We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Value & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Whenever we visit Virginia Beach, we stay here. The staff is always welcoming and does a good job keeping up the hotel. All rooms face the ocean and, above the first floor, have balconies with chairs. They also have microwaves and small refrigerators. The property is on the boardwalk and beach, very close to all activities and restaurants, and comes with Hampton Inn's great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaTourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband, mom and I spent a week at The Hampton Inn North Virginia Beach. We arrived May 19th and was very pleased with everything from the cleanliness of the hotel to the hotel employees friendliness. We arrived late (after 9 PM) on Saturday - we weren't supposed to arrive until the 20th, but we drove on thru excited to get to the beach! Lucky for us there had been a cancellation so we were able to check in a night early. Gary, who works at the front desk was very friendly and helpful... always a nice smile. We stayed in room 506 and it was very clean.. no issues with cleanliness in any part of the hotel. The rooms here are all oceanfront so your view is perfect and right on the boardwalk just down from the King Neptune statue. There are volleyball courts and a playground for kids on the beach. Their hot breakfast is different every day. There seemed to be plenty of seating every morning and plenty of food to go around. They keep the food coming out as needed and the breakfast staff are more than friendly and helpful. Olivia makes sure to greet everyone with a smile and she and the other lady (sorry... not sure of her name) will make you fresh waffles and take your dirty plates away and clear your table for you. Little things like this make a big difference!! The indoor pool was warm and the hot tub was HOT! A lot of times a hotel's hot tub is luke warm... not this one! Always plenty of clean towels ready for use! My husband used the workout room... there was only a treadmill, eliptical and bike, but you get lots of exercise just walking the boardwalk and playing in the ocean waves! He did like that it was on the 2nd floor and away from everything. Also, the pool/hot tub and exercise room is open 24 hrs for use!
We ordered pizza one night from Doughboys... big mistake. They got our order wrong and when we called to let them know they were not willing to fix their mistake and then wanted to charge us to bring us a corrected order. Horrible pizza and horrible service!
A great place to go for a SEAFOOD BUFFET is Captain Georges. It was $31/person, but well worth it!! Another nice place to eat is TASTE deli. They have great sandwiches! We also tried Jakes BBQ. It was delicious! Try the burger with BBQ pulled pork over it! Mom loved the ribs!
We visited the VA Aquarium (bought discount tickets at the welcome center) and was disappointed in what they had to offer. Not as many animals to see as what most other aquariums have. Also, there were busloads of kids there visiting and it was loud and crazy with all the kids... you couldnt even get close to a lot of the exhibits.
In conclusion... we had a great week of beautiful weather, a clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff and a great week of food! Virginia Beach is beautiful and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor... anything higher would also be good for the view! You get a lot of jet...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetogetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our room was so dirty upon arrival that we had to call the front desk. We had to leave our room for an hour to have the room cleaned. There was food on the alarm clock, dirt on the floor, questionable stains on the chaise lounge, stains on the carpet, one of the lights did not work. the shower was filthy and had trash in it. While our room stay was comped by the manager it made what was supposed to be a romantic weekend a horrific stay.
On top of all of that, we were put into a handicapped room which did not have full ammenities. We are not handicapped and did not request this type of room. The housekeeping staff were so loud in the morning and had a gossip session right outside of our door.
While we could walk out of our room directly onto the beach, there was no way to lock the door once we left.
After reading the newly posted review about the bed bugs and waking up the first morning of our stay with a bite on my foot, I now have something new to worry about.
I would not reccomend staying at this hotel. It was a serious disapointment.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpinningLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

We regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. Clearly, as the majority of reviews indicate, this is not typical of this hotel. We work hard to ensure that every guest has a great experience, but on occasion, things happen. At the time you brought this to the GM's attention, we verified that the room had indeed been cleaned and passed the QA inspection before your arrival. This room is designated as a handicapped accessible guest room on all booking sites and confirmed for call center or front desk reservations. It does happen to be across the hall from housekeeping, and we apologize for any disturbance. This was once again addressed with the management and staff in order to minimize any noise across the hall. The bedbugs were an isolated incident on another floor and we found no trace in your room. Again, we are sorry that you did not have the same experience as virtually all of our guests enjoy.

Sincerely,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

While staying at the hampton along with my wife and 12 year old daugther we fell inlove withe the hotel. The location was great; very close to everything.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the beach side; the view was great.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to change the scenery and get a room for the weekend, so I searched on numerous sites for the perfect hotel. I chose this one, as it had all the things we were looking for a king sized bed, in-room whirlpool, balcony overlooking the beach. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, and the breakfast was "ok", the hallways were quiet at night(as some hotels I've been to in the past had screaming kids), and although we didnt take advantage of the pool like we wanted to the pool was clean! We plan to visit this hotel in the near future, and i"d definitley reccommend it to anyone else planning to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHenderson707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Great experience.... if I travel back to that area I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_Herd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for a week in room 812. We should have checked before we even set our clothes down but the hotel looked so clean and we all thought probably no bedbugs here ! Little did we find out the 5th day there it was ! A bed bug on my pillow, I kind of blew it off because none of us had seen anyway until I get home and all of us are covered with little red spots. I called the Hampton Inn & sure enough they searched the room and found the bedbugs hiding. Management called me within an hour to let me know they found them & would return our money but we still have to worry about if I am going to bring these stupid little bugs home to my kids & have a bigger problem. Iv'e never had a problem with bed bugs EVER until here and I am very displeased and disappointed. I will not be getting a good night of sleep for a long time to come ! This is not the last this hotel will hear from me & I'm going to report them to the health department because these are things that should be picked up on during normal maintenance before the bedbugs feast on your guest ! VERY UNHAPPY CUSTOMER :(

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Rayma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

We read your review and are as disappointed as you because as you can tell from the other reviews, we work very hard to provide a clean and comfortable hotel experience for all of our valued guests. Again, please accept our sincere apologies. As you mentioned, once you notified the hotel, the General Manager worked with you to make this right, and offered suggestions to help at home.

Bedbug incidents are unfortunately, on the rise not only in hotels, but anywhere people sleep. They appear in five-star hotels, resorts, and cruise ships, carried in on travelers or their baggage. What is important is how proactive the hotel is in preventing and eradicating them. We have a good track record and our staff is trained to watch for any signs of these and other pests on a daily basis.

We immediately took this and adjacent rooms out of service, did a complete room breakdown, and brought in professionals for a multi-step extermination, re-set, and then post-treatment inspections to ensure that the problem was eradicated.

Again, we apologize for your unfortunate experience and any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Rob Waddell - DOSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £95 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing