We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations and Ratings....in the eyes of the beholder..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Expectations and Ratings....in the eyes of the beholder..”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I rarely give an "excellent", but feel that this is an excellent property to make a point which this property makes well.

We were there a few days before the 4th of July and area and this hotel were near full, (if not full). Parking, breakfast area, therefore were full capacity.

I like tripadvisor and other review sights to help me set expectations. Some skim them and just look at the score. Based on price, staff and location, this is a #3 of 150 hotel, but this does not mean that it would meet expectations of those looking for a pristine room at a 5-star hotel.

Hotel is one of the oldest on the "strip". Those who like to run around with cameras and take pictures of what they feel are defects will have plenty of ammo. Despite coats of paint, rust spots on door hinges, especially near the ocean are fairly certain sites. AS such, those folks should avoid this hotel.

For others comparing price, location, amenities and staff, this 38 room 3-story Econo Lodge, with no elevator, and yes, tight parking is a winner.

From the beginning GM Leonard quickly answered a pre-arrival question for me and inquired about my arrival time. On site, I was astonished at the smiling staff from counter, to cleaning, to maintenance. Even Dan looked fresh after wresting the 18 foot alligator out of the swimming pool. (Joke on the alligator, no sharks either). I was further astonished at the size of the staff for so few rooms. They fanned out, did their work, and smiled, asking, (not having to be asked) if we needed anything. I've travelled much from very low end to moderately high end all inclusives. I can't think of any US facility where staff has been friendlier.

The tight parking was a challenge for me, in our CR-V with my limited neck/back mobility, but someone could always be found to help. If you are towing, you might have a problem. Unlike other facilities nearby, everything was onsite and easy in/out. Beat walking two blocks every time you needed something.

Location: If you took one of the 12 first floor rooms, you can step out on the boardwalk. If you take one of the upper floor rooms, you trade having to walk around the building to the beach for a great view and slightly more privacy.

Right at 28th street you are about 2/3rds "up" the board walk. Restaurants abound, mixed value there, but something for everyone.
(Boardwalk is about 3 miles long). Included Bicycles are great for getting an overall tour.

AC worked well. Had to turn it down most of the time.

Wifi Seemed weak a few times from our third floor room, but found that multiple routers did show up on the menu, and found one that had a strong signal after experimenting.

Breakfast was slightly below par, I expected the basic cold breakfast from other reviews, but a few more fruit choices would have been nice, and area was tight to navigate. Tables outside by the pool worked well with Dan ensuring the umbrellas were functioning. Staff was great there too, quickly refreshing the coffee and orange juice. Several full service breakfast spots nearby, and we were content with what was included overall.

Price: By joining the free Choice Hotel program, we got a better deal than other "clubs", AAA, discount programs I usually use, but even without the extra discount rooms were about $40-60 per night lower than larger hotels next door. I prefer the smaller hotels, easy in/out, etc, so while this was a great choice for us, others might prefer to go where the overhead is higher.

Again, it's about perception. If you're a value hunter, but want right on the beach, I recommend Econo Lodge. If you're a bit of a connoisseur who doesn't to maybe get slightly jostled at a small cold breakfast bar, needs an elevator, or needs a fresh look everywhere, you probably should look for a hotel that doesn't have "ECONO" in it's name.

Virginia beach is quite a drive for us, but it's a great beach and the area is rich in history from Jamestown, to Yorktown, to Richmond Civil War. We most likely will return and if we do, it won't take me any time at all next time picking my hotel.

Room Tip: No Elevator. First floor rooms open to the beach in the rear. Second/third floor rooms great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I often thank a reviewer for taking their time to submit a review, but in this particular case I'm not sure that thank you really says enough! We very much appreciate the honest and very thorough review. We believe our hotel offers one of the best values on the beach and it seems that you would agree. Our people make the difference, and our entire staff will be encouraged that you singled them out for attention. I am fortunate to have such a great team. Thank you very much your business. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    139
    37
    5
    3
See reviews for
182
155
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I were very pleased with this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and provided great service - I felt that I got to know them on a personal basis over our five night stay. The night manager, especially, was helpful in getting us settled in at 1:30 am after a very long drive.The rooms are not the largest around, but we were surprised that they ran the depth of the building. For our ground floor room, we entered the from the lobby/parking lot through the front door and exited to the boardwalk/beach through the back - very convenient for making a quick trip to the ocean. The one caveat to this facility is the very tight parking area - it is barely big enough to hold all of the guest vehicles. The staff, however, do a great job of managing the arrangement, and we were happy to see private security patrolling the lot at night. Overall, I felt that our money was well spent, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - the boardwalk and beach are 30 feet from your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. The staff will be happy to read this and appreciate that that their efforts were recognized. We will agree that our parking lot is tight, and glad the staff took care of assisting with getting you parked. The good news on parking is that all our guests have a place on site to park, rather than at a satellite lot a block or more away from the property. We do hope to have you back again look forward to that opportunity. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I loved this little treasure on the beach! We were a little skeptical at first; but it was so nice. All the rooms are ocean front. The pool is a tucked away oasis. It was super clean. The faculty was very nice and helpful. They had decent coffee. Great location in the midst of everything with the major event tents several blocks down on either side. It was both central and yet quiet. The hotel also offers free bike rental. Since the hotel is small, fewer people crowd the beaches in front of it as I've experienced in larger hotels. We're already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor. It was nice because you could walk straight out to the beach. However, we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
What a great review! We appreciate the kind words and thank you very much for taking the time to submit your thoughts. The best part for all of us is that you plan to return and we get the chance to do it all again! We will be sure to keep the coffee hot and fresh. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First off, I do have to say that this hotel is a great price for an ocean front hotel, and that I do not have experience booking at a different ocean front hotel in Virginia, so I am not sure if the added price is worth it going somewhere else.

But to rate Econo Lodge I am going to list the positives and negatives.

+1: Pricing and affordability of an ocean front hotel.
+1: Friendly staff from what I have experienced.

-1: The first night there, I had gotten out of bed to use the bathroom and there was a spider ON my bed. That is a bit gross, I don't mind them in the corner or something. So I can squashed it between a couple of the disposable cups in the room and brought it to the front counter staff in the morning. He apologized and said he would talk to his manager. I never heard from the manager regarding this during my stay.
-1: Layout is pretty bad. The lights over the bed and right in the middle so if you want to sit up on the bed and watch some tv before going to sleep, be careful not to hit your head. Also regarding the layout, the bathroom has a small counter behind the toilet. Not a problem for a female, but a guy trying to goto the bathroom has to hold the seat up or sit down. It really should not be designed this way.

Based on my experience I really can't rate this place above average, would I stay again? Possibly, but maybe I would book some time in another hotel to get a different experience as well to see if it is worth the price.

Room Tip: This one isn't the hotels fault, but later in the week there was an art show going on the boardw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keppson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate the feedback both positive and negative. I want to personally apologize to you for not following up with you regarding the spider you found. I did discuss the matter with the desk attendant and incorrectly assumed the matter had been resolved. I was wrong and I am terribly sorry I gave you the impression that I was indifferent to your situation. We do have a contract service with a pest control company so our rooms are as bug free as we can possibly make them, but obviously it is unpleasant to find a spider, or anything in your room. If I can answer any other concerns you might have please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel. We appreciate your business very much and hope we see you on your next visit to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family and I booked a last minute trip Easter weekend but neither of us wanted to stay in a super expensive hotel. To our surprise, they had a double queen ground floor room available. We had looked at reviews before booking the room so we took our chance on reviews. To our surprise, it was a very nice room, more than expected for an econo-lodge. It had a beautiful view of the ocean, friendly staff and most everything we needed was in walking distance. My only complaint would be parking but other than that, I would recommend and here stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofone97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your business very much. Since you mentioned parking, while our parking lot might be tight, we always have a place on-site for all our guests and not at a satellite lot 1 or 2 blocks away. And we are always ready to step out and assist our guests with parking. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly hope we get the chance to see you again on your next visit to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

stayed the first week of June, had high expectations based on the reviews and was not disappointed. I called the hotel two days prior to arrival to change dates and Art was very helpful.
When I arrived he treated me like someone I would have known a very long time instead of just another customer. Room smelled very clean and my wife and I were very happy with housekeeping. Pool was warm and very clean also. Can't complain about location for sure. No doubt we will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: would not want a room on ground floor, just seems a little too "open" to people on the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We appreciate the great review. It so nice to here you had a good time and enjoyed the hotel. We are excited to know you will be coming back again and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When I booked this hotel I kept my expectations low but when I arrived I was very pleased to find a clean room in a great ocean-front location. The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a luxury hotel you will be very disappointed but if you want a clean, basic room within walking distance of places to eat, shop and stroll then this is the place for you. My teenage daughters were thrilled with the beach right outside our door, clean (but small) pool, free bikes (one hour limit), close tacky beach shops and Sweet Frogs a few doors down.
The beds were comfortable and there was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe in the room. I never heard anyone in the rooms next to us but then again we were staying in the first week of June so the hotel wasn't full. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great Cuban restaurant across the street, Cactus Jack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiewritesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to hear you had such a nice visit. We also thank you for your business, and hope we get the opportunity to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Oceanfront Vir...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Property: Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing