We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, affordable beachfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Hampton Inn North in Virginia Beach is located directly on the oceanfront. You walk out the front door of the hotel and onto the beach. They have bike rentals on site. A walking promenade and a bike path also pass in front of the hotel. The breakfast is what you expect from a Hamton Inn. Parking is free which is a plus as the Hilton next door charges for self parking and even more for valet parking. When we checked we had two separate reservations for each night of our two night stay. We were concerned that we were going to have to check in and check out the next day as our rooms were in two different price catagories. The desk clerk (Chris) was able to combine the reservations and she gave us the better room for the two night stay. Thank you Chris.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms provide a better view of the ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g1921skiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,527 - 1,533 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

The accomodations at The Hampton Inn Oceanfront North are great for anyone but especially for a busy family and the added breakfasts are super and very well done with ample seating inside or outside on the covered patio on the beachfront( you feel like you're staying at a 5 diamond hotel by the beach or if just rocking in a chair on the patio in the evening) The breakfast manager keeps things in great shape and is very kind at this hotel- always checking on everyone and all the foods and beverage areas -that they are all in the best order. The food was great! We had a great room with a gorgeous view of the beach and 24 hour access to the pool and fitness rooms. The bathrooms are luxurious as nice as the choicest hotels.
We were delighted to find ourselves staying right at the famous sight of the imposing 35 foot sculpture of King Neptune which is a Virginia Beach landmark now on the boardwalk. So much to do all around the Virginia Beach area and so nice that as you come and go at this hotel the staff at the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North are always ready to help in any way they can.
Another reason we are really writing this review is because of our youngest son- on return from our outing to the Norfolk port to see the Battleship Wisconsin, he was so excited to try out his new toy submarine but we told him he would have to wait and try it in a few days at home because it required using baking powder to help it go up and down. Just taking a chance we inquired of frontdeskperson Chris on our way back while we were still in the lobby -( she is one of the busy ones out front with the lovely British accent) and she immediately sought out a kitchen staff person for us and she actually got a tiny container of baking powder for us so our son could play with his new sub!! That is a caring staff! (And yes they had real baking powder!)
We were really impressed overall with this hotel and have stayed in D.C. and Ocean City and Florida - so many places but this staff and place was outstanding! The laundry man was so pleasant to chat with on the elevator too! The guests were all friendly and pleasant too. The hotel's room decor is really more of a modern style and not what one would consider a homey or old fashioned cottagey style but the staff IS so homey and caring and friendly and that is what really makes this hotel great besides its' fantastic beach location and views. Everything is in walking distance or a short drive down the road- the best restaurants and shops are right outside the door and so much to do within just a half hour's drive in any direction. Can't recommend it more! We really were in need of a great vacation and we felt blessed to choose this hotel!

Room Tip: maybe a lower floor is best, especially with kids- quite scary or dizzying on the balcony of 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post such an amazing review about your family's recent stay! We are delighted that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed the amenities and features that the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North has to offer. We are proud of our hotel and strive to provide every guest with an exceptional experience!

However, what we really love to hear about is how we were able to make your stay more enjoyable - Richard, the friendly breakfast manager making sure you had everything you needed; Chris at the front desk helping your son with the christening of his new submarine; your chat with the laundry staff person, to name a few!

Also, thanks for sharing your impressions of the location and surrounding area with others, for it surely helps those not familiar with Virginia Beach. We hope that your family will come back soon!

At your service,
Rob Waddell, DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel. All rooms have balconies overlooking the ocean. Our room was on the 7th floor with a king sized bed and lots of room. The walls of the hotel are good so our room was quiet at night. We enjoyed the big breakfast every morning - eggs, sausage, fruit, waffles, hot and cold cereal, etc. The servers were so friendly and accommodating. We were right on the boardwalk and near the newish center - Laskin Rd by the King Neptune statue. There is a small pool and jacuzzi open 24 hours; a business center is also open 24 hours. A minor suggestion - clean the chairs on the balcony. A wonderful place for couples, families, anyone. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OmaAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your room, the breakfast, and the other hotel features. Also, we appreciate your feedback about the balcony chairs, and will use it to help us improve. We clean the sliding doors and balcony furniture daily, but this can be a challenge with the wind, salt air and high pollen combination.

Thanks for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit!

At your service,
Rob Waddell, DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I chose this hotel from among the other Hilton family members in Virginia Beach based not on only on the positive TripAdvisor reviews but also because of the responses to some of those reviews from the hotel management.

After booking online I found that I had an issue that could be dealt with best by discussing it with a member of the hotel staff so I called a few days ahead of our arrival. I was extremely disappointed in both the response and concern about my issue from the person I spoke with and ended up directing an email to Rob Waddell, the Director of Sales and the person whom usually responds to the comments about this hotel on TripAdvisor.

I heard from Mr. Waddell in a very timely manner and he not only made sure that any issues I had were immediately resolved but directed my concerns to both the General and Assistant General Manager to apprise them of my dissatisfaction so that additional staff training could be administered as necessary.

OK, that all said, I finally arrived on Good Friday afternoon. Fifi (excuse my possible misspelling) checked me in and oh, what a jewel to find upon arrival. As a HH Gold, I meet a lot of front desk personnel, but she is perhaps the friendliest and most welcoming I've ever found. That seemed to be indicative of the entire hotel. All of the staff went out of their way to acknowledge everyone they saw and I had some great conversations with several of the fantastic employees.

Our room was above the normal Hampton Inn standards, not that Hampton standards are below that of its cousins but because this hotel pays attention to detail. In every way. The studio suite was quite large and the furniture comfortable. Everything was spotless. Upon walking in the door we had tiled area that had a wet bar, microwave and a dorm sized fridge...not a mini fridge, which can make a big difference if staying for more than one night or you like beer. The huge bathroom was to the direct left. There was never a lack of hot water nor good water pressure and we were on the eighth floor. We had a room directly across from the elevator and ice machine which I normally avoid but the choice was my own this time because of our needs, and we didn't hear a sound!

The main suite consisted of a king size bed, an over-sized twin sofa bed (ill situated for TV viewing...we moved the furniture around to suit our needs), great desk and then the nice balcony overlooking the ocean. The views are fantastic with tankers going back and forth to the port, all day and night long.

Even the free breakfast was above what one would normally see at a Hampton. Not only were the servers as friendly and welcoming as everyone else in the hotel, but the variety of food was above par. The hot stations were replenished before the selection was half gone. You can actually eat your breakfast in their main restaurant dining room or the outside covered terrace and there is room for everyone. There was never a shortage of tables or seating as is the case with many of the smaller Hamptons.

I could keep on. TV pic is exceptional, fans in the bathroom, comfortable beds, no sound from your neighbors, the free wifi streamed Amazon and Netflix without any interruptions....there just wasn't a minus that I could find and I can be picky.

This was a great experience. There is a Hilton right next door. We checked it out. The lobby is fancier, the hotel is larger, we even wandered around opening closed doors and checked out the staging for the Easter Buffet they had set up for the next morning and got a quick visit from a guy in a suit. I guess we were on 'candid camera'. I talked to a few people that worked there. That's my thing. The warmth, the caring and maybe even the pride seemed to be missing. I was VERY happy to be staying at the Hampton.

Mr. Waddell, thank you for your help and especially for the handwritten note you had delivered to our room. Nice touch. There are literally tens and tens of hotels and thousands of rooms to choose from when staying at Virginia Beach. I think your service is what sets this hotel apart from the many others. We're looking forward to out next stay.

I would be very remiss if I didn't mention the young Afro-American gentleman with a laundry cart working there on Saturday morning whom I finally persuaded to join us on the elevator (he didn't want to crowd us). What a pleasure to talk with. He was witty, informative and 100% customer oriented. 100%. I hope that you will share my appreciation of our encounter with him. He, like the rest of the staff truly makes this hotel the epitome of customer service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMH27707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

On behalf of the management and staff here, we sincerely appreciate your taking the time to post such an insightful review, and for your compliments about the staff and hotel! No doubt, your thorough review of the various aspects of your stay will be quite helpful to others considering the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North!

Recommendations from satisfied guests such as yourself are the highest compliment that we can receive, and tell us that we are succeeding in making each guest feel appreciated. Consequently, we will be discussing your comments not only at our management team meeting, but with the staff members that worked to make your stay exceptional, so that they are all recognized.

Again, our sincere thanks for choosing our hotel and for the kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Rob Waddell, DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently visited the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North, Hotel in Virginia Beach Virginia, the last week in March, and were pleasantly surprised at the very professional treatment of all the hotel staff. It is the small things that make a great hotel. This is an exceptional hotel for a Hampton Inn. It has a restaurant with a bar in it, as well as the normal breakfast area which both face the ocean. All the rooms face the ocean with balconies. Our room was on the top floor which we requested. The pelicans flew by us every 15 minutes. We could reach out and touch them. The indoor pool is a large size with a hot jacuzzi next to it. We will definitely
be coming back again in the future to this wonderful hhotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My sister and I spent 2 nights at this hotel recently visiting VA Beach for the first time. We were so happy that we picked the Hampton Inn. It's a great location for one, the room was just right, loved the bathroom, the beds were comfortable, the complimentary breakfast and the choices available was a nice surprise (and very good) and the employees were all nice and accommodating. We were on the third floor which was ideal since you can easily take the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

early check in no problem. great location. great view. great room. full hot breakfast was great...tables in dining area a little cramped. attendants in the breakfast area very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £78 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing