We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Jamestowne”

Chippokes Plantation State Park
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Surry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located only 6 miles from Surry Courthouse and 15 miles from Colonial Williamsburg and Victorian Smithfield, the 1,947-acre Chippokes Plantation State Park invites visitors to explore thousands of years of natural and Native American and over 394 years of African and European American histories while basking on James River sun-kissed beaches, relaxing amidst nature and a roaring campfire, and visiting other regional attractions. In the same year Africans were first brought to Jamestown, in 1619 Captain William Powell was granted his patent for Chippokes Plantation. By 1626 Chippokes Plantation became a working farm and to this day remains an operational agricultural enterprise. Between April and October visitors may tour the 1854 Jones-Stewart Victorian Mansion and eight, beautifully-appointed exhibit rooms showcase how people decorated and lived in the years before the American Civil War. The Mansion hosts periodic Hearth Cooking Demonstrations at its detached Summer Kitchen. Please check for program details. During Summer months take guided walking tours of "Quarter Lane". Located adjacent to the 1816 Antebellum Riverhouse visitors follow in the footsteps of enslaved African Americans and their contributions to building America during this informative African-American Heritage Program. Please check for program details. Overnight guests may choose between four cabins and fifty water and electric campsites. Reservations are recommended.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Close to Jamestowne”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Huge spacious campsites, at least in the RV section. Price is the same whether you pick a site with electricity or not so I opted for the RV area as opposed to the uneven smaller tent sites. Easy to get to Jamestowne via the free freely across the mile wide James River. I was there after Labor Day so had my choice of spots. Laundry room, with two washers and two dryers ($1.00 per load) is part of the nice clean restroom facility - complete with hot showers. Campground hosts were friendly and not invasive.
Driving around the huge plantation grounds was nice in the evening. Cabins are located far apart from one another out in the farm land. They seemed to have a beautiful view of a well maintained plantation.
Only drawback to camping in Virginia state parks is that they charge $5 extra for a pet . . . in the campground!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClipCurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Chippoke your way into this park!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The place is beautiful and the campsites are big and secluded. The swimming pool is HUGE and there is hidden river access along the bike trails. Great place to ride your bike because there are big hills that you can really catch some speed on. All of the rangers are really laid back and friendly as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simonssimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More fun than expected”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our family is trying to visit all of the Virginia State Parks. The next for us on the list was Chippokes Plantation. My husband enjoys the parks with a historical focus so I brought him along. I was prepared for an afternoon of taking pictures and reading historical markers. However, this park was much more than that. We really had an enjoyable time. First, this park is very stroller friendly with long walk ways (along the river) paved. Second, there were two playgrounds (one for toddlers and one for older kids). Swimming in the river was an option. However, if that was not appealing there was a pool. The historical area offered a forestry and farm museum, a working farm with live animals, and the expected historic buildings. We regretted arriving so late in the day on a Sunday. We did not get to do everything that we'd like to do. We plan to return the next time that we are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Spend a Weekend at Chippokes”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We camped for four nights at Chippokes Plantation State Park. They offer lots to do: Olympic-sized swimming pool, hiking trails, campground, forestry museum and the 1850s mansion. Arrive early on a weekend day to see the operation of the sawmill. The campground is clean and well-run. The A loop for tents and trailers has plenty of shade. The B loop has drive-through concrete pads for larger trailers and RVs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Pop1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crittenden,virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“come for the day, tour mansion, play in pool, have picnic on the river”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Chippokes Plantation is in the state park. You can tour the mansion for free, beautiful place, all furnished with a tour guide. I think the mansion is open from 1 to 5 for tours. Stopped at the gift shop in one of the buildings behind the mansion, there is also a renovatated packard car in the building. Had lots to chose from, with great prices, I got some gifts to take home. There is a big pool , picnic tables on the james river, walking trails, and a large farm museum with lots of buildings to look at farm equipment. It was a great day. Was told they have a big festival the 3rd weekend in july called the pork, pine and peanut festival, I am coming back to that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippokes Plantation State Park also viewed

 

Been to Chippokes Plantation State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing