We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Picayune, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Front desk staff were kind and helpful. They recommended a pizza place that was excellent. The breakfast was good. The room was clean. Wonderful Experience. The beach was beautiful. There was plenty to do on the strip in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking your time to complete tripadvisor reviews regarding your recent stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. We very much appreciate for your kind words. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,

Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    65
    28
    24
    16
See reviews for
72
47
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have stayed at many places in Virginia Beach over the past 20 years and have found our feel at home Hotel, Bobs staff is attentive and accommodating. We had a top floor view of the entire Beach and the cleaning staff is second to none, chatting with the staff is entertaining and friendly Desiree was at the front desk was funny and polite, If you want to go to a perfectly located on the Strip hotel this is your stop. We will be back again soon for another week of RR n Va Beach and seeing Bob and his crew. Thanks again Tom S

Room Tip: All the rooms have Ocean View but the upper floors have entire Beach view which we really liked. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking your time to write a true and genuine tripadvisor reviews regarding your recent stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. We very much appreciated and value your feedback.
Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. All our staff members go out of their ways to help each and every guests who stays with the Econolodge Oceanfront. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one at the Econolodge Oceanfront in Virginia Beach.
Kind Regards,
Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My family and I have been staying at this hotel for nearly 10 years and unfortunately due to our past experience we will no longer be staying at the Econo Lodge.
Many of the problems we had include:
Unfriendly and inhospitable front desk staff. (One of them being Desiree)
Breakfast area was very crowded.
Extremely slow elevator.
No air conditioning in hallway or elevator.
Rooms were unclean.
Fruit flys were all over the place including in the shower and refrigerator.
Door knobs on balcony doors did not work.
Keys to the room were always having to be reprogrammed.
Foot hose shower that was outside was removed (use to be very convenient)
Coffee in the mornings ran out often and was not replaced.
Front desk staff was rude when we went downstairs to ask for extra blanket.
Got locked in the parking garage due to the gate closing after a certain time.
Wireless internet was not protected with a password and was very low quality.

Room Tip: Don't choose one at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments with your recent stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. Since your departure, we have conducted a staff meeting to assess the situation.
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. In reference to our breakfast, we have 35 guest seating capacity and we do understand that it gets crowded from time to time. We do allow guest to take breakfast items to their room if they choose to do so. We also understand that the hallways tend to get to uncomfortable temperatures during the summer season. We also recognize that you had difficulties with the parking garage; we close the gate for added security through the night to assure that only registered guests are on the premises. We will be taking steps to upgrade our wireless internet access, electronics locks and HVAC for the hallways. Once again we sincerely apologize. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 757-428-2403
Sincerely,

Bob Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We just recently went to Va. Beach from Oregon for a wrestling tournament. This wasn't our original reservation, but after visiting our original reservation and just couldn't stay there. The Econo Lodge had one room left for the weekend and we took it. It was completely oceanfront, perfect location in the middle of the strip and the room was very clean. Very reasonably priced for the location compared to surrounding hotels and the staff is very nice and extremely willing to assist. I would completely recommend this hotel to anyone. We will look to stay there again when traveling in again for any wrestling tournaments or just trips to Virginia Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Perry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Mr. Perry
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Econolodge Oceanfront. We take pride when our guest enjoy every part of their stay. We value you as a guest and we wants to make sure we are meeting your needs and exceeding your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again next trip to Virginia Beach. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and had to book a third night due to my flights being cancelled. The front desk clerk's name was "Bob" and he was such a nice man, very helpful, and informative. I would recommend this hotel to others and I plan to stay here again in the future. It has clean, comfortable rooms at a low price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginiahotelstay, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much! I am so happy you had a great stay. Thank you for recommending Econolodge Oceanfront. We hope to see you back here real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I was there for a bachelorette party weekend. We loved the cleanliness of the rooms and the size of the two sweets we booked. The views are amazing and the location is ideal for a "going out" type weekend. I felt very safe and welcomed at the Econo Lodge; we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stesh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginiahotelstay, Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We pride ourselves in having a clean hotel with great service. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

we stayed at this hotel april 7-9 smoke alarms going off all times worst experience I've ever had at a hotel staff could care less i was told sorry so many times I couldn't count i hope the management reads this and hangs their head in shame but they wont. stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginiahotelstay, General Manager at Econo Lodge Oceanfront, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you are not happy with your stay at our hotel. One of our guest on 3rd floor was activating false fire alarm for fun. Hotel management hired a private security to catch the person who was responsible for activating false fire alarm.. Safety and security of our guests and employees is the number one priority. Please come stay with us next time, your experience will be plesent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#74 of 109 in Virginia Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (21st St)
Holiday Inn Va Beach-Oceanside (...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
Surfbreak Oceanfront Hotel
#58 of 109 in Virginia Beach
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#43 of 109 in Virginia Beach
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Oceanfront

Property: Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Address: 2109 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3346
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our 56 rooms are 100% Oceanfront with private Balcony/Patio. FREE indoor garage parking (One Parking Space per Room). Indoor heated Pool.FREE delux continental breakfast. FREE Wi-fi, 32 Inch Falt screen TV with HBO1 and HBO2. All rooms equiped with Micro-Fridge, Coffee maker, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer and Alarm Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Econolodge Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Oceanfront Virginia Beach
Econo Lodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing