We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

I had read wonderful things about Hampton Inns. However, the one in Virginia Beach, Va was o.k. Just that, o.k. The desk clerk felt the need to chastise me about the rate that I used for my hotel room. It was a legitimate rate that was offered by the hotel when I made my reservations on-line a month ago. I'm not sure why she felt the need to comment on the rate. She should have been happy to have paying customers at the hotel! The room (oceanfront) was adequate, but not as clean as it could have been. The bathroom needed to be renovated and it wasn't as clean as I had hoped for. Parking spaces at the hotel were small. Hard to park an average sized SUV and even get out of the car. All in all, the stay was ok. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandswim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vboceanfront, Manager at Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
First, thank you for taking time to post a review for your recent stay. We regret that it did not meet your expectations. We happily accept online reservations at government Per Diem for government and military personnel traveling on orders or on official business with proper documentation at check-in. We are sorry that the desk clerk questioned your rate, and for any inconvenience, but these are standard terms. Regardless, your online rate was honored at the time in the interest of guest satisfaction.

We take great pride in our beautiful guest rooms and are sorry if your room was not up to our normal high standards. We value your feedback and have brought this to the attention of the housekeeping manager for appropriate follow up with the staff.

The bathrooms along with the guest rooms were fully renovated in 2008, and we have had many compliments about the granite top vanities and wood fixtures; along with our Cloud Nine upgrade bedding, spectacular views and updated decor.

Finally, we provide free on-site parking to our guests and designed the parking lot to accommodate a wide variety of vehicles including tour buses. Nevertheless, we are sorry that you had some trouble accommodating your SUV.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Dan Schaffner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    446
    172
    59
    32
See reviews for
663
510
54
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Couldn't say enough about the service we received. We got to hotel early on a usually hot spring day. Kids were dying to have beach/pool fun. Since it was 3hrs before the actual check in time, our room wasn't ready but the front desk clerk gave us a parking pass, offered use of the pool and gave great reccomendations for lunch. He called during lunch to advise us they had a room ready. Could not ask for better service. (The restaurant on site also had great service). We look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Very nice Hampton with a resaurant, which is very unusual for Hamptons. Great Location, right in the center of town. I love Hamptons. Very Convenient with a fridge and microwave. Great TV , good beds and nicely working thermostat. The Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachfreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

This is a more upscale Hampton Inn than average, with very nice decor and dining room. Location in Virginia Beach is excellent and is right on the beach. All room views are excellent and access to the boardwalk and beach are great. This hotel went out of their way to make sure that we had a room to our liking, and even surprised us with a bottle of champagne (they knew it was a special occasion). We stayed only one night, and they still did things right. Overall it is a clean, newer, well-run hotel located in a good area. If you are looking to stay on the beach in Virginia Beach this has to be one of your choices.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkbarichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We booked a whale watching package through the Virginia Beach Tourism and this is the hotel we selected in their package. Great choice. We were quickly called by the hotel to set up the cruise on the day we wanted and told they'd have our tickets for the boat/aquarium at the desk when we arrive. Since the cruise leaves at 2:30 they said the room may not be ready for check in when we arrive. As we entered the lobby they called us by name (our party of five gave us away) and advised us our room was still occupied. They checked and found the same room type that was empty and let us check in anyway. GREAT. The balcony oceanside was awesome. The staff great, rooms clean, restaurant very good and free breakfast wonderful. We can't wait to go back to this place again in season. Loved it. It is in the heart of Virginia beach right on the water!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyewags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Arrived on Saturday March 13th, very pleasant front desk staff. All rooms look over the beach/ocean, nice location. Room spacious with large TV, desk and couch. We had one big problem, no hot water the following day and we went without showers that day. The hot water issue was repaired that evening, Management although didn't offer any discount for this stay or any following one. Breakfast was pleatiful with hot and cold food and two make your own waffle machines. Overall the staff is very nice and hotel very clean.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Wonderful staff at this hotel! We, 8 of us, really appreciated Fifi at the front desk, as well as another couple of employees. They were very friendly and helpful and definitely made our stay more enjoyable! THANKS!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicayoungling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North

Property: Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Address: 3107 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North is conveniently located in the desirable north end of the boardwalk. All 120 rooms are oceanfront featuring panoramic views of the beach and ocean. Enjoy a breathtaking ocean sunrise from your private balcony before heading downstairs to the complimentary breakfast buffet. At this Virginia Beach oceanfront hotel you get free WiFi, free onsite parking, and a microwave and refrigerator in every room. Relax or play in the waterfall grotto pool and hot tub. Enjoy an oceanfront dinner in the hotel restaurant, North Beach Bar & Grill, or walk to one of many restaurants along Atlantic Avenue. We look forward to an opportunity to provide you with a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing