We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of La Sandia

La Sandia
Reserve with OpenTable
La Sandia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 96 Restaurants in Tysons Corner
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My daughter and I went here when all the other places in the mall were over a 20 min wait on a rainy Fri night. I'm glad we ended up here. The waitress was very nice, especially when my daughter's meal was not what she thought it would be. The waitress had no problem placing a new order, getting it out fast, and they only charged me for the meal my daughter actually ate. I had steak tacos, they had great flavor. The rice was a little salty for my taste. Overall it was good food, we would go back if we were ever back in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Tom,

Thank you so much for your feedback, please let me know the next time you are in Tyson's, I would like to meet you and your friends,

Regards,

Ed Arbelaez
GM
703 893 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    44
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good mexican restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Variety of dishes, like their guacamole and Jalisco shrimp enchilada, and Agua Fresca (watermelon juice, in Spanish Sandia means watermelon) Nice atmosphere, restaurant inside a busy Mall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leila48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Leila48,

Thank you for your feedback, please let me know the next time you are inTyson's, I would like to meet you and your friends,

Regards,

Ed Arbelaez
GM
709 893 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wow! What a great find! Fajitas!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I can't believe anything would say anything bad about this place. As far as value goes, I don't think any if the other restaurants that side of the mall come even close. The atmosphere could be a bit better and maybe more actual Latin music than whatever was playing yesterday for lunch. That being said, the steak and shrimp fajita combo was AMAZING!!!!! The peppers and onions were perfect and not over cooked like some many other Mexican joints. The Mexican rice was like a pilaf but so much tastier, a burst of flavor, perfectly moist and not over boiled , or however it is they are making it. The refried beans were not the typical pinto bean mash, but rather black beans, this was a tasty treat.
My server was James, and he did a great job, he seemed very knowledgeable about everything and I was never looking for him, he was always right on cue.

I will be coming back again soon for the amazing happy-hour.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTokoloshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, please let me know the next time you are in the area, I would love to meet you in person,

Regards,

Ed Arbelaez
GM
703 893 2222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First & Last Visit”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Was longing for Mexican food and had to go to Tyson's Corner Mall, so I immediately headed for La Sandia. It was my first visit, and sadly my last. The rice was dry, the enchiladas had a strange kind of sour taste, and the black beans were too spicy to eat. I left half of my food.

When I arrived early on a Friday evening, there were few people in the restaurant. I put it down to the hour. But when I left, the restaurant was still only about a quarter full while the neighboring restaurants were hopping. It makes sense to me.

I'm surprised by earlier reviews. I grew up in the South-West and I have eaten many variations of Tex Mex and more authentic Mexican food. This was neither.

A real disappointment when I was so longing for a good Mexican meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBuff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSandiaTC, General Manager at La Sandia, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hi Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, Service and food is very important to us. I have personally looked your comments with my staff and we spoke about ways of communication. I would like very much to invite you and a friend on the house . Please let me know whenever you'd like to come in please cal me or email me,

Regards,

Ed Arbelaez
GM
703 893 2222
earbelaez@richardsandoval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service and fresh Mexican cuisine: nice combo!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I happened to find this place while strolling in the Tyson Mall and have now eaten dinner there twice. On both occasions, our waiter Chris J. took excellent care of us. Without trying to sell the menu, he thoroughly explained the dishes and their fresh ingredients. He listened to my order including a food allergy and made sure that i would not have to worry. I enjoyed the carne asada, and the fajita combo as well as the table side prepared guacamole. Wow! My wife found the quesadillas special. The grilled chicken inside tasted like it was cooked on charcoal. Great margaritas! As a bonus, the second time was during "happy hour"!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sandia also viewed

McLean, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Falls Church, VA
Vienna, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to La Sandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing