We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, Great Choice in Virginia Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location with sufficient free parking. As with the Hampton line, free internet and free breakfast. The internet worked reliably. The breakfast was very nice and the staff deserve specific recognition as they are very welcoming and attentive throughout the breakfast hour. Also noteworthy was that the room contained a generous sized mini-fridge and a microwave.

I particularly like the size of this hotel. It has seven floors, all ocean front. Since it is not a humongous hotel, you do not have as big of an issue with population density - simply put, you do not feel crowded or over-run by the masses.

While I would definitely stay again and I would definitely recommend it to others, there are 2 points why I did not rate this hotel a 5:

1. There was minor mold break out on the ceiling of the bathroom above the shower fixtures (room 711). I realize it is hard to keep up given the climate and low ceilings, but this is not a cheap hotel so it should be addressed.

2. All rooms are ocean front and priced accordingly. The view is critical. The windows were filthy when I arrived (in fact the former occupant had written in the grime). After 2 nights, I asked for some window cleaner at the front desk. The front desk did not want to give up their window cleaner so arranged to send someone to clean the windows. They did do this promptly AFTER I asked, but my big point here is that I should not have to experience dirty windows for 2 days and I should NOT have to ask - the windows should be clean on an ocean front room. I realize you may not want to put this burden on the housekeeping staff; however, it might make sense to have this on the housekeeping checklist so that it is examined and if not satisfactory, then the appropriate staff should be notified.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmead7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thanks for your review and for recommending us to others! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and will see that the breakfast staff are recognized. Also, thank you for your feedback about the room, and it will be used to help us to improve. We have followed up to make sure that the issues mentioned have been addressed. We look forward to providing a perfect stay the next time you are here!
At your service,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,531 - 1,537 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed there in Aug 2011 with a family of four. This place is perfect. Not expensive like Hilton next door but has all the advantages. Its clean. All rooms are oceanfront, clean and spacious. Parking is right on the property. Convenient for shopping right across the street. Also there is a Waffle house for breakfast right across the street. They do have restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast is continental and very good. I don't have anything bad to say. If i have to stay in Virginia beach, I can totally rely on this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sndu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The staff of the Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is amazing! Best breakfast buffet we've ever had (thank you Miss Olivia!). Rooms were kept very clean, no sand in the carpet or bathroom floor. Awesome view with a great location. Definately will stay here again. Thanks for a very relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdancer_324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I did expect less of this hotel for an ocean side beach community. I had a studio suite and it is larger in life than their pictures. The entrance had a good side bar 9about 7 feet long with a bar sink, mini-fridge and microwave. Bath room was nice and spacious and so was the room. But of course the view can be beat with a high floor facing the ocean. The patio was nice too and good for sitting at least 3 on their patio chairs and side table. We stayed here for 3 nights starting on July 1st and couldn't be happier with the location, city and hotel. I must say that for a beach stay there is no need to go further south unless you are looking for something else too.

Breakfat was great and their dining area was adequate although during the rush an empty table may be sparce. This hotel although dated and may be drab to some is tops in value and location. You are a little more north away from the hustle that can happen a little south. Take-out, resaurants and gift shops are close by and for me was an exceptional stay. Will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gojadego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We've stayed in a few different, higher-end chains in VB over the years, and they've all turned out to be about the same. Decent hotels, better than the average for the strip (for sure), but not incredible places.
Our room was fine, although a little worn. Beds were comfy, TV was good, bathroom fine, desk a little wobbly, a/c pretty noisy. Breakfast was free and staff were nice, but food was OK - marble scrambled eggs, greasy bacon...better to stick with the dry stuff.
Didn't try the restaurant, but the bar inside the hotel is pretty dead.
Pool was small, but nice, and hot tub was great.
All in all, good, safe place to stay in VB.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for posting your review and for recommending our hotel as a "good, safe place to stay in Virginia Beach." We appreciate your feedback and it will be reviewed by our management team for any opportunities present. We understand that individual preferences will vary, which makes TripAdvisor a great resource for travelers to read several reviews and reach their own conclusions.

At your service,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our family has stayed at this hotel twice and have enjoyed it very much. Great location (31st/32nd street) near Neptune Park where there is always free music/concerts. All rooms are oceanfront with a patio or balcony. Great breakfast and wifi included and rooms have a micro fridge and microwave. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjvolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thanks for taking time to post a review and for your compliments about our staff! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your continued loyalty!

At your service,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a nice hotel if you are looking to enjoy the beach at a decent cost. You will get what you paid for so be warned though. You do get some of the typical annoying summer travelers that are noisy, rude and inexperienced in traveling. If you turn that part off and enjoy the area, then it is fine. The breakfast is decent and free. Free parking which is nice and you can walk next door to the Hilton to eat or listen to music.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The AC unit is a little funky and runs on a weird cycle so if you like the constant sound of a fan, it will annoy you. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank your for your review. We are glad that you liked our hotel! We are sorry that the AC unit annoyed you. Given the extreme heatwave that we and many parts of the country have experienced, the AC units tend to run more. Also, if a particular guest prefers to set the thermostat lower than average with outside temperatures in the high 90's - 100, the unit is going to run more.


At your service,
Rob Waddell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,060 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £74 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing