We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Suffolk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Suffolk
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

What a misnomer. We reserved a first floor room due to my wife's disability. When we checked in, there were no first floor rooms available and no record of our request. Additionally, the hotel has no elevator, but that was only the beginning. When we got in the room, it had no desk or work table. TV remote did not work (manager fixed this), a glue trap was visible, ice machine on our floor did not work, pool was closed for the day due to maintenance. Rates were high for the accommodations we received.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    9
    11
    22
See reviews for
24
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is by far the worst Quality Inn I have ever stayed in. The room was dirty, I didn't dare sleep with the bedspread on the bed. The pillows smelled like loads of sweaty heads had used them. Needless to say I slept in my clothes with no pillow. The room had bed bugs. I wanted to take a shower and took one look at the tub and decided I could stand one more day without one. I did learn a lesson from this, that I WILL NEVER stay in a Hotel as bad as this one again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was delivering a boat in the area and needed a hotel with large vehicle parking, this hotel has a large gravel lot adjacent. This is an older property, former Holiday Inn, it appears they have been remodeling. My room seemed clean and had a small refrigerator, and for a one night stay, it served the purpose. There is a Truckstop with a restaurant and convenience store next door. They do have a complimentary hot breakfast, I thought it was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enduroride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here about 2 months ago and wasn't very pleased but I had to come back to the area and the Quality Inn was all that I could afford so I figured I would just deal with it again.

I arrived at the hotel, I could see they have put some effort into their landscaping. I checked in, the front desk staff was very friendly. I went to my room and opened the door. WOW! I was blown away! The room had been painted, the carpet was clean, there was a brand new mattress, flat screen TV, Microwave, fridge and a cushioned chair. I was very surprised! I very much enjoyed my stay this time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ashymillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSnyderVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to leave a review with such positive feedback.

Our staff members have been working hard over the last few weeks to make all the improvements that you mentioned.

We look foward to having stay at our property again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I come here each year to spend a week visiting my family in Suffolk. I always stay at this hotel. This year when I entered my room I was totally suprised! They have done so much remodeling. New mattresses, new chairs, new flatscreen televisions and fresh paint. They still offered me the same great rate. I will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback!

We are glad that you returned to our property and were able to experience the improvements that our staff has diligently been working these past few weeks. We are going to continue working on upgrading our property.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I came back to this hotel because of the great price and location. When we arrived the front desk lady Kimberly was very nice and recommended a fantastic place for dinner. When we went to our room we ran into the housekeeper who was also very nice. The room was clean when we got in it. It had just been repainted the carpets had been cleaned. There was also brand new beds! They were so comfortable. There was a new shower head in the shower which was nice too. It was such an improvement since last time we were here. Keep it up Quality Inn. We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Snyder13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank You Mrs Snyder for the words of encouragement. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the new beds. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stopped here bc we were tired of driving for the day and thought cheap is good since we just needed a few hours sleep...big mistake picking here! We were assigned a rm on the first floor even after I asked about the first floor being musty bc I have real bad allergies and were told no, it was not musty at all. It was sooo musty that sitting on the bed actually made my butt damp! It stunk and was dirty with cracks in the walls and sagging beds.
Now being exhausted, we thought maybe we could just switch to an upstairs rm but when we walked in that one, it was just as bad (not as musty but smelly and falling apart) and the air conditioner was broken!
Took me almost an hour of dealing with the girl to get a receipt stating we were not staying so that my credit card would be repaid...and they had the audacity to make us wait for someone to check the rm to make sure WE didn't damage it in the whole 5 minutes we were there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbir5347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmarksVA397, Manager at Motel 6 Suffolk, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are sorry that your stay here was not enjoyable. We wanted to let you know that since the last time you stayed, we have started remodeling our rooms by tearing the walls out and replacing the sheet rock. We have also treated any mold that we found that was causing the musty smell. We have also deep cleaned the carpets in each room.

We hope that next time you are in the area, you will come back and visit us and experience the changes that we have made.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
11.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
12.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Suffolk

Property: Motel 6 Suffolk
Address: 2864 Pruden Blvd, Suffolk, VA 23434 (Formerly Quality Inn Suffolk)
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Suffolk 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Suffolk Hotel Suffolk
Suffolk Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing