We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week in Virginia Beach at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean. It was such a great stay! Staff was very friendly and greeted us constantly. The rooms were clean and great. The room was standard. There was 2 beds, 2 chairs and a table, a mini fridge and microwave and the balcony had 2 chairs. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the view was great. I didn't mind walking up one flight of stairs and I had a 4 year old with me. Maybe the 3rd floor might be too much if you have small kids or babies. I chose the 2nd floor for the balcony and the view of the beach. The one thing is the parking lot is small. They have enough spots for 1 car per room. You get a tag to hang in your car so they know you are staying there. Since you are close to the beach they want to make sure random beach goers dont take a spot. But, since the parking lot is very small it can get a bit difficult to maneuver or park. This hotel gets booked to capacity. The week I was there the hotel was booked to capacity almost everyday. This is because of the great location and the great price! The free breakfast was okay and basic. Cereal,oatmeal, pastries, bagel with butter or cream cheese. Some days they had peanut butter and some days they had yogurt. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate was available as well. There is no eating area like most hotels have but you can eat outside near the pool or 2nd floor lounging area on a table. We loved that they had free bikes to borrow. You can borrow them for an hour. There is a long bike path near the beach boardwalk and people are constantly riding on bikes. There are a lot of bike rental places so it was nice to save money by borrowing bikes for free. The only thing is, although they have smaller bikes for kids, there are no bikes with training wheels. The pool was great! I saw them cleaning EVERY morning. And it was slightly heated so it was great to go in to cool off without having the shock of icy water. The hotel is next to a bunch of eating places and stores. Overall, I loved this place. It was a great price for all it offered and the location. I highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Chrissy0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Wow! What a great review, you pretty much covered all the bases, and we thank you very much for taking the time to put this together. We are excited to hear you had such a nice stay and found everything clean and in good working order. The staff appreciates that their efforts were noticed, I could not hope for a better group of people to work with. Thanks so much for your business, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been coming to this oceanfront hotel for many years and I hesitated to write a review because I would like to keep this gem a secret. Leonard and his staff provide exceptional service. The hotel is always immaculate. The location, on the boardwalk and near restaurants, is perfect. After several decades, I have never been disappointed with the amenities or the graciousness of the staff.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank HappysM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are so happy to have you as part of our "family" and we absolutely appreciate the loyalty you have shown to this hotel over the years. I'm not used to seeing my name in reviews but it tickled me to pieces. I have such a wonderful job seeing all of our regulars every year and knowing I rarely have to get involved in things because the staff does such a great job taking care of everyone. Thank you very much for sending in your review, we will see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were in Virginia Beach for two nights and chose Econo Lodge Virginia Beach - On the Ocean based on previous customer reviews. The rate was the most reasonable of other hotels we researched that were right on the beach. When we first checked in, I was immediately impressed with the friendliness of the staff. They answered questions and helped us park our car. For the rest of the day, I continued to be impressed by all of the staff as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. The accommodations aren't fancy, but everything was very clean and comfortable. And the beach was just steps outside, which was the purpose for our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

What a nice review, thank you so much! We are happy to hear your stay was enjoyable and that the staff's efforts were noticed and appreciated. Most of the people here have been with us for a long time, though we have had a few additions. We all genuinely love the business, getting to know new faces and welcoming back our "regulars" every year. Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You may think staying at this Econo Lodge would leave a lot to be desired, but nothing could be farther from the truth. The moment you "check in," you are treated like "one of the family." The staff are extremely courteous, and go out of their way to accommodate you. The hotel is very well maintained, clean, comfortable not to mention the beautiful view of the ocean from your room.
If ever given the opportunity to return to Virginia Beach, I already know where I will be staying.
Reasonable rates, great staff, clean and a great location, well worth it.
Thank You, Art, Henry, Dan and Angela for making are vacation a great one!

Teena F

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and had such a good visit to the beach. The staff you mentioned are tickled to see their names in your review. I am fortunate to have such a great group of people and very pleased to have them recognized for their efforts. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I rarely give an "excellent", but feel that this is an excellent property to make a point which this property makes well.

We were there a few days before the 4th of July and area and this hotel were near full, (if not full). Parking, breakfast area, therefore were full capacity.

I like tripadvisor and other review sights to help me set expectations. Some skim them and just look at the score. Based on price, staff and location, this is a #3 of 150 hotel, but this does not mean that it would meet expectations of those looking for a pristine room at a 5-star hotel.

Hotel is one of the oldest on the "strip". Those who like to run around with cameras and take pictures of what they feel are defects will have plenty of ammo. Despite coats of paint, rust spots on door hinges, especially near the ocean are fairly certain sites. AS such, those folks should avoid this hotel.

For others comparing price, location, amenities and staff, this 38 room 3-story Econo Lodge, with no elevator, and yes, tight parking is a winner.

From the beginning GM Leonard quickly answered a pre-arrival question for me and inquired about my arrival time. On site, I was astonished at the smiling staff from counter, to cleaning, to maintenance. Even Dan looked fresh after wresting the 18 foot alligator out of the swimming pool. (Joke on the alligator, no sharks either). I was further astonished at the size of the staff for so few rooms. They fanned out, did their work, and smiled, asking, (not having to be asked) if we needed anything. I've travelled much from very low end to moderately high end all inclusives. I can't think of any US facility where staff has been friendlier.

The tight parking was a challenge for me, in our CR-V with my limited neck/back mobility, but someone could always be found to help. If you are towing, you might have a problem. Unlike other facilities nearby, everything was onsite and easy in/out. Beat walking two blocks every time you needed something.

Location: If you took one of the 12 first floor rooms, you can step out on the boardwalk. If you take one of the upper floor rooms, you trade having to walk around the building to the beach for a great view and slightly more privacy.

Right at 28th street you are about 2/3rds "up" the board walk. Restaurants abound, mixed value there, but something for everyone.
(Boardwalk is about 3 miles long). Included Bicycles are great for getting an overall tour.

AC worked well. Had to turn it down most of the time.

Wifi Seemed weak a few times from our third floor room, but found that multiple routers did show up on the menu, and found one that had a strong signal after experimenting.

Breakfast was slightly below par, I expected the basic cold breakfast from other reviews, but a few more fruit choices would have been nice, and area was tight to navigate. Tables outside by the pool worked well with Dan ensuring the umbrellas were functioning. Staff was great there too, quickly refreshing the coffee and orange juice. Several full service breakfast spots nearby, and we were content with what was included overall.

Price: By joining the free Choice Hotel program, we got a better deal than other "clubs", AAA, discount programs I usually use, but even without the extra discount rooms were about $40-60 per night lower than larger hotels next door. I prefer the smaller hotels, easy in/out, etc, so while this was a great choice for us, others might prefer to go where the overhead is higher.

Again, it's about perception. If you're a value hunter, but want right on the beach, I recommend Econo Lodge. If you're a bit of a connoisseur who doesn't to maybe get slightly jostled at a small cold breakfast bar, needs an elevator, or needs a fresh look everywhere, you probably should look for a hotel that doesn't have "ECONO" in it's name.

Virginia beach is quite a drive for us, but it's a great beach and the area is rich in history from Jamestown, to Yorktown, to Richmond Civil War. We most likely will return and if we do, it won't take me any time at all next time picking my hotel.

Room Tip: No Elevator. First floor rooms open to the beach in the rear. Second/third floor rooms great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I often thank a reviewer for taking their time to submit a review, but in this particular case I'm not sure that thank you really says enough! We very much appreciate the honest and very thorough review. We believe our hotel offers one of the best values on the beach and it seems that you would agree. Our people make the difference, and our entire staff will be encouraged that you singled them out for attention. I am fortunate to have such a great team. Thank you very much your business. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My family and I were very pleased with this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and provided great service - I felt that I got to know them on a personal basis over our five night stay. The night manager, especially, was helpful in getting us settled in at 1:30 am after a very long drive.The rooms are not the largest around, but we were surprised that they ran the depth of the building. For our ground floor room, we entered the from the lobby/parking lot through the front door and exited to the boardwalk/beach through the back - very convenient for making a quick trip to the ocean. The one caveat to this facility is the very tight parking area - it is barely big enough to hold all of the guest vehicles. The staff, however, do a great job of managing the arrangement, and we were happy to see private security patrolling the lot at night. Overall, I felt that our money was well spent, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room - the boardwalk and beach are 30 feet from your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. The staff will be happy to read this and appreciate that that their efforts were recognized. We will agree that our parking lot is tight, and glad the staff took care of assisting with getting you parked. The good news on parking is that all our guests have a place on site to park, rather than at a satellite lot a block or more away from the property. We do hope to have you back again look forward to that opportunity. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I loved this little treasure on the beach! We were a little skeptical at first; but it was so nice. All the rooms are ocean front. The pool is a tucked away oasis. It was super clean. The faculty was very nice and helpful. They had decent coffee. Great location in the midst of everything with the major event tents several blocks down on either side. It was both central and yet quiet. The hotel also offers free bike rental. Since the hotel is small, fewer people crowd the beaches in front of it as I've experienced in larger hotels. We're already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor. It was nice because you could walk straight out to the beach. However, we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVB, General Manager at Econo Lodge on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

What a great review! We appreciate the kind words and thank you very much for taking the time to submit your thoughts. The best part for all of us is that you plan to return and we get the chance to do it all again! We will be sure to keep the coffee hot and fresh. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
510 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge on the Ocean

Address: 2707 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3135
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £44 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge on the Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms at the Econo Lodge on the Ocean are oceanfront with a private balcony or ground floor patio overlooking the beach and the boardwalk. You have a choice of two double beds or one king bed with sleeper sofa. Each is equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/board, and in-room safe. Hotel amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool, free bicycles for our guests, and free high speed wireless internet access. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 7 to 10 AM. Our guest parking is on-site, 1 car per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Ocean Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing