We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed here September 11-13th. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and the location is great. All rooms overlook the boardwalk/beach. The rooms looked a little dated, but they were clean and the bed was comfy. Would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavelets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    466
    181
    65
    33
See reviews for
703
532
57
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn while in town for the Virginia Beach Rock and Roll 1/2 Marathon. We picked this hotel for it's location and for the fact we were using Hilton Honors and stayed for free.

The hotel is located right on the boardwalk towards the north end. The location was great. The beach was right outside our door. Each room has a balcony view of the beach and offered great sunsets. The hotel is in walking distance to many touristy stores and restuarants. There is an excellent restaurant next door at the Hilton if you are looking for a nice place to eat.

The room was nice and had a larger than normal frig. This was great as we needed to buy food to have for the race in the morning. The room appeared clean and there were not any major complaints. It did look like there could be a few 'touch ups' of paint and such but nothing that would cause any problem at all.

The boardwalk did make it loud at night if you wanted to sleep with the door open to listen to the ocean. We did get up a few times and close the door. But you are staying on the boardwalk for it's location and should expect such activities occurring all day long.

The parking lot is a bit snug and they have an employee managing who parks in the lot. They do not let any non-staying people to part which is good. We had rented a small car which was easy to park. We did watch a larger SUV having more problems parking. They definitely could use a larger parking lot.

The free breakfast was good and we ate there the first morning. No complaints there. There was plenty of food and it was hot and they kept the area clean. We did not eat there the second day as it was race day and we were up at 430.

We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it. The boardwalk is lacking restaurants though and could use more.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFAMPeoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great place to stay with family - right on the beach. Nice location and a lot cheaper than it's upscale cousin the Hilton next door. On the summer weekends you can walk across the parking lot to the music shell to listen to bands. Room was clean and it was nice to have a fridge too. Check-in was easy although the desk staff were a bit curt (but not discourteous). I have also stayed at the Hampton Inn VA Beach South which may be a bit cheaper, but this one seems newer and better (and also had a refrigerator in the room). Would stay at either one again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recruiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This Hampton was average with a small clean pool and nice sized rooms with a wonderful balcony. As expected, there was sand everywhere to include the bed sheets. The free breakfast was great and well stocked. Location was perfect for going to beach or walking boardwalk. We are military and had a great discount and would not have paid the full asking price for this location. Parking was safe and convenient as well. The housekeeping staff was a bit snarly and lazy but that goes with the territory in these mid-class hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

This is what a 5-star oceanfront hotel should be. From the moment I arrived from a disastrous stay at another Hilton property about 10 miles away, the difference was like night and day. FeFe and Tonya at the desk greeted me by name. The room was absolutely STUNNING [they put me on the top floor, so the view of the ocean was magnificent]. The TV worked, including controls for the DVD player, SAP, and closed captions. The beds were absulutely the best I have ever been in.
I also ate at the restaurant--Timbuktu. The maitre d'hotel greeted me by name, gave my friend and I drinks, apologized if there was to be a wait due to being short staffed--but my friend and I had the most delicious meal. The bartender was even working with a broken leg! We went out on the boardwalk for a bit, and came back to the room; beds turned down, mints on the pillow, bottles of spring water in the ice bucket! The staff really went way out of their way, to make sure I would have a memorable experience.
I also noticed that they extended the same service to most every guest.
The room furnishings were spectacular. I am to inquire where they got their window treatments and paintings.
I know this was a Hampton Inn, but; the owner and the staff ran it like a Four Seasons! This hotel should win 5 stars!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BilingualTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We went to VA Beach for a mini vacation and chose this Hampton Inn. Usually the hotels are nice. We went to our room and discovered the refrigerator wasn't working. It was fixed within minutes. Plus, no additional charge for a rollaway for our 3 yr. old grandson. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2009

There was hair all over the room (the sheets did not seem to be changed, there was a ball of hair near the nightstand). We enjoyed the oceanview but the hotel definitely needed work with their housekeeping. The breakfast was fine, but I cannot recommend due to cleanliness issues.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1secretagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#12 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing