We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a family vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great hotel for a family vacation!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

As a Hilton Honors member, my husband carefully selected this hotel in VAB for our 30th anniversary trip. This was our 5th trip to VAB as it is a favorite of ours.
On our arrival, our room was lovely with a king sized bed, sitting area, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was a good size too. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful as we settled in for our vacation here at VAB. The breakfasts in the morning were great. They had several staff members that refilled all the food containers immediately and were friendly and helpful with cleaning up the area. Beach access was very good. The housecleaning staff was awesome. The young lady that cleaned our room gave us extra towels as needed and did an excellent job keeping our sandy room clean. Knowing this is a beach hotel makes me realize that it is a tough job to keep this place clean and the staff here really did do all they could to keep up with this issue. A great value right on the beach. We used it for an anniversary trip but it is also great for families. Nicely located to all the activities on the 31st street Neptune pavilion. Would definitely stay here again when coming to VAB.

Room Tip: All rooms faced the ocean with a great view. Request a higher floor if you can since we were right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
First, thank you for posting your review and for recommending us to others! We are honored that you chose the Hampton Inn VB Oceanfront North for your 30th anniversary, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! You are kind to recognize the challenges of maintaining a nice oceanfront hotel in the summer, and your compliments have been passed on to the staff. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit!

At your service,
Rob Waddell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    479
    184
    64
    35
See reviews for
716
536
58
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I was hoping that from other reviews that this would be better than average hotel expereience. Little dissapointed. Room we were in was 2 Dbl Q. Very small but ok for one night. Can't imagine staying longer than that. Carpets were sandy in room. One set of elevators which means a wait. Pool area was very sandy and dirty. Not what I expect from a Hilton owned hotel. Will look elsewhere n future especially for what u pay for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sborumnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
We regret that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. As you can see from the majority of reviews, we generally do a good job of staying on top of things with room quality inspections and frequent pool and lobby cleaning. However, on occasion, things happen, and your feedback has been passed on to the appropriate management for any opportunities to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klelmore
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed at several Hilton properties in VA Beach. We absolutely loved this hotel! It was a perfect location on the northern part of the Boardwalk, very easy to get to right off the expressway. Self parking with a lot was perfect, no crazy garage to drive through with all of the madness. The staff were so awesome, polite and helpful. Our room was nice, large, and very clean. The housekeeping staff were kind and excellent as well. We enjoyed the breakfast and the rocking chairs out front along the boardwalk. We could walk anywhere we wanted to go which made it nice. The pool was nice inside with a cool waterfall, it was a bit crowded at times but that is to be expected. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kecompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Much cheaper then Hilton and Ocean beach club. Nice pool and EXCELLENT staff at the front desk? Priblem with elevator was fixed and they helped us and gave us free drinks? Pool is a bit small? Great location beach access is great. Restaurant is a bit more expensive then expected but food is good

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mrogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This place was perfect for our stay on the beach. Rooms were a good size, very clean and all had a great view of the ocean. Location was close to the beach and close proximity to other fun activities. The hotel staff was the nicest we have seen and super accommodating. The only improvement that could've made this place better would be the time of day the rooms finally get cleaned, seemed to have been late in the day. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, having a variety of food, including a different choice each day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We loved it! This hotel was a clean, perfectly located, beach front property. We stayed for two nights and after a long trip (terrible traffic from DC) we were welcomed by Elton for check in. He gave us information and said the restaurant in the hotel (unusual surprise for a Hampton) was still serving food. Rodney recommended we sit outside for the fireworks. The room was a nice size, clean, and well appointed, Veronica, our Room Attendant was very sweet when we met her during day two. We saw Elton again the next day and he remembered our name and room, he was very personable. he sent us to Nick's for dinner and it was awesome. We loved staying here for our beach trip and look forward to staying again. Kudos Hampton Inn VAB - North, you have a wonderful team and excellent product!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntoTheAirwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I expected a great experience since I often stay at Hampton Inns when I travel, but my expectations were exceeded at this one. Upon arrival, we noted that the hotel is in an excellent location! There were two men sitting at the entrance of the parking lot to prevent non-guests from parking (lots of people going to the beach try to find inexpensive parking since it costs quite a bit to park in VA Beach). They were very nice and directed us to the front entrance. The man at the front desk was very nice while we were checking in (wish I caught his name)! We requested a roll-away bed and they brought it up to the room immediately. The man who brought the roll-away was also very nice! So we loved the customer service!

Our room was great! We got an oceanfront room on the second floor and the view was amazing! We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the bike-riders pass on the boardwalk. The room itself was very clean (hard for hotels to do at a beach) and the temperature was perfect! The roll-away fit between the sliding glass door to the balcony and one of the beds.

We walked out to the beach and there was a live band playing next door in Neptune Park. It wasn't listed on the on-line calendar, so we were pleasantly surprised to find entertainment there. The atmosphere on the beach in the evening was great! Our whole family took a walk along the beach and then returned to the hotel and washed our feet in the outdoor spigot provided.

Breakfast the following morning was wonderful! Breakfast is served in the restaurant area and the windows all overlook the beach. So it was very relaxing to eat and drink coffee while looking out at the ocean. The staff at breakfast was great! They kept the area clean, refilled the food often, and even cooked the waffles for us and brought them to our table with butter and syrup! For a serve-yourself breakfast, they came close to full-service. Everyone was so friendly! Again, another thumbs up for customer service...which our family greatly appreciates and looks for!

We live in SC so we don't visit VA Beach often (we were there for our daughter's dance competition). But when we go back, we will definitely choose to stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uscgrl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing