We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad place ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not a bad place ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here one night because I wanted to clearly see the ocean and this one just gave a glimpse between buildings. It was not a bad place to stay room wise, although the breakfast area was not well kept and dirty and the breakfast was mediocre even for continental.
Overall I would stay here again just not eat breakfast.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wandering_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    327
    231
    131
    97
See reviews for
471
220
49
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this Days Inn. The first time was in January so I was not even aware they had a pool and was pleasantly surprised to find out they did and to see how nice it was. There is a hot tub and plenty of lounge chairs and tables and chairs to sit. The room was a little outdated but it was clean and stocked daily. There is a microwave, and a nice size refrigerator as well as a single serve coffee maker. This is a very nice hotel for the price during peak season. The value cannot be beat. The prices for other hotels were almost double of what I paid to stay at this Days and I would stay there again and recommend it anyone else looking for a great deal.

Room Tip: Any room not near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Feedback from a recent customer at the Days Inn of Virginia Beach on 1000 Atlantic Ave.

I have stayed at Days Inn hotels a few times in the last 20+ years, but never had an experience as unsatisfying as this, especially for the cost of this room. If this was a $99 a night hotel then I would have expected lesser quality, but for $169 I was very disappointed.

When we arrived and checked in on Wednesday June 18th, Room 217 was a non-smoking room but wreaked of cigarette smoke. The front desk was very accommodating and immediately gave us Room 229. What was disappointing is that the housekeeping staff should have noticed the cigarette stench and already notified the front desk earlier in the day so the last tenants could be fined for smoking and the room be fumigated.

The next issue was that we made the reservations online and had declared “5 people” and were given a price. Since we said “5” people and the room had 2 beds, any extra costs should already have been included for the 5th person. But after arriving we were told that for a single cot it was an additional $10 per night. The web site should have included that when the reservation was made.

Room 229 had several problems. In general it was in bad shape, the drywall needed to be repaired and painted, the room smelled musty, the air conditioner didn’t work well, the carpet was not clean, the kitchen and bathroom counter and fixtures looked to be over 25 years old. The faucet in the bath tub didn’t work correctly, the switch to change the water flow from the faucet to the shower head was permanently in the position of shower, so it was not possible to fill the tub for a bath using the faucet - families with small children need to use the bath tub for baths, not just showers. The full length mirror hanging on the wall was only hanging by 2 small nails at the top. When we only slightly bumped it with our elbow it fell right off the wall onto the floor - if this fell on a small child it could have hurt them. The small sink in the bathroom had no drain plug, so any small items that fell into the sink would drop straight down the drain. Finally on the last morning we woke up to find water dripping out of the electrical light on the bathroom ceiling and into the small bathroom sink.

The coin-operated dryer didn’t work to dry 5 damp beach towels. At the end of the cycle the towels were warm and still damp. We stayed at another hotel after this one with the same brand and type of dryers, and the same 5 towels were hot and dry after using that dryer for 30 minutes.

The continental breakfast was actually very good for the quality and variety of food, but the room was over-crowded and hot. The pool area was decent, but the small room with a Ping-Pong table and bathroom needed to be remodeled, it was dirty and ugly.

The front desk staff and other staff we encountered were always friendly, polite, and helpful, so that is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgrazioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

after reading the reviews I wasn't sure if I picked the right hotel, but it was perfectly amazing. great pool, location, and good free breakfast. It even has a hot tub. It was very family friendly and very clean. I loved it! I can't wait to back again.

Room Tip: get a balcony, its pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Roads, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Although I'm from the area, I opted to stay the night in VB for the 2014 Patriotic Festival with some girlfriends in from out of town. This was perfect for us. The room was a good size and a great location! Price was fair. It was convenient to great restaurants, shopping, and the 5th street stage and near a nice beach access. Breakfast was sufficient. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank virginiatraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Days Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfro...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ramada Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#33 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Wyndham Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach

Property: Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Address: 1000 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Beach Days Inn At The Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Days Inn Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing