We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Cream and Blueberries!”
Review of College Run Farms

College Run Farms
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in Surry
Attraction details
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ice Cream and Blueberries!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The strawberry and vanilla ice creams were excellent. The blueberries were very abundant at the beginning of the season. This is a great stop, only a few miles from the ferry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at College Run Farms, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Thanks! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gone to the pumpkin patch!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Opening day for pumpkin picking. I thought that I was picking a lot of pumpkins until I saw the full truck next to me! They are so hard to resist with all the varieties. Bought a green lacy looking one. New this year. Sure I will have to go back tomorrow as forgot to pick a Cinderella. Oh and long island cheese. They taste the best ;-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at College Run Farms, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Thank you!:-) :-) :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Local's Favorite for fresh produce!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

From fresh corn and blueberries in the Summer to pumpkins and squash in the Fall, College Run Farms is a locals favorite. Folks from Smithfield and Williamsburg travel the extra miles to purchase fresh produce from the rich agricultural community of Surry County. When traveling through the area, stop-by College Run Farms.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at College Run Farms, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Thanks so much :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On The Farm”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I love picking my own fruits and vegetables. The set up is wonderful. Everyone who works there is so friendly. Great place to go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at College Run Farms, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Fresh food from the garden”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is the place we get all our fresh vegetables and fruit. They have the BEST STRAWBERRIES! Each year we look aat their website and anticipate their big, juicy ripe all the way thru berries. You can pick your own per quart or gallon for unbelivable prices. We pick gallons and freeze what we don't eat (which is hard to do)! The patches are full all the season as he rotates the rows and lets you know where the best berries are. Never steers you wrong. One perk is he makes the best homemade strawberry ice cream with waffle cones! Next comes blueberries, sweet picked or you pick. I freeze these also. Next several varities of corn that is sweet and you can pick or buy picked. Watermelons sweet and seedless. Chocolate or vanilla ice cream and when blueberries in blueberry ice cream as good as the strawberry. Canalopes and other local farmers have tomatoes, potatoes peppers etc. The open metal shed has picnic tables and a store with homemade bakery items, gifts etc. He was been farmer of the year in Virginia several times and knows how to get the best out of his soil and plants. In fall he has pumpkins. Don't be surprised to see buses of kids in the strawberry field or a mother taking pictures of children with red juice on their face and a smile on their face. Wonderful place! Wonderful prices! Wonderful fresh food!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at College Run Farms, responded to this review, 20 April 2017
Thanks for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to College Run Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing