We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Tree Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Oaks Inns(Eagle Rock)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Wintergreen Resort(Wintergreen)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Buena Vista Motel(Buena Vista)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
      Reviews (236)
      Filter reviews
      236 results
      Traveller rating
      182
      35
      10
      7
      2
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      182
      35
      10
      7
      2
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsbaked oatmealthe main lodgethe blue ridge parkwaycrabtree fallswood burning fireplaceget away from it allwonderful hostsrustic lodgeporch swingfall colorswonderful weekendshort drivefresh fruitsugar treerockbridgecabindriveway
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      170 - 175 of 236 reviews
      Reviewed 22 November 2011

      my husband and i enjoyd or stay, it was very nice and clean. the owners jeff and becky were very hospitable and served good food. the buttery grits and the bake oatmeal oh and the tomato basil yummy. we will come back next year. waking up to deers outside your bedroom window is a plus if you are an animal lover like myself. and we were able to go to the virginia safari zoo. lot's of fun.

      • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank PAMELA H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 5 November 2011

      We were unprepared for the remoteness of the place and the uneasy condition of the road leading to it. If you are very comfortable with a truly natural environment, this, I imagine, is an interesting place...but if you are a city person thinking you spend a night in a nice b&b close to Lexington (W&L and VMI), you are in for a surprise, or at least we were. Also no TV signal in the room, no internet either, barely a cell phone connection. And a really deserted feeling, when you are not in the main building. But, as I said, if you like this and expect it, it can be a restful, interesting place. Not for us, though, and we were happy to find a room elsewhere for the following night.

      Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
      4  Thank Emma Z
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Steeles_Tavern, Owner at Sugar Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

      There can be no doubt that our mountainside setting is not where this guest wanted to be. She, by her own words, is a “city person”; and clearly was not comfortable with staying anywhere outside of the city.
      While we do not have TV reception (there is a VCR/DVD in the room she stayed in), Wi-Fi is available in the main lodge and most cell phones do work here, just not on the way up and down the mountain or up on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
      We are sorry she came expecting an urban environment but for those of you that love the beauty of the mountains and the tranquility to be found in a Select Registry property located in a national forest, we are the place for you!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 November 2011

      This is an amazing place located on the Blue Ridge Parkway. There is a lot to do very near and surrounding the inn. The inn is worth the value! The owners are hospitable and provide amazing service and food. The rooms are each unique most with fireplaces and outdoor sitting areas. This is a gem located near the Appalachia Trail and Blue Ridge and Shenandoah National Parks located in nature surrounded by amazing trees. Rooms are clean and well decorated.

      Room Tip: Blue Ridge room was modest and has a nice porch opening to the forest on the first floor. If you don't need a large room I recommend this one.
      • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Frequent_Trav
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 16 October 2011

      Just returned from a three night stay at Sugar Tree Inn. A perfect retreat for peace and tranquility with perfect hosts, Jeff and Becky. Stayed in the St. Marys cabin which is pure quality and provides a first class mountain retreat. Jeff and becky could not do enough to make a stay a memorable one.

      Room Tip: St Marys is the most recent addition and provides quality accomodation.
      • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Kevin V
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 October 2011

      We had a weekend getaway to Sugar Tree Inn to relax before welcoming our 3rd child. The innkeepers, Jeff and Becky were very accomodating. The Inn was great and the food was wonderful! We enjoyed watching the sun set from the rockers on the porch. There is also a nice trail around the property to get in a good walk. Becky's oatmeal was the highlight our mornings. A great way to unplug from it all and relax!

      Room Tip: Crabtree Falls was a great room! All rooms have woodburning fireplaces.
      • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Norah P
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews