We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Suffolk
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Do not stay in this hotel!! The place is dirty, dirty washcloths in the bathtub, pulled down the bedspread and found multiple spiders, floors and walls filthy! The people were rude. This is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!! Gross!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60893Sarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I didn't expect high luxury at an EconoLodge, but this was pretty basic and needs some attention. The room itself was clean and had fridge, microwave, hair dryer. But the sink produced only hot water (had to put some in the fridge for taking pills in the morning). The shower head not great and there were water pressure issues. The breakfast buffet consisted of 2 mini bagels, 3 muffins, and some cereal. Had to ask for a tea bag. The people were friendly enough, and helped when I locked myself out of the room. It's all a little ragged around the edges, but the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

When we showed up and walked in the room we were in complete disgust... the room looked as if it hadnt been cleaned in months... dirt and I mean DIRT and grime was EVERYWHERE... we were afraid to touch anything... we went to the store and bought lysol disinfectant cleaner and rags... we scrubbed that room from top to bottom and the rags looked hideous... they were completely black... we found a dead roach in the cupboard in our kitchen section... there was rolled up toilet paper stuck in the peephole in the door... i even took the the lysol and sprayed clear down the wall behind the bed praying that if there were any bedbugs that it would kill them.... I really contemplated staying in the truck for that week... when I went down for breakfast which was a half hour past opening time for breakfast the doors were still locked so i knocked and the woman came to the door in her pajamas and socks... when i walked in and went past the desk there is a door to the left to go behind the counter which she left open and there was a matress on the floor back there... assuming they sleep on the floor... they can hardly speak any english.. getting serviced was a mission in itself.. the first day i stood there for a good 5-10 min asking what repeatedly because i couldnt understand what they were saying and they couldnt understand me... i finally just shook my head no and closed the door... we travel for business and some of the guys stayed down the road at the days inn which is owned by the same people and they battled cockroaches the entire time there plus one guy had muddy footprints all over his bed... i would highly recommend if you're staying in this area that you find another hotel other than the econolodge and the days inn... it will be a nightmare for you trust me... best part of my trip were a couple of kitties that were outside my room that i would feed... =)

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer4121988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Ok we was the only four hours and my friend started too break out in red bumps so we ignored thinking that maybe it was whatever they washed there. Cloths with.........so them we discovered on my arm a black jumpy thing it was a FLEE OMG I WOULD NOT AND I DO MEAN WOULD NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krystalyn3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here 4th of July weekend. Terrible service from the night staff. They are stingy with towels. The clientele is shady and the continental breakfast is all but non-existent. Myself and my daughter have been noticing welts and bumps since then and in researching the internet it appears we have been bitten by bedbugs. I pray we didn't bring them home!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank connierb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
14 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
16 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Suffolk

Address: 1503 Holland Rd, Suffolk, VA 23434-6516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Suffolk 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located on Rt. 58 on the west side of Suffolk. Several restaurants are within walking distance and shopping is just a short drive away. All guest rooms feature upgraded cable TV featuring HBO, in-room coffee, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. Ask about kitchen efficiency rooms for extended stays. We offer complimentary continental breakfast each day, free newspaper and free wireless internet service throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing