We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Islip, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a fun five day getaway. Plenty of sun and beach. Hotel right on Atlantic Ave, the only thing between the hotel and the beach was the boardwalk ;)
Was a little away from the crowded area but not far enough where you couldn't walk to the busy streets. Car not needed, everything is close by stores, restaurants etc. Had breakfast in a little cafe, it was off the beaten but the owners were friendly and the muffins were delicious. Staff was friendly and partial ocean view is just as good as ocean view.
Relaxing fun and yes I will return again.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean view
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel is environmentally friendly. We are given a choice to forgo housekeeping and when you need fresh towel just call. Recycle bins available
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad to hear that the staff and the room met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    319
    163
    84
    66
See reviews for
383
254
27
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was our 2nd trip to the Sheraton and 1st since the renovation. We had an Oceanfront room and would thoroughly recommend as it was wonderful to look directly out at the ocean and beach. Our terrace was a good size and it was lovely to watch the people on the boardwalk and the sky at night. The new pool is a little small when busy but pretty, although quite fresh as it is in the shade for quite a lot of the afternoon. We dined at Cabana's, the hotel's beach side grill and food was great and really good value. Service was excellent and we would particularly like to mention Villa who was brilliant, friendly and efficient and was the only member of staff to mention the SPG discount at the restaurants. We would also like to mention Rose who served in both the bar and restaurants and was excellent they were both a credit to Starwood and this Sheraton. The last evening was too windy and a storm was looking like heading in so Cabana's was closed. We dined in Fusion, the hotel's main restaurant and although the service again was really friendly, the food was not as good value and actually two of the entrees (beef rib with mash) ordered out of three were some of the poorest food we had on our holiday. Having said that it may have just been a bad choice! The breakfast buffet is good value and again service at breakfast was excellent. There is an indoor pool which is great if weather not good and parking is free. During happy hour in the bar, it would be useful to have another member of staff as this got way too busy for one person to serve bar, customers at tables, as well as serving food to some, the lovely lady we had, however, managed to remain calm and friendly and approachable. Overall this is a great choice and we would definitely return if back in Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Definitely an Oceanfront room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for telling us about your wonderful stay. We're glad to hear Villa and Rose were able to make your stay memorable; they are great additions to our team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onancock, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

stayed there in august, had a great view of ocean and boardwalk from room, excellent staff, great customer service, will be back again, great outside bar too, relaxing fun and exciting trip all around...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The room was very small for three people, city view was of the parking garage across the street. Shower head had little pressure, kind of like taking a shower from a straw. Staff was helpful and very friendly and on the beach is a huge selling point, but don't think it is worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psj1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to hear the room was not up to your expectations, but we are glad to hear the staff was friendly. We hope to welcome you again, perhaps in an oceanfront room next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Nice and convenience hotel location to restaurants, nearby attractions and boardwalk. We stayed at the oceanfront that has a very nice view. The staffs are also friendly. Sheraton also has free nearby parking. You can also hire a bicycle for $8/hr right outside the hotel.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tpnMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spend a night in this hotel as part of a road-trip-type holiday. The hotel is perfectly located right on the boardwalk about midway along it's length. The rooms are very nicely laid out, with comfortable bedding and well soundproofed. The later is very important because there is a fairly continuous run or sorties by F-16s & F-18s from the nearby marine base.

My only complaint was that the service was a little hit-and-miss. For example, since we arrived early, the girl at the front desk said she'd call us when the room was ready. She never did and we eventually had to check for ourselves only to find that the room had been ready for hours. The other problem was a finicky toilet (20 min to fill) that they could not fix because of a "missing part". Fortunately we were only there the one night so this was not a huge issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We're sorry your checkin process did not meet your expectations, but we are glad to hear you enjoyed the room. The bedding, along with the mattress, is part of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper collection, and can be purchase at Sheraton.com to enjoy in your very own home! We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We just spent Labor Day weekend at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. It was so relaxing. It is further north on the boardwalk so it tends to be quieter, which was nice. It is a great place for families. The staff was great - I even left my iPad there and they are shipping it to me.... I honestly figured that was lost for good! Would definitely recommend this to anyone going to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RITigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tia M, Front Desk Supervisor at Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful stay. I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations and that we could ship your iPad back to you! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 3501 Atlantic Ave, 36th Street & Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcomes and great ocean views greet you at the Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel. Situated on the exclusive northern end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk with direct beach access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing