We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
China Grove, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here 2 nights while on our way home from another area. The location of this hotel right on the beach and right along the walk/bikeway is very nice. As always, the room at the Hampton was neat and up to date. Very comfortable and quiet to sleep. Staff was very nice and helpful. We did have to have the safe combination reset and someone came up right away to take care of it (batteries for it needed to be replaced). The room also had a refrig. All the rooms are ocean view, which is nice. The breakfast was excellent and the woman making the waffles was very nice. The only complaint is there was not an outdoor pool, just and indoor one. Looking around it seemed many of the hotels in this area did not have outside pools. Being right on the beach was great. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great stay and found the staff to be helpful! Thanks for taking time to post your review, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    477
    184
    64
    33
See reviews for
713
535
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Located in the heart of Va. beach, you can walk to most restaurants and attractions. Breakfast here is good, but made great by the wonderful employees that work the room. In fact, the entire staff is friendly and very helpful. We are 60, so did not have small children with us. Most people do, so just understand this is a family vacation hotel with lots of kids coming and going. Views are super and rooms are very large and clean. Balconies are not made for more than 2 or 3 people.(2 chairs) Indoor small pool, but no outdoor pool. If you can bring your own beach chairs, or buy when you arrive at anyone of the stores along the strip. Renting on beach is over $50 for 2 lounges and umbrella per day.

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor, great views. However, some ground floors allow you to walk directly out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We appreciate your review and your compliments about our breakfast team and entire staff. They always appreciate knowing that they made a difference! We hope that you will come back the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After pleasant stays at Hilton Resorts and Hampton Inns, my wife and I decided that Hilton s would be our only choice going forward. We used to stay mostly at Marriott Residence Inns. We have stayed at Hilton Resorts in Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Singer Island and many Hampton Inns. Hampton Inn is always immaculate, friendly and comfortable; until this time. Although we arrived very early, (not Hilton's fault) our room was not ready until after 4 PM and was not clean. The balcony sliding doors were so dirty, you couldn't see out without opening them. The toilet was loose, the tub drain was stuffed, the room smelled like vomit, there were tags from clothes on the floor from the previous guest that were still there when we left. The hallways were absolutely filthy. The radio didn't work. There was sand in the bathtub. Dust under the refrigerator looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in years. It may be hard to believe but true. When we checked out, the desk clerk asked me how our stay was. I responded, well we certainly won't be back; this was not what we expect at Hampton Inn. His comment: Okay!!! We were very sorry we weren't at the Marriott next door. I am rarely a complainer, but this was a horrible experience that would be expected at a hotel charging $60 to $90 a night; certainly not $370. This was in no way shape or form worth even half that amount. Shame on the Virginia Beach Hampton Inn and Hilton for allowing such terrible conditions that do not measure up to what we expect at a Hilton Property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thanks for posting a review. We apologize that your experience was not as expected, and are very concerned since this is not typical for this hotel. The management team has discussed this, and acted on any opportunities to help us improve. We hope that you will consider coming back the next time you are in Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was a family trip with three generations and the first time any of us had been to Virginia Beach. We had three balcony rooms in a row overlooking the beach/ocean and we had a terrific time! Every interaction with a hotel staff member was a pleasant one, whether it was front desk staff, cleaning service or the bartender! The hotel has rocking chairs right outside by the boardwalk, there is an easy access to the beach and a bike rental right in the parking lot! The private parking lot is a plus. The only downside was that the food in the hotel restaurant was just average but there are plenty of local restuarants within walking distance. Being on the north end of the boardwalk seemed to get us out of the congestion of large crowds on the beach but it did put us at the very end of the art show so it was a long walk to see all of the artist tents. Be prepared that the four person bike is not as easy as it looks!! Have fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your family trip, and for taking time to post a review! What a treat to have three generations of family together at the beach! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your compliments on our staff. We hope to see you the next time you are headed this way!

R. Waddell
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

For part of our family vacation we spent 3 nights in a hampton hotel in Virginia Beach. The rooms in the hotel are a bit small but nice. The free breakfast is nice and they change the main course of breakfast every day. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Right behind the hotel between the ocean and hotel is an asphalt walking/bike path that you can jog, walk or ride bikes on. There is also bike rentals right next to the hotel. The hotel has a bar that has daily specials..for one example red stripe beer was $2.00 a bottle. this hotel is very close to the Chesapeake bay bridge/tunnel and the norfolk naval base. the cost of the rooms are a little expensive but when you figure in that your family receives a free breakfast every day the cost really isn't that bad. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Went to Virginia Beach over the 4th of July weekend. Our stay at the Hampton Inn was fantastic. Everything looked new and clean. The ocean front room was a great place to watch fireworks over the ocean!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rooms were sparkling, bathroom very large with plenty of spaces for organizing toiletries.
View of the ocean was great - could watch the sunrise from our bed or the balcony.
Location on the north end of the beach was great. Everyone on the staff was gracious, caring and professional.
Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 588sandral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
848 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing