We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family and I booked a last minute trip Easter weekend but neither of us wanted to stay in a super expensive hotel. To our surprise, they had a double queen ground floor room available. We had looked at reviews before booking the room so we took our chance on reviews. To our surprise, it was a very nice room, more than expected for an econo-lodge. It had a beautiful view of the ocean, friendly staff and most everything we needed was in walking distance. My only complaint would be parking but other than that, I would recommend and here stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofone97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your business very much. Since you mentioned parking, while our parking lot might be tight, we always have a place on-site for all our guests and not at a satellite lot 1 or 2 blocks away. And we are always ready to step out and assist our guests with parking. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly hope we get the chance to see you again on your next visit to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

stayed the first week of June, had high expectations based on the reviews and was not disappointed. I called the hotel two days prior to arrival to change dates and Art was very helpful.
When I arrived he treated me like someone I would have known a very long time instead of just another customer. Room smelled very clean and my wife and I were very happy with housekeeping. Pool was warm and very clean also. Can't complain about location for sure. No doubt we will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: would not want a room on ground floor, just seems a little too "open" to people on the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We appreciate the great review. It so nice to here you had a good time and enjoyed the hotel. We are excited to know you will be coming back again and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When I booked this hotel I kept my expectations low but when I arrived I was very pleased to find a clean room in a great ocean-front location. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a luxury hotel you will be very disappointed but if you want a clean, basic room within walking distance of places to eat, shop and stroll then this is the place for you. My teenage daughters were thrilled with the beach right outside our door, clean (but small) pool, free bikes (one hour limit), close tacky beach shops and Sweet Frogs a few doors down.
The beds were comfortable and there was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe in the room. I never heard anyone in the rooms next to us but then again we were staying in the first week of June so the hotel wasn't full. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great Cuban restaurant across the street, Cactus Jack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiewritesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear you had such a nice visit. We also thank you for your business, and hope we get the opportunity to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a family vacation on the beach. Everything we could have asked for in a beach front hotel. Everything from the pool, the complimentary breakfast, to the rooms and wi-fi was everything we needed. Only negative is parking can be a challenge during prime times but otherwise a great stay at a great hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front with a balcony. If you can get a 1st floor room then you can exit your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed yourselves here. While we agree with you that parking here is very tight, we are happy to have all of our parking onsite rather than have our guests park a block or two away from the property. We appreciate your business and hope to see back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If so, yes, it is 'Excellent.'. But most of the rest is average at best. Friendly housekeeping staff and helpful day manager. Nice flowers and new mulch. However, the night manager would do well to take a customer service refresher.

When booking, I requested a quiet room, preferably on the end, away from the activity. We (mom and I) were put on the first floor right next to....everything that makes noise. Summary: Take away oceanfront and you have what you have at any Econo Travel anywhere else.We try a couple of places each time we are in that area. The second choice on this trip was hands down the better choice. No processed muffins, hard boiled eggs or lukewarm coffee in their office, tho ....... : )

Room Tip: Bottom level does not have sliding glass doors, only a regular exterior door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our property, and please accept my apologies for what seems to have been an underwhelming stay for you and your mother. The staff here usually gets glowing comments from our guests as we try to make each and every stay a pleasant experience. It seems we have failed to make a positive impression and I am truly sorry. Our rating is based primarily on our people as is evident from the overwhelming majority of our comments here. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to make a better impression in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went here for my girlfriend's 25th over Memorial Day and we had a great time at the hotel! Art and the entire staff are super friendly and extremely helpful with everything, literally they were superb. Add that you are one block away from the ocean and in beautiful Virginia Beach and you won't want to leave. Thanks for the excellent stay, Art and gang! JS

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, not a bad spot in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for the nice review, it was nice meeting you and your girlfriend and we enjoyed doing our little part to help her celebrate her birthday! We are certainly happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Bring her back down next year and we will celebrate all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 days, May 11 to 16. What a great place. The staff were all very welcoming, from the front desk to the guy testing the pool. You get a balcony overlooking the boardwalk, a stone's throw from the ocean. The property is a little older but the pool was well kept, as were the grounds. Everything was clean and well maintained. There is a continental-style breakfast from 7 to 10am. You can sign out a bike to ride around the area. In addition to two chairs on the balcony there is a small table with two chairs in the room, a microwave and a fridge.There are two supermarkets relatively close, both have a deli, the further one, Farm Fresh, would steam fresh caught lobster tails for you and cook scallops. We did go out to eat a couple of times, but having dinner on the balcony overlooking the ocean was a real treat.
The resort part of the beach is close to a navy base so there are jets flying by during the day, but they don't fly during the night and honestly you get used to it pretty quickly
We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: it is three floors and there are no elevators, but if you can handle stairs then the 3rd floor offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffO_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Wow! What a great review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know what you thought about our property, and especially the kind words. The staff here genuinely appreciates that their efforts are noticed, and appreciated. We hoe we get the chance to see you again very soon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#3 of 109 in Virginia Beach
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Beach Resort
Belvedere Beach Resort
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £42 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing