was right off the highway and very desolate. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room had a musty odor, and the towels were yellow which is what happens when you mix the smoking room towels with non smoking room towels. The air conditioner knobs fell off when you turned them and the whole front panel came apart... cheap!

The mattress had metal coils sticking up into our backs. Two words, 'pillow top!' Not that changing the mattress would help.

Corporate Quality Inn should conduct an audit into this particular location and shut it down!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastboundown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are sorry to see that you say you did not enjoy your stay with us, however after staying with us for 2 nights (in the room with the mold in it) you extended your stay an additional night. If you room was that bad, why would you have stayed for an additional night?

On your 3rd day you then mentioned the mold and smell of mildew. The front desk agent offered to move you out of that room, you declined. We even gave you a refund for your 3rd night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffolk
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
10.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
17.4 mi away
Country Host Inn
Country Host Inn
#2 of 4 in Franklin
6 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Suffolk

Property: Motel 6 Suffolk
Address: 2864 Pruden Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23434-7231 (Formerly Quality Inn Suffolk)
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Suffolk 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing