We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #28 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrie Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed for two nights earlier this month. The hotel is located right on the beach and conveniently located. Parking is directly across the street in an indoor parking garage.

We arrived early for our visit (shortly after noon-hour). The lady on the front desk said that our room wasn't ready, but she took our phone number and said she would call when it was ready. We waited until after 4pm and no phone call. We returned to the hotel it was complete chaos in the lobby. Staff were having a hard time keeping up with everything. We found out that our room was ready and had been for some time. The women explained that she got too busy to call us. This was very frustrating as we had travelled over 12 hours to enjoy Virginia Beach. Please don't say your going to do something and not follow through. Poor customer service.

The Bellhop was great getting us to our room and getting us settled. He took the time to show us the hotel. We ate the breakfast buffet at the main restaurant on our last morning. Service and food was excellent.

The room was excellent. Typical Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed facing the ocean. We woke up in the mornings and enjoyed a coffee on the balcony watching dolphins.

The fitness center is excellent. Several pieces of equipment with large windows facing the ocean.

I would highly recommend this property if you are visiting Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve&Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am happy to hear your trip was good despite the rocky check in. Summer's can make the hotel extremely busy and the staff does all they can to follow through on all calls for early check in. I apologize we were unable to follow through when you arrived, but we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    311
    155
    80
    63
See reviews for
367
250
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I and our two children had a lovely 10-day stay at the Sheraton Oceanfront in VA Beach. This property is the perfect size for a beachfront resort, and the location is great – a little quieter and more relaxed than further south on the boardwalk. It has all the amenities of a larger hotel, but isn't so big that as a guest you feel like just a number. This is our fifth year coming to this hotel, and the location, accommodations and staff are the reasons why. The very friendly staff go out of their way to make your stay a good one, and we feel like we know many on a first-name basis after spending our beach vacations here the last several summers. We really enjoyed our oceanfront room on the 10th floor – it was beautiful, spacious, comfortable, and clean. Over the last two years, the hotel has made many renovations, which have made it even more comfortable and eye-pleasing. All of the staff are so nice, from Kathy in Housekeeping to Maintenance to the Front Desk team. Bekah, Tia and Olivia were especially helpful in making our stay comfortable. Bekah helped us with a number of details prior to our stay. When a small issue arose, Olivia was great in listening to us and helping to resolve the problem in a timely manner. She was both professional and genuinely concerned. It was clear that she had some ideas on how to set up a better and more responsive protocol and how to train all of the staff on the new plan. Tia tried to help us track down a lost item that we left behind after we returned home. Jada, Lee, Katie, Amanda, Rachel and other Front Desk staff (I wish I could remember all their names) were very accommodating. There were a few days when we could not go into the ocean due to a rare bacteria problem, so it was great that we could use the clean and well appointed outdoor and indoor pools. We look forward to coming back to the Sheraton Oceanfront in VA Beach next summer, and hopefully many more to follow. Thanks to all the staff there!

Green Features: Fantastic that they allow Green Choice and have many eco-friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyandNickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy to hear the service provided by the front desk staff made your stay great. Bekah, Tia, Olivia, Jada, Lee, Katie, and Amanda are all great additions to our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel and when they gave us our room, we walked in to find that somebody else was already in that room. They did give us breakfast to make up for it. Thankfully no one was in there when we walked in but that could have been a terrible experience. It also happened to a friend of mine that next day. So I think they need to come up with a better system. Otherwise the hotel was nice and a good a location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDivaNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologize for the mix up with your rooms but we are glad that it could be corrected. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Just do not settle for a city view if you can get an oceanfront room.
Good location if you don't mind walking a couple blocks south where the main activities are.
Pool not heated.
After 3-4 the water gets cold.
Indoor pool has glass windows so people from outside can see you.
Pet friendly so if your kids likes dogs I guess it can be a plus.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cirilen_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and you right that oceanfront is the best view in the house! I hope we get to see you again the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice hotel exceed expectations. Highly recommended. Our first family vacation in Vbeach. we were very worried from the reviews but after being there we found service is very good. rooms are spacious nice view (partial ocean view)

only Cons:

elevator

Room Tip: partial ocean view is amazing view you will see the whole ocean as no high buildings around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We do know our elevators are slow, but unfortunately that is an aspect of the hotel that is structural and can't be changed much. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromont, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

First, I must mention the awesome staff! They were all very professional, helpful and courteous. The food at both restaurants (Fusion and Cabanas) was very good and reasonably priced, and the staff there too, excellent! As for the room, it was updated and very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The beach and boardwalk is straight out front with many activities at walking distance. My family and I have really enjoyed our stay. The only upgrade would be the pool area... add a few more luxuries, lights, flowers and a heated pool (we like swimming after dinner) and the place would be my favorite in Virginia Beach!

Room Tip: Oceanfront is probably the best!
See more room tips
Green Features: If you can go without housekeeping, you receive a 5$ coupon at one of the hotel's restaurants.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We're happy to hear the service was above your expectations. The beds you enjoyed are part of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed experience, and can be purchased on Sheraton.com so you can enjoy them in your very own home! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

In high need of some R&R. Just packed our son off to college (& celebrating an anniversary) we headed for the beach. Arrived a little later than we expected (about 7pm). Upon entering our room on the ground level just outside of the pool bar and due to noise level coming from outside we turned around and went right back to the front desk. The front desk clerk (Jada) and the on duty front desk mgr., were extremely helpful in getting us a much nicer, quieter room on the 8th floor which was a bit of a challenge as the hotel was running full. After dropping off our luggage we went down to Cabanas (outdoor restaurant overlooking the beach), were served by a very friendly waiter (Steve) and had a fabulous dinner & drinks. The stress started melting away. Perfect location (right on the beach!) direct access to the boardwalk, great restaurants, shops & entertainment!! The weather was perfect and there was so much to see and do. Only wish we had more time! Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamigirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We're glad to hear that Jada and Steve were able to provide you great service! They are great assets to our team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 3501 Atlantic Avenue, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing