We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here the last two Labor Day weekends. We really enjoyed this nice oceanfront property.

The pools (indoor and outdoor) were clean, the bar at the outdoor pool has good service, and you can't beat the location if you are looking for oceanfront.

The one negative I have about the property is that the hot tubs weren't hot -- I'd also like a sauna.

Also, anyone who stayed here prior to 2013 will love the huge new parking garage they added (you have the option of free valet as well).

Room Tip: The "cabana" rooms right by the pool can get noisy on the balcony or with your door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our hotel. We recently completed our multi million dollar renovation which included the new outdoor swimming pool and our multi level parking garage. We apologize about the temperature of our hot tubs. I will speak with the engineer to double check the temperature of the Jacuzzi. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    311
    155
    80
    63
See reviews for
367
250
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived in VA beach without a reservation for an anniversary trip looking for a last minute deal. We couldn't find one. We ended up coming to the Sheraton and asking for a king size bed with ocean views, expecting a ~$180 price tag but were happily surprised by a $129 rate. The hotel was nice and they allowed us to keep our bikes right out front. Being in walking distance to the Neptune statue was key with good restaurants and outdoor music nearby.

My only complaint about the hotel is that we couldn't get lounge chairs by the pool. We came in October, but the weather was 85. Repeated requests to the front desk didn't help.

Room Tip: The cabana suites seem to be well priced with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreyHatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for telling us about your trip. I am happy to hear we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary. I apologize you weren't able to enjoy the outdoor pool as your expected. Once the first of October comes our outdoor Cabana's Bar and Grille as well as our pool chairs and table to get shut down and put away for the winter season. The weather can be unpredicable this time of year and we have found it best to use that date as the deadline. If you want to visit us and still enjoy the ourside amenities without the crowd the month of September is very good. I do hope you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a good hotel. The staff is quick and professional. Fastest check-in and check-out I've ever experienced. The valets were helpful and courteous. The hotel has plenty of features like indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, lounge and restaurant. There's a well-equipped children's play area and a spotless fitness center on the lower level.

But it didn't leave me with the 'wow' feeling I had been expecting. This was our first visit to a Starwood property. It was the only hotel where we could get a two-room, oceanfront suite at a reasonable price. We were excited to try the brand for the first time. Our excitement was further bolstered by an email we received a few days before our visit.

Quote: "We are proud to share our multi-million dollar renovation with you, bringing resort style amenities and brand new oceanfront suites."

I don't know what oceanfront suites were brand new, but ours certainly wasn't. I'm not even sure the cabana suites were touched by the renovation. The beds were spectacular. The rest of the furniture, not so much. The sofa was old and worn out. Sagging cushions and worn upholstery. The two armchairs were rock hard and uncomfortable. The TV's were HD, but there was no HD reception in the living room, only the bedroom. Neither issue was a big deal, we were there for the beach, not the room, but it was disappointing, especially after the renovation email.

The bigger deal was the bathroom. The tub was dirty when we arrived. A quick phone call to the front desk solved the problem. A staff member was there within an hour to take care of the problem. Nothing she could do about the cracked and peeling paint on the ceiling above the door.

I understand that these beach hotel rooms are used pretty hard over the summer, so none of these issues were deal-breakers. This hotel provided an excellent value for our stay and overall we were happy with the service.

The green option (coupons or points in lieu of housekeeping service) is excellent. More hotels should follow this lead. Be aware, choosing this option means that in addition to not getting make-up service, your consumables (coffee, tea, soaps) will also not be refilled. The front desk agent made us feel like we were demanding the moon when we asked for coffee supplies for four (there was four of us in the room) on our second day. The rest of the staff was excellent, so we chalked that unpleasantness up to someone having a bad day at work.

We were happy with our stay at the Sheraton. It's a nice hotel, but given the number of other options in the immediate area, it's unlikely that we'll return here on our next trip to Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the first few floors of the cabana face directly onto the ourdoor pool area. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am glad to hear that overall your enjoyed your visit with us. I do hope you reconsider coming to see us again. The Cabana section of the hotel is a brand new area that was not part of the building two years ago. It was added on during the first stage of the renovations and have only two summers under their belt. We do take pride in our make a green choice program, but it is like putting a do not disturb sign on your door. Housekeeping will not visit the room unless asked. Your review is very good and give us a lot to work from. We appreciate honest feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation at another brand that we both work for back home. That hotel was run down and cleanliness was questionable so we checked out and came here.

Sheraton's service was good the room was clean, fresh and tastefully done. We felt very relaxed and this hotel suited our style much better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for tell us about your stay. I am happy to hear we were able to make your vacation more relaxing. We take great pride in our hotel and we hope it shines through to our guests as it did to you. I hope you come and see us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a beautiful hotel! Room was clean, bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The pool looked very inviting but we didn't get a chance to use it. Front desk was very helpful and pleasant. We would stay here agai.n

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachylady2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy to hear you had a good time while staying with us. I hope we get to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely property for 3 nights as part of a meeting/convention. I expected the usual but was thoroughly blown away by the staff, facility and, even, the food! The staff was attentive and friendly, the facility was spotless, the bedding in the room was excellent, and the "convention" food was really very good! This hotel is wonderfully situated on the beach/boardwalk, convenient to all sites.

I highly recommend it and would return any time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsNMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you had a great time while attending your convention. Our hotel does have beautiful renovated ballrooms, and it it nice to hear our guests are enjoying the new look as well as the new food from our Fusion kitchen. I hope to see you again future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice clean rooms , great view of Beach and Ocean . Booked Ocean front room. Great beds, good sleep. Love the fish tacos during happy hour! Inside bar was nice. Breakfast was always a wait to get in, but very good. Outside pool is very small. Inside pool is a good size but hard to get to. Kids club was a joke! gym small but okay with good view. Walking distance to most everything! hop on hop off sort of bus 1.00 to the Virginia Aquarium.

Room Tip: book ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seenewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your oceanfront room and our Fusion restaurant. Our kids club does offer fun things to participate in such as mad science labs, crafts, and outside activities but unfortunately only during are summer peak season. Our gym was recently renovated and we moved it down to beach level for a nice oceanfront view so guests can look out onto the ocean as they workout. Our hotel is located on the north side of the beach but not too far from the central area and other main various attractions. Overall, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing