We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Be Under New Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Must Be Under New Management”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My Family and I have stayed at this Hampton at least 4 other times and this past visit was by far the worst. When we arrived Thursday Evening one elevator was inoperative and the other elevator took about 15 minutes to reach the ground floor. My Mother in Law had a torn ACL and had to use the stairs twice that evening. On Friday morning after attending a graduation at the Coast Guard Training Center, I asked if I could get an additional parking pass for my nephew "who just graduated" and was told very bluntly, no you can't have a pass your nephew will have to park down the street at the parking garage. Later Friday afternoon My Wife took the kids to the pool only to find the water practically freezing and the Hot Tub scorching hot. Was unable to utilize or enjoy the amenity. On Saturday morning we were running a little behind and asked for a 1:00 PM check out. Once again we were told no that the latest we could check out would be 12:00. At that point I had my family forego their morning showers and commence packing their bags immediately so we could vacate the premises. The Manager and the Front Desk Staff were terrible. I felt as if we were being treated in an adversarial manner instead of as guests. The only saving grace for the entire stay was the House Keeping Staff and the Women who was serving breakfast in the morning who were both extremely polite and helpful. If it wasn't for them I would have rated this stay very poor. You can bet the next time We travel to VA Beach we will be exploring other options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank motivated04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your stay did not go as expected. The management team has discussed your feedback in detail to indentify opportunities to improve. We are one of the few oceanfront hotels that offer complimentary onsite parking, but it is limited to one space per room so that all guests can park. There is a parking garage across the street for overflow. We do appreciate your recognition of our housekeeping and breakfast teams, and hope that you will consider us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    477
    184
    64
    35
See reviews for
716
535
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Campbell, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was in town for my son's navy re-deployment. The location was in a reasonable distance to the naval base. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was reasonably priced and always clean. It was cold both nights of our stay. The parking was limited to parking spot per room however, there was public parking on a few feet away for a reasonable price. The view was gorgeous even on a gloomy day.

Room Tip: If traveling in multiple cars, be prepared to spend about $10 per day for public parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Latrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I want to say that I am a huge fan of Hampton Inn, as a general rule. NOT this one, I would not stay here again. Upon our arrival, the room seemed ok, not great. Thankfully, my family insisted we not use the a/c blower all night long, upon it being stuffy in the morning I turn the unit on... My daughter begins sneezing non stop & I notice black things on the bed where I am sitting. Upon remaining in my spot the next few minutes I realize the black clumps are coming from the unit and blowing all over!! Upon using the stairs to go down to breakfast (one of the 2 elevators was totally broken, with NO signage) I shared my great concern over the situation at the desk & shared my loyalty to Hampton Inn in general... The lead man on really doesn't react at all until I state that it is mold, or something, when he states adamantly that he can guarantee it is not mold, ready to cry I head to the breakfast that is over-crowded, under worked for the current hotel capacity (Olivia, working breakfast was extremely sweet & helpful!) the man from the desk approaches my table to share that the situation has been taken care of & informs me that as a prank the last guest stuffed confetti into the unit & that was the stuff coming out!!! Please view the pictures, as this was clearly NOT any confetti! My husband shares his concern regarding my daughter & the air & has to ask about changing rooms! He comes back to say we can switch rooms (never offers to see the concern or to change rooms etc) we move floors - no offer of assistance given (again 1 elevator for everyone in the place, including housekeeping) the new room much cleaner, my husband wants the front man to see the "stuff" prior to exiting our original room as one entire suitcase of clothes has a layer on it, as well as the bed nearest the unit. Upon him seeing it he offers we could wash our laundry & he would provide the soap!! My husband shared my great concern & that I would expect something more than soap- my husband is able to get the night comped but upon my continued disappointment & checkout to the satisfaction plague, I felt I needed to offer my review...
The pool area was VERY dirty, the vent/fan unit near the stairs for the pool was covered in black (I believe mold) the hot tub area was also dirty, the floor & ceiling gross! In hindsight, wish we had relocated to a different property for the remainder of our stay..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5jbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We regret that your stay did not go as you had expected, and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioning and elevator. The management team has reviewed your feedback for opportunities to improve, and remains committed to making sure that every guest is happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went for spring break 3-day weekend. This hotel is clean and the hospitality was excellent. Great location with a room on the ground floor that you could literally walk outside the door to the beach. Nice amenities and good location, but off-season entertainment choices in the immediate area are limited. Good value and we would stay again. Hope the weather is warmer later in the year!

Room Tip: All rooms front the ocean. Ground floor puts you right onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindi41453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We're on our 2nd night of our 3 night/4 day stay ... I was checked into an uncleaned room; with little remorse or apology given / only 1 elevator worked; took 10-15 minutes for the other one / staff did not have clean, uniformed look / some staff seemed bothered by requests / called down to get a bottle opener and noone ever came / woman at front desk was helpful / pillows are wonderful / the manager (who should have truly been dressed more professionally) was VERY helpful; showed my husband where to put our motorcycle / the view is glorious

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Can't beat the location. I have stayed here twice thus far on business. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The views are great. Staff is courtious and helpful.The hotel was booked solid this last visit. Lots of families, young children, teens and young adults- appeared to be vacationing. Even with the large volume of guests, my room was quiet and I encountered no problems at all. There was one elevator not working and some folks,(especially with small children) were noticibly bothered.
There is a plus at this Hampton Inn- They offer room service. There is a pub/bar and they will deliver to your room. Food is not fabulous, but can have a drink with a view after a long day. Not to worry, there are several restaurants within walking distance which would surely satisfy any specific palette.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

First I would like to say that my family and I have stayed at this property many times in the past and have never had any problems or concerns. I would also like to complement the housekeeping staff member who serviced our room (807) during our entire stay. She was exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Now for my concerns... 1) We checked in very late due to problems encountered during our travel. Upon entering our room and turning on the lights, we noted that the light above the room door was out. No real big deal, but we called the desk to report and have it fixed the next day. The light was never fixed during our stay. 2) Sometime on Saturday (4/12) one of the only two elevators broke. No one notified the guests and no sign was ever posted on the elevator door or anywhere explaining the lack of an elevator. Some waits were as much as 15 minutes to catch an elevator ride. On the morning of our departure (4/15) after making 3 trips to hand carry our items to the car so as to not take up so much room in the only working elevator, that elevator got stuck on the 7th floor with the door open and everyone on it was scared to death. Everyone got off of the elevator and decided to walk down the seven flights. We informed the front desk personnel and they only stated that they hoped the part for the other elevator would arrive soon. They showed no concern over guest safety. This was absolutely unacceptable. 3) The breakfast bar was average. The one issue we had was that there was one staff member who complained all the time and even refused a guest request because there was only 20 minutes left until breakfast was over.

I am embarrassed for the Hilton Brand at this properties lack of concern and too angry to confront them when I was checking out due to their lack of concern over the elevator issue. As stated earlier, I have vacationed at this property many times and have always enjoyed my stays. It is very apparent that the current management is lacking in ensuring guest comfort, communication, and safety. I will no longer recommend this property to others as I have in the past, as I was not satisfied and do not have confidence in the current hotel management.

Room Tip: Stay next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review, we are always delighted to hear from our guests! It’s nice to see such loyal customers that return to our hotel often. We do want to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the elevators. We understand your frustration, especially since you were on a higher floor. Technicians came out and worked diligently on the problem for 2 days. We are also looking into better ways to communicate issues such as these that affect everyone in the building. We hope that you may come and stay with us again in the future.

Brittany Nosay
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
848 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing