We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Accommodating Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed two nights celebrating my birthday. We have stayed at this hotel several times, and we have enjoyed our stay each time. We had a couple of issues with the room, but all concerns were handled immediately and to our standards. This is a very clean hotel with a super friendly, polite and professional staff. Above and beyond other similar hotels in the area. Excellent rates. The beach was beautiful, and we had great weather. We saw about 6-8 people riding horses on the beach at sunset! What a great idea. We want to do that next visit. The restaurant food was great. We had mini blackened crab cakes as an appetizer and crab cake sandwiches. We got to the hotel late, and the restaurant was closing, but they let us in anyway. Never had that happen before.

Room Tip: Great views from the top floor (12th). Some issues with other guests smoking on balconies.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us again. The Crab Cakes are homemade by our chef and I agree they are outstanding. The view is second to none on the beachfront since the dolphins enjoy a swim in the morning, afternoon and sometimes even while the horses are walking the beach. A great picture. We are located in the middle of the beachfront so everything is within walking distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed two nites for business 2/14. Hotel was quiet which was nice. Plenty of free parking in their own outside lot. Greeted warmly by front desk manager. Upgraded me to a suite which had its own bar, fridge and microwave.
All rooms have a beach view and I was lucky enough to be on the top (12th) floor. Both elevators were very fast. I enjoy seeing the ships and you also get to watch the sun rise!
I liked the bed and pillows! This is something that I often cannot state when reviewing properties. Plenty of light, HVAC worked well. Bathroom was fine. Room had new carpet and a single 32" LCD TV. Plenty of channels to satisfy. Plenty of outlets too.
Wireless internet worked well only complaint was that you had to fill in the name and password for the HI network each and every time you wanted to use the internet. Most properties at least let you have a day before you have to re-enter everything.

Ate dinner both times at the Hemingway themed restaurant on site. Very updated with nautical decor but modern not cheesy. Bartenders were friendly and my club sandwich was good both nites!

Breakfast was great service but my mushroom omelets were not very well prepared.

Would stay again for business off season.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for the feedback about your last stay at the Oceanside Holiday Inn. The views here are the best along with our staff. WE have looked into the access issues and you are right there is a 24hour access time frame allowed without re-entering your password which was fixed. The Wifi is always free no matter where you are in the hotel. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Everything at this hotel exceeded our expectations. Staff were amazing, rooms spacious (3 adults sharing) views amazing - we even got a glimpse on a couple of days of dolphins swimming by. The hotel in centrally located, its right on the beach to the front and to the back is a variety of bars and restaurants and touristy shops! We ate in the restaurant on one occassion, I asked for a particular glass of wine, but they had sold out, however about 20 mins later they came over and said they had managed to get some (not sure where/how but nevertheless) That quite impressed me!

Although we didn't use the pool, it looked clean and was in regular use by other guests. Near the lifts was a box where you could leave or borrow various beach items - boogie boards, buckets and spades, floating aids etc.

Staff were informative of the local area and extemely polite and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thanks for the great comments about the staff and hotel. We are always looking for new ideas in order to WOW our guests. I agree the view is the best and seeing dolphins on a daily basis never gets old. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014 and were extremely happy. From the moment we arrived the front desk employees were polite friendly and helpful. It started snowing the minute we got there and they told us about the limited employees and services because of it. Our room was spacious clean and comfortable with a king size bed, couch and two chairs. It also had a flat screen tv and breakfast bar with sink. The closet was large and had enough hangers to hold all the winter coats. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job cleaning and sanitizing the room. And even with the snow we were able to get everything we needed and wanted. Lenita Jones and Verisis Brown were so very helpful at the front desk. We had to send a very important fax late in the evening and they didn't even blink. Verisis even went in the back and printed out cover sheets for us. Paul (I think that was his name) at the bar was great. He stayed open a little later since we were snowed in and made sure we had all we needed. Thanks guys for making a bad situation a lot easier. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The suite is a little more expensive but worth it if you will be there for more than a few days.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the comments and staying with us during our last snow event. Your feedback about the staff and hotel will be shared with everyone as part of their daily stand up meetings. We hope to see you again when the sun is shining so you can enjoy the view but I must say the view was still outstanding watching the snow fall throughout the oceanfront. Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn at 21st street on 2/8. I had a 8 and 10 year old with me. EVERYTHING WAS CLEAN.

PARKING: it wasnt good. It was tight, but I got a space not far from the door, so I was alright with that.

PUBLIC AREAS: It looked nice in the lobby. I didnt go to the restaurant so I cant speak on that. I did go to the indoor pool. It isnt large at all. There isnt a hottub in the indoor pool area. It was very clean but FREEZING. I swim alot, so believe me on the temperature! The kids loved the pool.

ROOM: The room was way down the hall, so it was quite. No noise from outside at all. GREAT VIEW!!!! The room was VERY clean. The bathroom was in good condition. It was pretty cold outside, but the heat never warmed the room up as much as a liked. It blowed cool air sometimes during the night. The beds are high and as a short person, I had to hop on the bed. The kids thought that was great. I didnt sleep well because the beds werent comfortable to me. The kids slept great.

I would come back for a mini-vacation again, but I wouldnt stay here for a week long vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for the great feedback and we hope to see you and the family again sometime soon. Thanks again for the helpful comments about the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My fiancee and I wanted a weekend get away that wasn't too far from our hometown of Fredericksburg VA, so we chose Virginia Beach. We got a great deal on the room, and I was blown away by the service and quality of the facilities. Not only did we get a complementary breakfast (think ordering from a menu not a bagel) but when we first walked into our room all we could smell was air freshener and the room was spotless! I've never experienced that in a hotel before! The staff was very helpful, especially Verisis Brown. While we didn't ask for a late check out, she thought we might appreciate one and gave us one anyway. Only negative was that the pool, while heated, still felt cold.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidmarrykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and Verisis at our front desk. We continue to look for ways to improve service and value for the price paid so the next time your are in the area look up some of our 15 guest room packages that we offer. Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This Is a great hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms and very affordable. The hotel has a great restaurant, the waiter Paulie was our server and did a great job! We are definitely going to book a stay this summer at the Holiday Inn Oceanside. Every morning there are dolphins swimming in the ocean, a beautiful site to see.

Room Tip: All rooms are Oceanside with Balcony, very nice rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281mike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St), responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the great feedback which will be shared with the entire team. No matter the time of year every morning and afternoon there are dolphins swimming in the ocean, sometimes just a few yards from the beach. We look forward to your return over the summer and please remember we have packages with breakfast included for everyone in your room for only $5 additional dollars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)

Address: 2101 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346 (Formerly Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach)
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £86 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel in the heart of the Virginia Beach Resort District, a hotel especially designed to make your Virginia Beach vacation fun, comfortable and convenient. At the Holiday Inn Oceanside hotel, Virginia Beach, VA, all of our 150 rooms offer a beautiful oceanfront view of the coast and boardwalk with a large private balcony, refrigerator, coffee maker, free wireless high-speed Internet access, pay-per-view movies and HBO. Our guest rooms are perfect for family vacations, business travel or that special weekend getaway. Enjoy a delicious meal in your hotel room using our convenient room service or visit Key West Bar & Grill open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For your enjoyment we also have an oceanfront outdoor cafe for a relaxing meal overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You are only seconds away from many of the main attractions that Virginia Beach Resort District has to offer such as the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center, Farm Bureau Live and the Virginia Beach Convention Center. Whether you are in Virginia Beach on business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Oceanside Hotel is the perfect east coast oceanfront retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Oceanside (21st) Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing