We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super dooper!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eckhard's

Eckhard's
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Topping
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super dooper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The owner/chef is in the kitchen and his wife man's the door! Great combination, as they both care. The German background shows through with the excellent dishes from that Country which are served. The help is mostly country style with big smiles and big hellos! "Honey" all around! One of our guests, a former Governor, replied, "I am not honey". Boy is he right!
Can't think of any reason to stay away, on the contrary, every reason to get in there and try them out. The food and drink is exceptional.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eckhard's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nice atmosphere and the staff pays attention to details while hustling to meet your needs. Decent German food and a super prime rib on Fri and Sat. Reservations recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank V Wayne Speedy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“German is not the Main Act Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We have eaten at Eckhard's many times over the past few years. We knew the background of the restaurant but when we met the new owner, Chef Don admitted that he had kept the German menu primarily because of old line customers that wanted it. We found that to be GREAT because having eaten in several "fine " German establishments (including some in Germany) we never really liked German food anyway. Over the past few years we have found Don to be one of the most inventive and creative chefs we have known. He is always willing to experiment and not afraid to come out to the table and ask how it was. He will always admit to a "mistake" and I am not afraid to tell him what I think of the food. I am happy to say we have not been disappointed often. Hint: Explore the specials before you look at menu entrees. Also try to go back a couple of times if you can......it is by far the best restaurant in this area. (Tides Inn included!) If you only want German....look elsewhere. Oh by the way, regarding the wait staff....the Hon, and Darlin' stuff is a signature tradition of the place...most of the lady servers are real characters.....the first one we had was from Baltimore and I think that's where the "Hon" started. If that's not your cup of tea...go to the Tides Inn!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dookie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accokeek, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at Eckhard's. The menu has a wide variety of items, and everything we ordered was delicious. We will definitely come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dining at Eckhard's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

It's A really nice restaurant.I go there on special occasions.The last time I went there was on A Mothers Day.I believe the price for the three of us was $105.One thing that would be better would be A better selection on their menu.And I believe the vegetables are slack.I see that on many high end establishments.I believe it's A mix of vegetables.I mean they do have different potatoes that you can order.Other than that the service is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thrilled747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eckhard's also viewed

 

Been to Eckhard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing