We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay View Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tangier Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Motel(Reedville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regal Inn(Onley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
43
22
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
22
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsson davidthe entire islandmade to order breakfastb bblue crabbreakfast choicessweet potatosoft shell crabbed and breakfastgracious hostsshort walkeach morningfisherman's cornertangierhildacrockettaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If I could, I would give 5 stars for service and 3 for the accomodations, so I averaged it to 4. When we arrived the husband and son were in charge. They took excellent care, picking us and our luggage up at the ferry. Dropped us at a restaurant for dinner, picked us up afterwards and had our luggage in our room when we arrived. Also gave us a ride to the beach the next morning and had our luggage at the dock waiting for the ferry when we were ready to leave. The room was spotlessly clean, but small. The beds comfortable. Don't expect luxury, this is more grandma's guest room. The view of the sunset from the decks is outstanding. And breakfast alone is worth a visit, wonderful made to order omlettes, waffles and pancakes, with delicious potatoes and fresh fruit. Wifi is available in the main house only and don't expect much in the way of phone service on the island. Also Direct tv does not carry NBC, CBS or ABC. Yes, the Inn needs some attention, especially the grounds, but overall it was a very nice overnight stay with very helpful and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank th-bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our second visit to Bay View Inn and Tangier Island. We hope to visit as often as possible.
Maureen, Jim and their son David are the nicest hosts you could ask for. They're never in your way but are always available to chat/help if you need. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Their breakfast is incredible - David makes potatoes to die for (he always obliged my request for more :D) And Jim's omelets are what you'd wake up for on a vacation :)
We already went there "again" and will definitely go there again and again. There's not much to do on the island but we go there just to stay at Bay View Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerKimN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Maureen, Jim, and David are some of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet. I valued & loved the "boat side" golf cart limo service that picks up you and anything you need transported to your room. "Relaxing atmosphere" is an understatement, "accommodating hosts" is an understatement, personalized service as your breakfast choice is prepared especially and deliciously for you.
If you’re going to Tangier and spending the night this is the place to stay. I’m sure we will be back many times in the future.
Newlyweds - W & W

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be about equal; we were in room #7 and had no issues at all. The room was on the smaller side but had everything we needed and then some. I loved the shelf as soon as you walk in. It was great for emptying my pockets and storing small items(car keys and things we didn't need until the return trip).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on June 5th at the Bay View Inn and plan to go back later this summer! The hosts of this Inn (Jim, Maureen, & David) were just delightful in sharing their info and insights in visiting this lovely island. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a highlight as they personally prepared each of our breakfast choices. Our time spent there was a fun and wonderful experience and we felt we left Tangier Island having made 3 new friends! R. & R. Baker, Culpeper, VA

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Twoblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Bay View Inn offers a relaxing atmosphere with out a care in the world. Maureen, Jim and David are very accommodating and sensitive to their guests needs. The Inn offers clean comfortable rooms, and excellent views from the two story deck. A must see is the sun setting from the grounds! So glad we went to experienced this Virginia gem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliseT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews