We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Southside Motel & Marina
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southside Motel & Marina
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Boyfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip out of town with the kayaks. My neighbor had stayed at this motel before and said very good things about her experience so we decided to try it for ourselves.
The owner is delightful and very accommodating. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The room prices are extremely reasonable, therefore I didnt mind the dated decor at all. The pool at the property looked clean and inviting, but we were there to kayak and fish so we skipped the pool. I love that I could actually walk to the Dock from the back of the motel - we fished from the dock on Friday night until 2am without any worries. Local police stopped in and asked if we had any luck fishing - officers were very friendly and made me feel safe. Saturday we launched kayaks from the dock and caught nine cat fish - actually I didnt catch any but my bf did using squid for bait.
We will definitely return to this quaint little motel on the water. It had all the features that we could have hoped for at such an affordable price - king size bed, fridge and microwave. The owner's friendly disposition was the cherry on top.

Room Tip: Next time I will definitely choose a room poolside. We stayed two nights in a street facing room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

I've stayed here a many times in the past. It's the only motel with a pool and it's always clean. Would bring my kids here n have a ball all day. I stay here every time I'm in the area. Always clean and the owners are excellent. Guess u can't help the flies since it's so close

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My husband and I were in town for business, he had stayed here before in Summer '10. It is not new, interiors probably date back to the early 60's. It was quiet and clean. There are quite a lot of flies in the area, and yes, they came into the room. My husband said the pool was clean when there last. I loved the huge pink bathtub, lots of hot water made for a good nights sleep after a long days work.
You can walk down to the water & pier, and crab is you wanted.
Anything you would need is very near by.
It is owned by a nice Indian family who live on the premises.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

I needed one night since my son was at the Bayport Scout camp and I came down friday night for the campfire and drove home early Saturday morning. The room was reasonably clean. I did have a few flies in the room, but roadside motels can have this since the door opens into the parking lot. I would stay here again, mostly because the reviews of the other hotels in the area were horrible, and this place was good enough.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ppt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Gave 4 stars for the value. We arrived driving through town. Very dismayed with the appearance of the Days Inn. We drove here.

The place was good for the $50.00. Quite, clean and near the river. I believe, the family lives behind it.s

We stayed in a non-smoking rooms which are the closest to the quiet area with a glimpse of the river. I'd return although it wasn't the newest; it was a good and clean value.

Great town to visit. Go ask the locals about the cliff area to the east and the eagles!!! Antiques are great and quiet nice town!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RoseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#3 of 4 in Tappahannock
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Tappahannock VA
Super 8 Tappahannock VA
#2 of 4 in Tappahannock
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#2 of 3 in Tappahannock
1 reviews
0.5 mi away
Essex Inn
Essex Inn
#1 of 3 in Tappahannock
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Motel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Motel & Marina

Address: 910 South Church Lane, Tappahannock, VA 22560
Region: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Price Range: £38 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Southside Motel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing