We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best B&B ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urbanna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atherston Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Urbanna B&B and Inns
Pensacola, FL
1 review
“This is the best B&B ever!”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I make a point of coming to Urbanna as often as possible... and ALWAYS stay with Judith and Bill. It's the finest, most relaxing, most comfortable stay of anywhere I travel. Treated like the Queen by friendly, caring people is a treat for the soul. The gardens are beautiful any time of year, the food is outstanding, not normal B&B fare, and the presentation is perfection. One night is not enough. The house is spotless, beds are dreamy, there is no downside. Just thinking about my many visits... it's time to book again!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter.UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Atherston Hall is a great B&B. Judith makes you feel very welcolme. ... tea & cookies when we arrived after a long day driving - perfect. Had an early evening drink on the porch and felt more relaxed than we had for days ( we had been staying at motels & hotels for the previous 6 nights)
Urbanna is a lovely town. Atherston Hall B&B is right in the centre - a few minutes walk to the main street - it has a selection of resturants to choose from (none of them chain resturants ) .
We stayed one night and wished we had longer.
A trip to Tangier Island is well worth it. Very original... no cars on the island and very laid back. Best crabcakes I had all holiday.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We had a great stay recently while visiting Virginia for Historic Garden Week. All that has been written in the previous reviews we found to be true during our stay (innkeepers friendly, food excellent, linens and beds comfortable). To add some details not written about: The gardens tended to by Bill are lovely and inviting. In fact the gardens of the B&B were on the Historic Garden week tour. There is seating outside to view all the gardens both front and back. We stayed in the upstairs suite and slept comfortably with the windows open barely hearing a car or any noise. We only stayed here one night but enjoyed out stay very much so I am sure we'll be back again.

  • Liked — Friendly inn keepers, gardens
  • Disliked — Would have liked more shelf space in bathrooms for our personal effects
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

Atherston Hall was wonderfully relaxing for my husband and me. We stayed in the cornwall room and found it to be very comfortable. The bed and linens were so soft and inviting after a long day, and the decor was bright and cheery. One of our windows overlooked the garden, and it was pleasant enough outside that we left the windows open the whole time for a nice breeze. Judith is a delight, and made us feel right at home. We had a couple of out-of-the- ordinary requests duing our stay. She was accomadating and we never had to wait for anything. Breakfast was delicious, and filling, and ready at the time we requested. The only negative thing we came across was that while beautiful, the wooden floors of the house make things a bit noisy. Our fellow travelers upstairs were early risers, and we, to say the least, were not! With that said, overall we found this bed breakfast to be top notch, and would gladly stay again.

  • Liked — super clean, great service, very comfortable
  • Disliked — early risers
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank minxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredericksburg, VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Atherston Hall is above all scrupulously clean. The linens were luscious and the mattress was super comfortable. There were nice bottles of water and little chocolates in the room. The bathrooms was lovely and large. There were nice soaps, lotions, body wash and shampoo in the bathroom. Loved the plush robe hanging on the door waiting for me. Breakfast was delicious with homemade granola, yogurt and fruit. I also was served homemade waffles, fruit and blueberry coffee cake. The coffee was delicious. The garden around the house is really pretty. There is a nice side porch I enjoyed sitting on and drinking my coffee. Interesting magazines with a mix of both American and British titles are around everywhere. I just left feeling I had been pampered. The Inn is also within walking distance to everything in Urbanna and all the cute shops.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2006

This is our second stay at Atherston Hall in Urbanna, on Virginia's Northern Neck Peninsula.
We booked the Somerset Suite for both stays, which includes a lovely Queen room with adjoining twin suite and full bath. Decor is decidedly British sophisitication with lovely antiques and delicious breakfasts prepared by Judith. Abby and Savannah, two well-behaved and beautiful yellow labrador retrievers,complete the package and Bill's garden is exquisite.

This is a comfortable and quiet inn with all that you need and want. Unfortunately, this weekend Tropical Storm Ernesto pummeled Urbanna and we were without power for over 24 hours. What other innkeepers would have found a way to scramble and provide guests not only breakfast, but dinner by a generator-lit lamp? Add a bottle of wine and fun conversation among guests and you get the drift: this is a very upscale and service-oriented B&B, set in a small, waterside town. Bill and Judith have impressive experience at other inns in the US and England.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Maribeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois (Chicago suburbs NW)
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

Great B&B accomodations for families or those needing more then 1 bed. We stayed in the upstairs suite which contained a queen bed in one room with a door and a twin day bed with trundle in another room (no door). Also had a nice bathroom with tub/shower. Very nicely decorated and maintained (newly renovated and opened as a B&B about 1 year ago). Very clean; very nice soft towels. There are two other rooms downstairs (I believe each had a queen bed) which could be combined into a suite via a private hallway. There are also two sitting rooms - one with a TV. Breakfasts were good (but not all the way to gourmet). We had french toast with wonderful fresh berries (blueberry, raspberry, blackberry, strawberry) on the first day. Plus muffins and sweet breads. Could have used some meat. Second day was individual egg casseroles with ham and cheese which was very good and some breads/rolls that were just ok. On this day, the hostess offered to make my child something different if she preferred which was very nice (scramble eggs - although she might have asked how she wanted them done - they were very wet too our tastes - I'm sure she would have cooked them longer if I had asked, but didn't want to be more trouble). They have two labs which were great fun for my child. They could only recommend one restaurant in town, but there were other good restaurants about 20 mins away. There was a community pool that we were granted free access too - that was nice. The proprietors were very nice and very accomodating. Williamsburg/Historic Triangle about 45 - 60 mins away. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbanna
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
364 reviews
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester Courthouse
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
8.1 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
573 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherston Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherston Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Atherston Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 250 Prince George St, Urbanna, VA 23175
Region: United States > Virginia > Urbanna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Urbanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1880 Atherston Hall is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in the historic district of the delightful little waterside town of Urbanna. Walk to the water, restaurants and stores. Fine linens, wonderfully comfortable beds and spacious rooms invite you to relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is very special with homemade Granola and inviting choices to start your day. The gardens are a work of art and the porch is waiting for you....Atherston Hall is the perfect spot to enjoy the simple things in life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing