We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view of the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forest, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view of the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Extremely helpful front desk personnel. A little sand grit in the bathroom and on the balcony, but that might be hard to eliminate. Very, very clean, crisp sheets. Great view of the beach - - nice to hear the waves. The breakfast was great. But this same room is twice the price during the summer weekends. It would be nice to keep the price reasonable all year. Overall, very nice trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    435
    165
    59
    30
See reviews for
639
497
51
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We came to the beach to visit my brother and wanted a place to stay on the beach. This hotel is in a great location. Close to good restaurants and shops. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. I like that Hampton Inn cleans the duvets!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vak_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Isli, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend getaway. (4 days). In many ways it was the typical satisfactory stay in a Hampton Inn. The view from the room was beautiful. We were there with 3 days of 90 degrees so were mostly on the beach which is beautiful. But the one rainy day we went to the indoor pool (there's no outdoor pool!) and the waterfall is so noisy you can't hear yourself think. The area is dark (hard to read in) and there's barely any room to walk around. It was not clean, although they sent someone into clean it while we were there. But it was after 1 pm already. So we had to pick up all our stuff and move around this tight area. The temperature was too cool (I was covered in towels). We finally just left, got dressed and sat and read in the lobby because it was still raining. For this reason alone we would choose to stay at the Hilton, right next door. Some things are worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for your review and for choosing our hotel for your weekend getaway. We are glad that you enjoyed the view and beautiful beach. Your feedback about the pool area has been reviewed by our management team to help us improve our guest experience. We hope that you will visit again the next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great room, good location, with a great view. We stayed in room 501. This room is the end room on the south side of the building. That being said our view south was really great, and the room spacious and clean.
The only down side is the band shell next store and the day we were there we could clearly hear the music with the patio doors closed, and they played until 10PM. Also there was an ice machine across the hall, but it wasn't disturbing while we were there. Would I stay there again, yes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was our first stay at Virginia beach and Hampton Inn North and me and my family were very hapy with our stay. The hotel is in a great location and for the most part very clean. The only exception would be the elevators, they need to be updated. The staff were very friendly and helpful, exspecially the lady making waffles at the breakfast part of the hotel. Each room had a private balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The lobby is a little small and the indoor pool was small as well. The room was fine with two queen size beds a refrigerator with a small microwave sitting on top. The bathroom was very clean and the shower is very spacious. My wife and kids will gladly stay at this hotel again. Great location,great view of the ocean(all rooms are ocean front),great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have never been to Virginia Beach before and I cannot express how great my stay was. The staff was among the best I have ever seen ready and willing to help with a smile and just to make our stay the best it could be. The room was amazing, very spacious and one of the most comfortable and a most amazing view of the ocean. I cannot say enough about this experience, when I come back this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
You have made our day...thanks for posting! It is such a pleasure to read feedback like this! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and that our staff were helpful! Your compliments have been passed on to the management team and staff to help "keep the smiles coming." We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were victims of an inside phone scam, although the hotel manager refused to consider- the possibility- his employee (s) played a part in it. SCARY STUFF! If the phone rings in your room at the Hampton Inn, VA Beach Oceanfront and someone on the other end tells you "the hotel computer system is down and you will be double billed" HANG UP! Had we not experienced that...it would have been a nice weekend get-a-way. Overall nice hotel and great location. Thank God, I hung up the phone after the person insisted I give my credit card Info. I immediately called the front desk only to be informed the computer system was up and running...SCARY STUFF!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We share your concerns about this phone scam, and are glad that you avoided becoming a victim. The safety and privacy of our guests is our top priority, and we are sorry for any concern that this caused. Our management team has discussed this occurrence to ensure the continued security of all guests.

Advisories about this nationwide hotel phone scam have appeared in news media and in consumer alerts. Typically, a guest’s room phone rings late at night with someone claiming to be the front desk. There are several scenarios, but frequently they claim that the hotel’s computers are down, and request the guest’s credit card information again.

Brand standards require that incoming callers correctly identify the last name of a registered guest before being transferred to a guest room. If additional billing information is needed during a guest’s stay, consumers should provide this information at the front desk, and never over the phone. Our hotel staff will never request credit card information for an in-house guest over the telephone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing