We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vriginia Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Everything about my visit was awesome. I'm a teacher and stayed during part of my Spring Break. I just lost my mother and needed some time to reflect. This was the place. From the crisp clean sheets, friendly staff, price, simplicity at it's best with an oceanfront room! I couldn't have found a better spot. My one day visit turned into 3 days- I didn't want to leave!!! I've always stayed at high end hotels (not an econo lodge), and I did the very next week, but I enjoyed myself here better than the other place down the road. I even walked back and told them how much I missed them. BIG thank you to the staff...and for the best coffee ever! I want to come back right now. :)

Room Tip: This is a great place to relax and get away. I liked the second floor because I like to leave the sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank starlightnpungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    135
    37
    5
    3
See reviews for
175
152
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Read the reviews and were initially skeptical about the high rating for a two-star hotel but were very pleased with the value, service, and location. The hotel is on a quieter part of the beach, and although somewhat spartan, is well-maintained. The heated outdoor pool water quality is excellent. The free breakfast is simple but well done. Free bikes on site allow for exploring the boardwalk and even the state part a few miles to the north. Hotel staff made a great dinner recommentation for us at Tautog's, a few blocks away. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PGCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed one night here during 'off-season', and found it to be a nice, clean, chain hotel. The location is superb. Out out main floor patio door was the boardwalk and beach with great views of the ships approaching Chesapeake Bay and Norfolk Naval Base.In the morning we were greeted by a lovely sunrise and dolphins on the ocean. Lots of choices for eating, try Tautog's a great restaurant a few blocks away. Their 'She-crab Soup' may be the best bowl of soup I've ever eaten.
We would definitely stay at this Econo Lodge again!

Room Tip: Walk out of main floor rooms right on to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The rate looked good initially. The staff is friendly, from the manager to the front desk to security. Outdoor swimming pool. Deck lounge. Our room and the hotel was clean. In the middle of all the happenings on the board(cement)walk, restaurants, coffee shops like Starbucks, and so on. Very limited breakfast offerings -- muffins, bagels, juice, coffee, no flavored coffee flavoring. Small parking lot. Tight. No elevator, so if you're going to have lots of luggage, just stay on the first level if available. This is an old building that has the air/heat system controlled by the management. If the management decides to place the 'system' on neutral, then you can't get air or heat. This was the situation on Day 2 of our visit and it made for a very uncomfortable sleeping environment. The room temperature was too warm which made it very uncomfortable. Normally sleep comfortably in temps around 60 - 62 degrees with air moving. Expect to be 'comfortable' in my guest room. Now the rate isn't looking so good after all. Anyway, getting back to the story...we had to open the door in order to allow cool air in (and flying critters too, since there is no screen door...). Would have been nice if the hotel communicated about the older air/heat system as a warning on their site so guests requiring individually controlled thermostats could find lodging elsewhere.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant; just limited breakfast offerings. Choose a room on first floor if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank slowee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

First time in Virginia Beach and we chose this hotel based soley on reviews on Tripadvisor! Were not disappointed!! Couldn't have asked for more for the price or value. All rooms have ocean view--we had one on 3rd floor with balcony. Hotel doesn't have an elevator, so be ready to be in shape! Providing a breakfast was a big selling point, and even though it was small, it had everything my family liked to eat. 4 cold cereals to choose from, bagels (at least 3 flavors to choose from) two toasters, juice, milk, oatmeal, muffins and danishes and STRONG coffee! There is no room to really sit in the breakfast area, but you can take it back to your room and eat on the balcony (which we did every morning) or you can eat by the pool. Speaking of the pool---warm!!!!!!!!!! This is coming from a person who NEVER swims in hotel pools, because their definition of "heated"is a joke! This pool was 90 degrees! It's outside in an extremely protected area, so it's pleasant even if it's windy. (30-40 mph winds our first day, and it was beautiful at the pool!) Pool is clean with plenty of lounge chairs. Rooms are basic, but very clean with fridge and microwaves. The staff are very friendly and helpful--we didn't arrive until after 9:30pm, and when I called to alert them that we were arriving late, they said "No problem!". Bikes to borrow at no cost--can take them for 1 hour, but if no-one is waiting, can take them or longer. Not alot of demand this time of year, but can imagine there is in the summer! Lots of souvenir shopping within walking distance, along with various place to eat. Only had to take car out of parking lot twice! Great value and great time!!! So glad we chose this hotel!!! Would come back anytime!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scooz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

People were excellent , room was on patio with chairs to watch the beach and people . Rates were good and had good parking . Breakfast was OK but not many choices . Really liked the place but the floor in the bathroom was not very clean and the bottom of the door was showing signs of rot or water damage

Room Tip: first floor rooms are right at the beach with a small patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Clean room, good breakfast, on the boardwalk, oceanfront balcony. What more could you ask for for a reasonably priced getaway to the beach, oceanfront! Well, there is one more thing to mention....the staff. The housekeeping and maintenance staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. They make the guests feel comfortable and they go out of their way to help them feel they are right at home. Great place to stay on the beach in Virginia Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a balcony on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Property: Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing