We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location the only good point of the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed 15 May 2014

THE BAD: I will ditto the previous comments. We brought our well-behaved Weimaraner and it was $30/day additional for EACH pet you bring ($25 + taxes). The hotel is dismal and run down. They are trying to make some cosmetic improvements, but the facility is so old that the wear and tear is outpacing their efforts. The parking lot is tiny, and anything larger than a full-size truck would have trouble negotiating around the building. The parking lot is also is pretty steep slope all around and makes the walking and parking precarious. The "pool" is in an extension of the parking which is behind the restaurant next door, and looks like it has not been used in years. The only ice machine broke down the first day here and did not get fixed. The "Continental" breakfast was sometimes hot coffee, one of those juice machines, and some plastic-wrapped pastries. The highway in front of the hotel is very busy and it is difficult to even get into traffic due to there being no traffic light, and forget about crossing the street to the 7-11; that takes a mad dash. It seemed like several of the guests "live" here - like welfare hotel style living - but none of them were troublesome. The condition of the rooms was pretty bad. I saw the 'housekeeper' the other day and her cleaning supplies seemed to consist of an old towel and a bottle of Windex. This is a place where you don't walk on the carpets without your slippers on. Our room was reasonably clean, with nicely laundered towels and sheets, so that was good. The AC, old-school tube TV, microwave, and tiny fridge all worked OK.
THE GOOD: The reason why I picked this hotel - it is a five minute walk to a very nice beach.
FINAL: If you can overlook all the bad stuff, for the price you will not find a better location if you want to be this close to the beach. BTW I was in town for my job so I spent most of my time at work.;

Room Tip: You want a room in the ground floor. After hiking up the parking lot incline you have to climb some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringoLoco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank CookieJoAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 September 2013

So I expected a nice room but it's run down I have a non smoking room that smells of smoke, the carpet is nasty the sheets are clean and the comforter looks ok however the ceiling is dusty stained the tub is dirty I found a shoe that was left from the previous customer. The only plus side is the clerk was nice. Would I stay here again prob not.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hpdedude814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank runrzwife
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Oscar D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We came for a weekend wedding and stayed two nights for $250. Our room was very dirty. The sink and counter had chocolate smeared on it and had not been cleaned. The carpet also had chocolate on it and my husband stepped in it without seeing it. The shower and tub was so dirty that I would not take a bath because I was afraid to sit down. The toilet had long dark hairs on it. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Was in close proximity to a Dunkin Donuts. We walked there for breakfast and coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGranny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
7.1 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
196 reviews
7.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#38 of 109 in Virginia Beach
329 reviews
7 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#49 of 109 in Virginia Beach
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#82 of 109 in Virginia Beach
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and ...
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,092 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#88 of 109 in Virginia Beach
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach

Address: 2968 Shore Dr, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-1227 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £37 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach Bay Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Bay Beach Hotel Virginia Beach
Travel Lodge Virginia Beach
Travelodge Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Travelodge
Virginia Beach Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing