We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but should have a pool outdoors.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but should have a pool outdoors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect at the Hampton except for a pool outdoors that was the only draw. the staff was excellent the rooms clean the beds were so comfortable I recommend this hotel but it really does need a hotel pool outside.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    435
    165
    59
    30
See reviews for
639
497
51
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was a great hotel. Close to the beach, which wasn't crowded. Right on the boardwalk and next to a great green space that had various entertainment throughout the weekend. The room was large and well kept.

Room Tip: We chose the king suite. It was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Virginia Beach but we will be back. The hotel was perfect for a quick family getaway the staff was very helpful and the room was just what we wanted. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review and staying with us recently. I am glad to hear you had a great time. We are looking forward to having you again!
Have a fabulous day!

Brittany Nosay
Sales & Marketing MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed here over the weekend and found the hotel staff to be very welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable and had a nice view. Very nice, family oriented location at VA beach. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LisaM4792FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited Virginia Beach for a over night get away. Hotel was perfect. Great value, service, and location! The complimentary breakfast had a great variety of options. The staff working during breakfast was super friendly and enthusiastic. Would visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a tough one. Here is what is positive about the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North: great location, beautiful view from the balconies, nice breakfast, and friendly, pleasant staff. However, one glaring problem with this property was its cleanliness.
We arrived around midnight exhausted from the long drive in, and the room we were given was very dirty. There was a layer of dust under the bathroom sink, the mirrors in the bathroom and room were spotted and filmy, the toilet was not clean and there were hairs on the bathroom floor.When I picked up the phone to call the front desk, I noticed a crust of dirt on the earpiece and mouthpiece of the receiver. I called the front desk to let them know about this situation although I was too tired to switch rooms at this point. The woman at the front desk, Jagruti, was very apologetic and offered to upgrade our room. I ultimately agreed to this and Jagruti came to our room with new room keys. Jagruti was so kind and pleasant-she was a star. She escorted us to our new room, handling our luggage (we told her we would handle it, but she insisted) and ensured the room was acceptable to us in terms of cleanliness (it was much better than our first room, but definitely not without issue). She even offered us ice cream "on the house" as a treat after our ordeal. She is an asset to the Hampton Inn, as is her workmate who was with her at the front desk (didn't get her name but she worked nights and had long blonde hair) who was just as helpful.
When I went to bed that night, I looked up at the wall above my bed and there were small dust bunnies clinging to it. The next day when we opened up the curtains to our balcony, the sliding glass doors were filthy. Hand prints, finger prints, nose prints, and a general layer of dirt covered the glass. The view was amazing, but this definitely detracted from it. As it turns out, housekeeping does not clean the glass doors in the rooms (per our housekeeper) so a maintenance man was sent to do it. He was very pleasant as well and he did a wonderful job cleaning the glass. When housekeeping came to service the room later on, it began to make sense as to why these rooms were dirty. The bare minimum was done to clean the room. At one point, the housekeeper put her foot on one of the dirty towels in the bathroom and moved it around the floor to clean it. No dusting was done either. When my travel companion asked her to vacuum, the housekeeper had to run to the other end of the hall to retrieve it. This makes me feel like this is not standard practice. Don't get me wrong, the housekeeper was nice, but I got the feeling she was overwhelmed.
When I went to the pool later that day, the water seemed very clean. However, the walls/edge around the pool had what looked like a green, mold-like substance on it. Another small issue I encountered was that parking can be difficult. After doing some sightseeing, I arrived back at the hotel at around 2230 and there were NO spots to be had, even though I had a parking pass associated with my room. One of the staff at the front desk ended up moving his vehicle so I could park--I appreciated this more than he probably knows,
Ultimately, this hotel has a great foundation to be one of the better hotels on Virginia Beach--friendly, helpful, and pleasant staff, great location, gorgeous views, comfortable rooms and beds with lots of pillows. They even had Neutrogena bath products, which I loved. The problem here is the cleanliness. I certainly don't need a luxury hotel, but it's not an unreasonable expectation to want a clean room. That is what ultimately guides my choice of hotel when I travel. If the cleanliness of this hotel improved, it would be a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with someone who is elderly/disabled, ask for a room close to the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your wonderful comments about Jagruti and our staff! My apologies for the rooms and your inconvenience to move rooms at such a late hour. We have brought the above comments to housekeeping's attention and will ensure this will not be a recurring issue. Parking can become a problem at times but we ensure that vehicles parked here are either staff or guests only as best we can.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope that you'll stay with us again when you visit Virginia Beach!

-Brittany Nosay
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed in some very nice Hampton Inns. This one was low on the quality. I was not surprised when I was told it had been another lower brand hotel. Maybe I am a bit choosey, I admit but as a Gold Hilton Honors member I was placed on the 2nd floor above the dining room and bar. I have never encountered this anywhere. Exact opposite accommodations from my profile.
Yes the room was clean but quite small and dated. The price was outrageous for the accommodation . I will return to Virginia Beach, but will never do a Hampton Inn there.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask for a higher floor. they all have room a/c units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamptonvboceanfront, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience was not as expected. We researched your concerns, and found that as an HHonors Standard Rewards Stay, you were placed on the appropriate floor. The king room type request on your profile was accommodated despite this being an upgrade from the standard rooms reward.

The hotel was completely rennovated in 2008 when it became the Hampton Inn Oceanfront North in an attractive, resort theme. It has always been maintained to strict Hampton brand standards, and most of our guests enjoy their experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing