We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service,but it ends there.”
Review of Pilot House Inn

Pilot House Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Topping
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pilot House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Topping
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly service,but it ends there.”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

A worn out shamble of a restaurant trying to keep up with the compatition.There was a want to be steam table with not much sellection ,or one could order from the shabby selection of hoe hum food.The atmosphere was ill chosen,and seemed to be catering to a red neck group who were more interested in a quick hamberger that any quality of food.The service was fairly good,but I won't go back again.The prices for what one receives are too high.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a small motel that is in the process of slowly renovating their rooms. Ask for rooms in the front building, we had room 101, which was updated and clean. Our friends were moved without us being notified to a smoking room because the non-smoking room they were holding had airconditioning issues. Their room was old and smelled strong of smoke. My friend did get a refund after making a call upon returning home, which was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101, or at least a newly renovated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeacefulSpirit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My boyfriend and I brought the boat down to Deltaville to fish, we wanted to stay overnight and the friendly people from J&W Seafood recommended this place, The Pilot House. $65 was not bad at all considering the Deltaville Dockside Inn wanted $89.. staff at this hotel was very friendly and we were able to check-in at 2 (compared to the 4 o'clock check-in time at most hotels, check-out time is 12 noon when most hotels are 10 or 11!) The hotel has its own restaurant where the office is. Our room was a pretty good size, kinda had an old-fashioned look but I liked it. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the Middlesex County area looking for a place to stay! It isn't a Hilton but it is definitely close to a Hilton compared to the biggest dump motel I just stayed in last week in the Outer Banks!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obxjeepgurl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed in a double room with kids. The room was good for the price and equiped with cable, Fridge, Phone and wireless internet.

Would stay again. Our room looked like it had been redone in the last year. We went to visits friends at Christmas. It was night to have a place of our own to goto.

There is a resturant for checkin- the food was good . We had the Breakfast buffet and the kids ate all they wanted. The wait staff was friendly and countryfied, my kids liked the attention they gave.

The hotel is probably a 3 star- but well worth the $55 I paid to keep me from staying at my mother-in-laws.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wild_Kids_WIfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I've stayed in hotel and motels all over the world and even though this place was not the ritziest, it wasn't the worst either. My wife's cousin throws a beach party/picnic at Beverly Beach which is just down the road from this motel every Fourth of July. And we along with our extended family have stayed at the Pilot House on many ocassions. With the exception of the place being old, the smell of cigarette smoke in the rooms, and the old bedspreads that smell and have cigarette burns, we found the rooms to be quite adequate considering all else. With the lights out the ceilings look like you're sleeping outdoors under the stars. (Which I liked) But the picture of the glowing palm tree in the room needs to go. The place could use a facelift, however I'll still be returning there this year for the Fourth of July. And I'll be bringing friends this time as well.
P.S. They serve an excellant breakfast buffet in the restaurant and the staff there was very nice. They tried hard to make sure our stay was pleasant and accomodating!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Topping hotels

va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

we have HAD to stay there a couple of times over the last 6 years. We keep our boat nearby and when doing maint. we need a place to stay close. Like some other had said the rooms are lacking much, most of the time it is dirty and we take sleeping bags instead of using their sheets. It is an emergency place to stay period!!!! Alot of the times your neighbors are not very desireable, yes I am glad I have a CWP. The resturant on the otherhand is good, especially on the weekends the buffet is great but way over priced. If you can do it keep going.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayray2933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We usually stay at chain motels when traveling but since there is only one in the area we decided to stay here. Upon our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly desk clerk which handled our check in quickly and was very helpful. Our rooms were very nice and clean with TV ,phone ,microwave and refrigerator which was a plus and also had high speed internet. That night we ate at the resturant on the property and thourghly enjoyed the seafood buffet, they had a great menu also but we wanted seafood. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast buffet with many items and at a good price too.
Resturant staff and manager were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and if in the area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onetraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topping
9.2 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
364 reviews
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
573 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
211 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot House Inn

Property: Pilot House Inn
Address: 2737 Greys Point Rd, Topping, VA 23169-2088
Region: United States > Virginia > Topping
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Topping
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Pilot House Hotel Topping
Pilot Hotel Topping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing