We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meadowbrook Farm is our favorite destination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffolk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Suffolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Leaving historical Suffolk, we have a brief but lovely drive in the country. As if from a novel, there are manicured green meadows, decorated with majestic trees, birds, colorful bushes, and wildflowers. The mansion is as welcoming as the hosts, Debbie and Allen Bryant. This peaceful 'bed and breakfast' always satisfies our need for fresh air and country ambiance. There is a ground level suite in a 'cabin' that we chose, as there is a patio to take in the evening or enjoy coffee in the morning. If the setting and comfort isn't a draw, the fabulous breakfast will be. The Bryants humbly serve the best breakfast ever. Debbie makes the muffins and biscuits that begin a multi course feast. They have the fresh eggs and garden treats blended into a delightful menu. My husband enjoys the variety of each breakfast. We go back for ALL of this at Meadowbrook Farm, each year.

Room Tip: Each room has it's unique decor, a queen size bed, wi-fi, and flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your gracious review. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived on a cold and rainy night for a one night stay at this wonderful B&B. Allen was very welcoming and we really enjoyed our time in one of the cottages.
The next morning, we had an excellent and delicious breakfast. Allen and Debbie are such gracious hosts. After all, this is their home that you are staying in, and they were so welcoming and really enjoyed seeing that their guests were taken care of. The breakfast is amazing and the coffee is great and your cup is always being re-filled. We visited this past January and we would love to visit again in the summertime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thanks for your kind words. We enjoyed meeting you both and we are glad you felt so welcomed. Please come see us again soon! Allen & Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Looking to get away? This is the place for you. Our cottage was cozy and welcoming. Breakfast was wonderful and the owners made us feel like friends of the family rather than guests. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ryans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thanks for your kind words. We were so glad to be part of your surprise. Please come see us again soon! Allen & Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This bed and breakfast is one of the newest members of the Bed & Breakfast Association of Virginia. Debbie and Allen Bryant treat you like family. My in-laws watched the children, and gave me and my wife one night out on the town for us to relax and enjoy ourselves. We chose the Meadowbrook Farms Bed and Breakfast mainly based on the reviews and because it was only an hour or so from our house. The entire experience was outstanding: the accommodations, the quietness, the atmosphere, the hospitality, the value, the food. I only wish I could have stayed longer. Everything about this place is first class. Thank you for a great time and I hope to get back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Mike,

Thank you so much for your gracious review! We enjoyed meeting you and Lisa and hosting you at Meadowbrook. We hope to see you again soon for a future stay.

Allen & Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A multiple course breakfast with dessert; just one part of an unforgettable stay. This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast but I enjoyed everything offered. I was greeted at the door with cookies and everything was perfect from beginning to end.

Even if you've stayed at many different bed and breakfasts I definitely recommend staying here. It will be part of a vacation you'll never forget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Hi Eric,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad your first B&B stay was with us and we hope to see you again for a future visit.

Debbie & Allen Bryant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My partner and I have stayed in many B&Bs in the U.S. and elsewhere so I can say with some confidence that this is a truly memorable place that is well worth the visit. The owners, Debbie and Allen Bryant, couldn’t be nicer – friendly, helpful, funny, smart, but never intrusive. Their little farm is terrific. The grounds are dotted with original buildings, some of which have been renovated, notably one that has been turned into an all-weather game room with a pool table, dry bar and board games. Debbie and Allen keep chickens and grow their own vegetables, herbs, pecans and fruit. The breakfasts that result from this fresh food (OK, just the eggs from the chickens) are extraordinary. During a three-day stay, we enjoyed Debbie’s “cranbrosia,” fresh strawberry soup to die for, pumpkin-pecan waffles, crabmeat and broccoli quiche, rosemary potatoes, homemade turkey sausage (because Debbie found store-bought turkey sausage to be inferior) fig and apple jam, sweet potato biscuits, blueberry muffins… I can hardly remember all the details. Leave LOTS of room for breakfast because they also serve dessert! We had key lime pie, cheesecake and plum crisp on the days we stayed. Breakfast was a work of art, even the morning that the waffle iron died. Our plates were graced with flowers and herbs from their gardens and the table was always formally set with vintage china and crystal.

Every afternoon, they provided a carafe of wine (you can select from their list) and cheese. If you’re still out and about, they will leave it in your room with the cheese plate in the fridge, if you have a room with a fridge. And they add special touches such as napkins and wineglasses embossed with the name of their B&B – an indication of the personal pride they take in being innkeepers.

We stayed in the cottage, which is the renovated kitchen from the original farmhouse. Because of the state of that building when they bought the property, only the ceilings and the cooking fireplace are still original. (Watch out for the Patty Playpal in a wedding dress who stands in the fireplace if you’re prone to nightmares!) According to Allen, they propped up the top of the old building and constructed the rest below. Hence, the place feels both old and new. The original farmhouse was demolished years ago and the new house dates to 1948 – so it, too, has elements of the 19th and 20th centuries.

While Chuckatuck, Va., isn’t much, Meadowbrook Farm is a great base from which to explore the Great Dismal Swamp, which was our goal, as birders. And you’re also close to other interesting attractions. We also visited Hog Island wildlife management area (be prepared: your car will be thoroughly searched by security guys at the Surry nuclear power plant) and Chippoke Plantation, which includes a fascinating farm museum full of all kinds of old farming equipment and a mansion.

The Bryants are happy to recommend nearby restaurants and other attractions. Just ask. It seems there’s very little they don’t know or won’t research on your behalf.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntheLake63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you so much for your gracious review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Quick update on the waffle iron - we later discovered it was the circuit breaker, so our waffle iron is not dead after all! We did appreciate your patience that morning, and we would be delighted to host you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

After six months of being either in a hospital bed, or stuck in our den due to medical issues, I decided to treat my husband to this little gem of a Bed and Breakfast. We had a great time. Allen and Debbie were wonderful hosts and the breakfast on both days was to die for. The first morning breakfast was baked cinnamon, nutmeg pears with a topping of yogurt, French Marmalade toast with pecans, hash brown potatoes and sausage links, and for breakfast dessert was homemade cream puffs, and did I mentioned the homemade sweet potato biscuits and blueberry muffins with homemade apple butter and fig preserves, served with juices and coffee or hot chocolate or milk. Wonderful to wake up too. The second morning breakfast was just as awesome. Debbie and Allen prepared and served a mixed fruit salad with apples, watermelon, cantaloupe, pears, honeydew melon, topped with yogurt and walnuts. Then we had homemade Potato skins egg omelet with cheese, green pepper and onions with salsa and sour cream and bacon. And for the dessert was a homemade Baked apple crisp. And of course homemade sweet potato biscuits and blueberry muffins, and banana nut muffins with homemade apple butter and fig preserves. The accommodations were more than adequate, Warm and inviting to say the very least. The grounds of the Bed and Breakfast is so beautiful and well manicured. It was nice to wake up in the morning with the sun rising and watching the country life starting to began it's day.. Make sure and ask about "Trouble" the chicken. You are sure to get a kick out of this story....Such a beautiful,serene place to get away and relax.. I would recommend Meadowbrook Farms Bed and Breakfast , at twice the price, as your first choice to spend a weekend away from home...or stay for a week while you are traveling. The timetable for breakfasts varies to accommodate your schedule, It just so happened that on our visit,we were fortunate enough to be able to have breakfast with some other visitors. There was a great family from Maryland, that came to town to pick up their new puppy with their two daughters, and another "local" couple there to getaway from the "rat race" just as we were. It was nice to meet some of the other guests that were also staying for the weekend, and share different experiences and lifestyles..All in all it was a more than pleasurable experience and we will return the next time we have a chance to get away, and will highly recommend to all of our friends and family. Thank you Allen and Debbie for a great experience that wont soon be forgotten!! Ya'll are the best

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgfdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suffolk hotels
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Suffolk Riverfront
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Suffolk
Hampton Inn Suffolk
#1 of 12 in Suffolk
294 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Suffolk-Chesapeake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Suffolk
7.5 mi away
Courtyard Suffolk Chesapeake
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 700 Kings Hwy, Suffolk, VA 23432-1110
Region: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Suffolk
Price Range: £80 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 30 acres in the historic Chuckatuck area of Suffolk, VA. Originally part of a 200 acre working farm, many original structures remain today. Accomodations include two rooms on the second floor of the main residence, and an adjacent cottage includes one room and one suite. Gourmet breakfasts feature local grown products including fresh Meadowbrook eggs. Rates $110 - $140. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing